We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Howdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howdale
Ranked #39 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My partner and I turned up at the Howdale at 11.00am on a Saturday morning on the off chance of staying with them for one night in a sea view room. The owner was really welcoming and helpful, and offered us the requested room. We received parking and breakfast included in the price. We were impressed with the room, offering everything needed for a one night stay. The bed was really comfortable. The only thing that may be a problem is the fact that the bath is a short bath which may cause an issue for someone tall. The breakfast range was extensive and we were regularly offered extra drinks and toast. A wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Sea view made the stay even more worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ema87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 117 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed there twice now and found Louisa very friendly and helpful , clean , tidy rooms and fantastic breakfast, will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anton1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Had a lovely stay at the Howdale. Good breakfast, clean rooms and comfy beds, but beware if you stay in the family room on the 3rd floor, not only do the top windows open but so do the big side ones ! These windows open fully and are easy for children to get to. We needed these windows open for air as it was so hot but had to close them for safety, a few bars fixed to the lower part of these windows would fix the problem and we would have slept a lot easier.

Room Tip: If stairs are difficult for you make it known at the time of booking there is a lot of them !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edna5320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We received a nice friendly welcome from Louisa. Unfortunately we didnt manage to get a room with a sea view this time as we booked last minute. Our room was spotlessly clean with nice bedding just like the pictures on the website. The towels were nice and soft and lovely and white. Everything you could need was in there. The room we had was just what we wanted and we would definitely go back. We could have done with a bit more milk in our room but thats just us. Milk was available in reception but as we were on the third floor we couldnt be bothered to go back downstairs to get it so its not really a complaint just an observation. Next time we will get the milk first. The bed was very comfortable and the had nice pillows and duvet etc. Everything worked perfectly - kettle, hairdryer, shower, tv etc. The dining room has nice modern pictures and the tables have everything you need. The staff were friendly and helpful and took our order quickly and efficiently. The breakfast was very well cooked, absolutely delicious. You can have as much tea/coffee and toast as you like. Very welcoming and pleasant stay we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We had room 10 which was up many stairs but the room itself was spot on,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaHolly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Lovely and friendly B&B close to the cricket ground and a short 10 minute walk into the town centre. Kevin & Louisa were always on hand if we needed anything and they made us feel welcome.
It is a good location to either enjoy the Scarborough beaches and tourist resort or walking/driving to the countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Been going to Louisa & Kevins since about 2007 a couple of times a year. Everything is Spot on and spotless, Takes a very hungry person to best Kevin's breakfast. First Class!
Cheers Mike & Peggy

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hedgyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

First time we had been to this hotel, The service was excellent. Louisa and Kevin are first class hosts, and go out of there way to cater for our needs.The breakfast was excellent and plentiful with so much choice. (going on a diet now ha ) The rooms was immaculately clean with a shower room, comfy bed, T v, Hair dryer, Toiletries, Coffee, Tea, Hot Chocolate, and Biscuits Replenished every day, which was a plus having come back in from walking lots in the day. The town Centre which is about 15 minutes walk, Or you can get the open top bus from the sea front to the south pier and walk through the back streets costing £2 each.
We also had a sea view room, with a beautiful view of the north bay, with only the sound of the waves to relax us. All in all we had a first class, good valued holiday, and will be returning.
Thanks Louisa & Kevin

Room Tip: sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunshinemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0 mi away
The Paragon
The Paragon
#74 of 183 in Scarborough
212 reviews
0 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#19 of 183 in Scarborough
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramleh Hotel
Ramleh Hotel
#64 of 183 in Scarborough
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
6 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howdale

Address: 121 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $105 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howdale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a friendly, spotlessly clean place to stay in Scarborough with five star breakfasts, free parking and stunning views, then you've found it... Welcome to the Howdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Howdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing