We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel”
Review of The Maynard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maynard
Ranked #49 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have just returned from a very nice couple of days in Scarborough. We were made to feel very welcome and the room could not have been better very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was extremely good with everything on offer to make up a full English!! We were surprised that more guests did not partake of the evening meal which was very good and very reasonable. We have re booked to go back with our daughter and son-in-law in August and cannot wait. Many thanks to our hosts for make our stay so good

Room Tip: We had room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review Denise we appreciate all comments and strive to make our guests feel welcome and at home, we look forward to seeing you and the rest of your family in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    42
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
105
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been to Scarborough several times and stayed at a different hotel each visit. On a positive note the Maynard was clean, the bed and bedroom comfortable and the owner welcoming. However, we found the breakfast time of 8am unitl 9am to be a real pain and clearly geared to suit the owners rather than the guests. When we go away for a weekend we do not want to have to get up so early as we have to in the week. I also appreciate that the budget is tight but I have never had an 'English Breakfast' without toast included. This could be purchased as a separate item but it was all a bit vague and we felt a little embarrassed to discuss it the moment we arrived. We travel a lot in the UK and worldwide and I would strongly recommend that the owners review their weekend breakfast times to be a more 'guest friendly' time and that the description of 'breakfast' is a little less daunting for the new arrivals. A comfortable enough stay but we are unlikely to return, sorry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robsarahsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Robsarahadvent
thank you for your review, your review seems a little contradictory.
First of all let me explain the difference between Guesthouse and hotel, a Guesthouse is owned and run primarily by the owners and a hotel is run by staff, breakfast times have to be set to times that are convenient to both the majority of our guests and also to fit in with the requirements of our business ie once we have finished breakfast we have to make ourselves available to strip and clean rooms ready for our next guests arriving, unfortunately if we did not obey a strict routine then our business would suffer.
our guests have a choice of Room only or Bed and Breakfast and our opening times are shown clearly on our web site.
you have marked us 3 for location ! we can not change this, it is up to you to decide if we are situated in the area that you want to stay.
you have marked us 3 for cleanliness and service and you say the owner was welcoming and the Maynard clean, so what is your complaint?
you marked us 3 for value!!! i think that you need to appreciate the value of what you did receive which was a 2 night stay with breakfast for 2 people for £17.25 per person per night. .
I think your needs would have been better met at a Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We bought a KGB voucher for this hotel unfortunately. I tried to book mid january for late april to be told they were not taking any weekend bookings for vouchers, even though rooms were available. When I told the owner that I could not make a midweek booking due to work commitments, she continually quoted the term "subject to availability".
We complained to KGB about the unreasonable behaviour of the hoteliers and requested a refund. After numerous emails KGB refused to refund quoting "terms and conditions".
We visit Scarborough a lot and we were potential return guests but Scarborough has plenty other hospitable hotels and guest houses which we will gladly use instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TOM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
When a KGB voucher is bought terms and conditions have to be accepted prior to purchase, we are only sorry that you did not read these as your problem could have been avoided .
i do not feel that we have been unreasonable as when the allocated KGB rooms have been filled then we can only offer alternative dates or upgrades both of which you refused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stopped their New Years Eve, for the second year in a row and have also stayed on numerous other occasions. The night was really fun with games and great food provided to celebrate the new year! Its in a great location close to everything you need. The owners are very welcoming and friendly and organise a great fancy dress party for the new year , getting everyone involved! The rooms are always really clean and pleasant to stay in. Would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We thank you and your family for always joining in the games etc and making New Years Eve fun for us too, can't wait to see you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times now and the rooms are immaculate, It is situated close to everything you need and the entertainment is definitely 5 star!!! The owners are extremely welcoming and friendly and organize fun new year parties with games and prizes, they get everyone involved and provide a brilliant experience for all. I would recommend this hotel for couples, business, friends, family and even parties, its suitable for all ages!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraJayneHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool,England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at The Maynard for a weekend away. The hotel is a typical seaside hotel. Very old fashioned,but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very well cooked and presented. The owners were very friendly and helpfull.We thought perhaps some new towels and toiletries in the bathroom might improve this very well run hotel.Good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked into the Maynard for one night for the new years party and had an amazing night. The games were very fun and there was no presure to join in. The drinks were very cheep and everyone was very friendly. We have stayed here loads of time and go every new year. we are def planning to go back next new year! would highly recommed it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 183 in Scarborough
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#52 of 183 in Scarborough
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
#88 of 183 in Scarborough
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#29 of 183 in Scarborough
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#17 of 183 in Scarborough
607 reviews
1.0 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#43 of 183 in Scarborough
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maynard

Property: The Maynard
Address: 16 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing