We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic find in Scarborough!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashcroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ashcroft Hotel
Ranked #47 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic find in Scarborough!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Had a wonderful stay in the Ashcroft at Scarborough and cannot pick fault in any way, shape or form. The hotel had been beautifully decorated and just re-opened, the rooms were spotlessly clean and everything you needed to make your stay comfortable was at hand. We had a warm welcome upon arrival and the five of us were all well looked after. We woke to a fantastic hearty breakfast to set up us for the day. We will definitely be back as this hotel would really take some beating. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TwelveMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
104
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

A nice clean B&B. Had a friendly welcome and the owners were very helpful. Our room was a good size with a double and single bed which were quite comfortable. Having its own parking was a big plus. It’s a bit of a walk into town centre but it seems most B&B’s are in or around this area. Have to give special mention to the breakfast which was one of the best of any B&B I’ve stayed in. We were really impressed with that. I don’t think they have WiFi which is a shame as the mobile internet signal around there seems to be very weak. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel is situated by Peasholm park,although quite built up,it feels more rural.We had a lovely welcome,we checked in a lot earlier than we should have, ,no problem.The room was a little dated,but spacious and a massively comfortable bed.There was a good quality tea tray with biscuits.We didn't have a view but that didn't matter we were hardly there.The towels were a little on the small side and there wern't any toiletries,but as we always carry some again no problem.There is a residents lounge with a tv if needed.Breakfast was lovely,plenty of cereals,yoghurt,grapefruit nad orange juice.The cooked side was great too.The owners are really friendly and we ahd some good talks with them.The hotel isn't as close to the town centre as expected,itis walkable,but quite hilly,on saying that,we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm on Tees
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

hotel was absolutely fine, no problems other than the mattress needed replacing. Hospitality was great, decor average for this type of accomodation. Spotlessly clean and spacious room. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fino7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

very clean, friendly b and b. good breakfast just what was required for a day at olivers mount. only complaint was the pile of cigarette ends outside the front door which did not reflect on the clealiness inside.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumdad_sedgwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

stayed three nights 25/7-28/7/10 here as a last minute booking. The bedroom and guest sitting room were very dated furniture wise but the whole guest house was spotlessly clean. private car parking was a great help as the area is busy on street for parking. the breakfast was first class with multiple coices of cereal, orange juice and grapefruit segments plus a full english which was cooked perfectly- plus the usual tea, coffee and toast.
My only criticisms would be flat (old?)pillows,no seat to sit on in the bedroom and a very old telly which didnt hold the channel. That said I would probably stay there again as it was clean,cheaper than most and superb breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isikelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

We stayed at Ashcroft for 2 nights with our 4 year old while some plumbing work was being carried out at home in Durham and we had a great time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and soon became popular with our youngster. The hotel was faultlessly clean and perfectly adequate for a short stay or holiday. Location being a short walk to Peasholm park was very handy. The excellent breakfast also gets a special mention.
If you want fancy frills, go and pay 3 times as much for them elsewhere in a chain. Looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JosephsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Rose Dene
Rose Dene
#31 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#23 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashcroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashcroft Hotel

Property: Ashcroft Hotel
Address: 102 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashcroft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pleasant and comfortable bed and breakfast hotel in an excellent central location for Peasholm park, Open Air Theatre & Town centre. The hotel also provide room only if arranged direct with the owners. The Hotel has free parking limited on first come first served of up to 6 vehicles. The Hotel also has a rear outbuilding that some guests find useful for cycle storage or mobility scooter storage and overnight charging. Note the hotel has no ground floor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ashcroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing