We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Voucher users beware”
Review of The Maynard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maynard
Ranked #58 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We bought a KGB voucher for this hotel unfortunately. I tried to book mid january for late april to be told they were not taking any weekend bookings for vouchers, even though rooms were available. When I told the owner that I could not make a midweek booking due to work commitments, she continually quoted the term "subject to availability".
We complained to KGB about the unreasonable behaviour of the hoteliers and requested a refund. After numerous emails KGB refused to refund quoting "terms and conditions".
We visit Scarborough a lot and we were potential return guests but Scarborough has plenty other hospitable hotels and guest houses which we will gladly use instead.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank TOM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

When a KGB voucher is bought terms and conditions have to be accepted prior to purchase, we are only sorry that you did not read these as your problem could have been avoided .
i do not feel that we have been unreasonable as when the allocated KGB rooms have been filled then we can only offer alternative dates or upgrades both of which you refused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 221 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stopped their New Years Eve, for the second year in a row and have also stayed on numerous other occasions. The night was really fun with games and great food provided to celebrate the new year! Its in a great location close to everything you need. The owners are very welcoming and friendly and organise a great fancy dress party for the new year , getting everyone involved! The rooms are always really clean and pleasant to stay in. Would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We thank you and your family for always joining in the games etc and making New Years Eve fun for us too, can't wait to see you all again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times now and the rooms are immaculate, It is situated close to everything you need and the entertainment is definitely 5 star!!! The owners are extremely welcoming and friendly and organize fun new year parties with games and prizes, they get everyone involved and provide a brilliant experience for all. I would recommend this hotel for couples, business, friends, family and even parties, its suitable for all ages!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LauraJayneHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at The Maynard for a weekend away. The hotel is a typical seaside hotel. Very old fashioned,but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very well cooked and presented. The owners were very friendly and helpfull.We thought perhaps some new towels and toiletries in the bathroom might improve this very well run hotel.Good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked into the Maynard for one night for the new years party and had an amazing night. The games were very fun and there was no presure to join in. The drinks were very cheep and everyone was very friendly. We have stayed here loads of time and go every new year. we are def planning to go back next new year! would highly recommed it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just back from a weekend away at The Maynard with friends.We loved everything from the guesthouse to the people and the food. Our rooms were clean and cosy, breakfast was great and the hosts were very welcoming. Would stay here again if we go back to Scarborough. Kath, Les, Kev,and Margaret.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4Kath4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a response. we greatly appreciate all comments.
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Maynard and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast which was good value but was soured slightly by being informed on arrival that as part of KGB deal could have fried breakfast or cereals/toast, but not both, and would be extra £5 to have toast etc with fried breakfast. Also very dusty and shower not clean. As stated earlier good value but got the impression that owner had registered with KGB deals but then had second thoughts, hence adding extra charges

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesPoultney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Maynard. the KGB deal that you purchased was for 2 people/2 nights in a standard room with a full english breakfast for £69.00 in total ie £17.25 per night per person, everything you had purchased you were given..
everyone has the opportunity to upgade to a different tarriff to recieve a much as you can eat breakfast, you and your party declined this.
as we explained to you the bar would not stay open all night without guests and your party chose to go out.
we feel that had you have had a problem in your room then the correct procedure would have been to inform us, so that we had the chance to investigate and if need be put right, unfortunately you have not been honest enough to tell us directly..
however thank you for your review all your points have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cordelia
The Cordelia
#20 of 183 in Scarborough
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#48 of 183 in Scarborough
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#15 of 183 in Scarborough
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#13 of 183 in Scarborough
407 reviews
1 mi away
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Clarence Gardens Hotel
#32 of 183 in Scarborough
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maynard

Address: 16 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $77 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing