We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”
Review of The Maynard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maynard
Ranked #58 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend staying at the very top of the Maynard hotel. Its lovely owners were very welcoming and we would stay here again when we return to Scarborough. Breakfast was delicious both mornings. Great position very close to the top of the cliff lift which allows for a lovely walk along the beach to the town.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Guesthouse. We enjoyed your company, lovely Family, welcome anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 221 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Booked a two night stay for the family for the October half term, then because it was so nice booked a further two nights ,and we had a ball.The owners Angela and Stuart were a pleasure to meet,so charming ,so welcoming.The rooms were spotless and the full English breakfast set you up for the day.Location of this establishment is in the classy part of town and for those wishing to discover Scarborough we would thoroughly recomend .The Kids were treated like Royalty,WII games galore,films and playstation
There are lots of stairs in the hotel which may be of concern to some
but if fit and healthy then give it a try you'll have a super time,we did. Mandy ,Paddy, Emma and Grace

Room Tip: No lift so need to request lower floor room if disability
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricko588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hi Mandy ,Paddy, Emma and Grace, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all again real soon. we really enjoyed your company in the bar, lovely family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Maynard hotel was excerlant the lady and gentleman that owns the hotel was very welcoming very friendly had a real good laugh the food was very tasty quick with service the room was very comfy and homely nice and warm the shower was very nice and hot.very good value for money will be Certain to go and stay there again nice people.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just had a 2 night stay at the Maynard Hotel,the proprietors could not have been more helpful, everything was clean and tidy,breakfast was very good nothing was two much trouble I would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We travel to Scarborough very regularly for weekend breaks and were really pleased to have been bought a weekend at this hotel by family members for our birthdays. The location of the hotel on Esplanade Gardens is fantastic, our favourite part of Scarborough to stay in due to the lovely walk and views.

We found the hotel to be a little old fashioned and the room we stayed in was in need of a makeover, especially the bathroom which had seen better days.

We didn't eat any evening meals at the hotel so cannot comment on the meals however we did have breakfast on both mornings of our stay that we didn't really enjoy.

We found the owner of the hotel to be friendly and welcoming but would not choose to stay there again when we next visit Scarborough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newbie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Mark Lilley Manager Priory Healthcare-I took along a group of people with learning disabilities, the owners Angela and Stewart, made everyone welcome and supported the people to have one of the best holidays they have had.
They both gave as much time as the people needed to get to know them which helped them settle in as we spent a week at the Maynard.
Thank you both for a lovely homely time.

Room Tip: Spend the time talking to the owners about what you need form your visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just returned from a couple of days break at the Maynard. On arrival Stuart greeted us with a welcome cuppa in the comfortable lounge, very much appreciated!
After settling our spacious and well equipped rooms (there was even a hair dryer and iron) Angelia prepared us a delicious roast meal, the breakfast was equally as good and served with a smile by Stuart nothing was too much trouble for either of them.The bar meal we had on the second evening was also very tasty and Angelia even produced a birthday cake for one of our party, a lovely gesture. A fun evenings entertainment followed courtesy of Stuart
Stuart and Angelia are fantastic hosts and make the Maynard what it is, a clean, warm friendly home from home.
P.S. The G&T's were very good and very reasonable

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyb735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cordelia
The Cordelia
#20 of 183 in Scarborough
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#48 of 183 in Scarborough
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#15 of 183 in Scarborough
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#13 of 183 in Scarborough
407 reviews
1 mi away
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Clarence Gardens Hotel
#32 of 183 in Scarborough
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maynard

Address: 16 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $77 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing