We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Welcoming”
Review of The Maynard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maynard
Ranked #46 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Friendly and Welcoming”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently had 2 nights at this hotel and have to say that we really enjoyed our stay. Stuart and Angelia were very friendly and welcoming and the whole place is spotlessly clean and in a great location just a short walk from the beach and around a 15 minute walk into town.
Good choice at breakfast time and well cooked food. Evening meals are available at 5.30 but that was a little early for us so we chose to eat out.
Our room was small but well equipped with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space and tea and coffee facilities. An extremely comfortable bed gave us a good nights sleep. Wifi is available if required (you have to pay for this service)
Parking could perhaps be an issue at busy times. The Maynard relies on street parking and the area is a disc zone which only gives you 3 hours between 9am and 5pm, however Stuart did mention a scratch card priced at £2 which allowed longer parking if required.
Overall if you are looking for a great little friendly hotel in a really good location the Maynard could be the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artisanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review it was a pleasure to have you stay at our hotel, and we appreciate all your lovely comments. ps (Wi Fi is FREE )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    42
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
105
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nothing but praise for the way we were treated by the owners of the Maynard. Originally bought discount vouchers and intended to have midweek break in September 2012 with another couple. Unfortunately the week before our planned trip I was rushed into hospital. My husband telephoned to for fit our reservation and was told that there was no problem we could rebook it for a later date. We actually went in March this year. Snowing and cold but the welcome we received was warming. The breakfast was more than adequate and the hospitality second to none. Will be going back again and would recommend to friends. Rooms clean and comfortable . Well done Stuart and Angelia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanw590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We pride ourselves on always treating our guests the way would like to be treated.and
we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
We hope that you both stay fit and well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Maynard with friends and thoroughly enjoyed it once again!
Our group have been here several times now and always receive the most friendly welcome from Stuart and Angelia - the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they really look after us well. They even managed to ensure the sun was shining for the whole of Easter!!!!! We all look forward to the breakfasts and they did not disappoint. However, we also sampled the bar meals this time and these were fantastic too! Hotel is comfortable and clean, the location is perfect - quiet and within walking distance of town centre and beaches. Scarborough is a beautiful place and the Maynard is an ideal place to stay. We have already booked again for next year and cannot fault it. Thanks Stuart and Angelia - from your friends at Movin' Scene SC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was a pleasure to have you all stay once again at our Guesthouse, it makes our job very worthwhile and satisfying when people appreciate the hard work we put into making our guests feel welcome and at home.
we look forward to seeing you all again next year and will of course order the Sunshine!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

2 friends and I have just had a 2 night stay in the Maynard. We agree with all the positive reviews and disagree with the negative ones. Stuart and his wife were great hosts , the rooms clean and beds comfy, and the cooked breakfast lovely. Also, where do you get the choice of 16, yes, 16
boxes of cereals, plus a choice of various fruits and yogurts.. We would certainly recommend a stay here.

June, Joan and Edna

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you ladies for your lovely comments and taking the time to review The Maynard. we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have just returned from a very nice couple of days in Scarborough. We were made to feel very welcome and the room could not have been better very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was extremely good with everything on offer to make up a full English!! We were surprised that more guests did not partake of the evening meal which was very good and very reasonable. We have re booked to go back with our daughter and son-in-law in August and cannot wait. Many thanks to our hosts for make our stay so good

Room Tip: We had room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review Denise we appreciate all comments and strive to make our guests feel welcome and at home, we look forward to seeing you and the rest of your family in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been to Scarborough several times and stayed at a different hotel each visit. On a positive note the Maynard was clean, the bed and bedroom comfortable and the owner welcoming. However, we found the breakfast time of 8am unitl 9am to be a real pain and clearly geared to suit the owners rather than the guests. When we go away for a weekend we do not want to have to get up so early as we have to in the week. I also appreciate that the budget is tight but I have never had an 'English Breakfast' without toast included. This could be purchased as a separate item but it was all a bit vague and we felt a little embarrassed to discuss it the moment we arrived. We travel a lot in the UK and worldwide and I would strongly recommend that the owners review their weekend breakfast times to be a more 'guest friendly' time and that the description of 'breakfast' is a little less daunting for the new arrivals. A comfortable enough stay but we are unlikely to return, sorry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robsarahsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Robsarahadvent
thank you for your review, your review seems a little contradictory.
First of all let me explain the difference between Guesthouse and hotel, a Guesthouse is owned and run primarily by the owners and a hotel is run by staff, breakfast times have to be set to times that are convenient to both the majority of our guests and also to fit in with the requirements of our business ie once we have finished breakfast we have to make ourselves available to strip and clean rooms ready for our next guests arriving, unfortunately if we did not obey a strict routine then our business would suffer.
our guests have a choice of Room only or Bed and Breakfast and our opening times are shown clearly on our web site.
you have marked us 3 for location ! we can not change this, it is up to you to decide if we are situated in the area that you want to stay.
you have marked us 3 for cleanliness and service and you say the owner was welcoming and the Maynard clean, so what is your complaint?
you marked us 3 for value!!! i think that you need to appreciate the value of what you did receive which was a 2 night stay with breakfast for 2 people for £17.25 per person per night. .
I think your needs would have been better met at a Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We bought a KGB voucher for this hotel unfortunately. I tried to book mid january for late april to be told they were not taking any weekend bookings for vouchers, even though rooms were available. When I told the owner that I could not make a midweek booking due to work commitments, she continually quoted the term "subject to availability".
We complained to KGB about the unreasonable behaviour of the hoteliers and requested a refund. After numerous emails KGB refused to refund quoting "terms and conditions".
We visit Scarborough a lot and we were potential return guests but Scarborough has plenty other hospitable hotels and guest houses which we will gladly use instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TOM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
When a KGB voucher is bought terms and conditions have to be accepted prior to purchase, we are only sorry that you did not read these as your problem could have been avoided .
i do not feel that we have been unreasonable as when the allocated KGB rooms have been filled then we can only offer alternative dates or upgrades both of which you refused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#51 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#41 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#14 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Powys Lodge
Powys Lodge
#33 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#39 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#115 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maynard

Property: The Maynard
Address: 16 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing