We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant 1 night stay”
Review of The Maynard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maynard
Ranked #56 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant 1 night stay”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Me & my partner stayed here for 1 night, couldn't really fault it over anything in particular.

We wanted to find a cheap room for the night as we hadn't planned or budgeted for staying over..it cost us about £54 but I think thats about average price now for 1 night B&B at the coast unless you pre-book a deal.

There was a 15 minute walk to the centre but we didn't mind it.

We didn't get up in time for the breakfast, although i'm sure it would have been lovely, haha. The owners are friendly too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa2529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    43
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
109
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heywood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My Partner and i stayed with Stuart and Angela at the maynard hotel for 3 days over Christmas (December 2011) along with our 2 miniature schnauzers. Stuart and Angela were so very friendly and helpful, making sure that we had everything we needed for a fabulous stay. Angela's cooking is delicious and plentiful and Stuarts attention to service and detail was second to none...(thankyou for the filter coffee stuart, i am converted) The room itself was lovely, very comfortable and one of the best showers i have had. All meals were amazing but the breakfasts are just out of this world Angela!!!!thankyou...You absolutely made our Christmas one to remember...definately coming back to stay at the maynard..simply the best.

Karen Y

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaznco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Found the hotel online, had not stayed there before and was over the moon that we chose this hotel. We could not have found anywhere nicer, more friendly, more welcoming and better situated for our weekend away. We were met by Angela with the warmest of welcomes, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very clean, spacious, and inviting. All facilities in the room and the hotel were spot on. It was a special weekend for Mother and Daughter to share (the Daughter's 40th birthday!) and we couldn't have stayed anywhere nicer. It was the perfeoct base for the perfect get-away. We would recommend the hotel to anyone. We will certainly return there. Thank you Angela and Stuart for making us so welcome! Best wishes form Pauline and Sue Walker (not relations, but the coincidence in sharing the same surname just made the stay even more perfect!)

Room Tip: Room 2 was a fantastic family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My partner and I stayed here in mid October as a last minute booking. The couple who run the hotel are friendly and were very helpful, making sure we were comfortable with our room. The room itself was lovely and clean with comfortable beds and excellent value for the price paid, including little extras such as iron and board, hairdryer etc. Breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day, with a good selection of cereals, fruit and full english. we were delighted with our stay and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenH697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We booked our stay at the Maynard over the telephone directly with the hotel.

On arrival we checked in and were made to feel really welcome, our room was on the third floor was comfortable and had all the amenities required.

Breakfast was served between 8.30 & 9.00 and offered a large selection of cereal, fresh fruit and full english breakfast.

Plenty of street parking can be found outside and near the hotel and a pass can be bought from the hotel.

Nice stay a good option

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dexterdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from enjoying another fantastic holiday with Stuart and Angelia at the Maynard. In fact we have already booked again for next year, which will be our sixth stay with them. They treat everyone with the same friendly attitude as though they were your friends, whether it is your first visit, or as in our case the fifth. Everything is perfect from the moment you arrive until the day you depart. This must surely be the best place to stay in Scarborough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed here with my partner and son at the beginning of September and we had a lovely 2 days. Stuart and Angelia couldn't have been any nicer or helpful especially because we hd to take some food due to dietary requirements! Also enjoyed a funny night with another couple in the bar, seeing a 70 odd yr old man knocking aftershocks back made my year!! Would come back here without a doubt, loved it and definitely the nicest place Ive stayed in in Scarborough!

Room Tip: 84 steps to the top of building so check when booking if you struggle walking up a lot of steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 182 in Scarborough
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#26 of 182 in Scarborough
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
#98 of 182 in Scarborough
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 182 in Scarborough
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#54 of 182 in Scarborough
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#15 of 182 in Scarborough
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maynard

Property: The Maynard
Address: 16 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing