We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb.”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #30 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful find. Top drawer in all departments. We loved The Cavendish. Could not fault it. My critique of the food can be described in three words. FAN TAS TIC. Great value for money. I cannot think of sufficient superlatives to adequately describe what it was like to stay there. As hoteliers and chefs they both excelled. Its a must if your in Scarborough. Its mega. Give it a try. You wont be dissapointed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 242201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
83
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and have stayed several times at this lovely hotel.
I can only reiterate all the positive comments. The food , welcome and accommodation are all excellent . We have only stayed for bed and HUGE breakfast but imagine that the evening meals will be excellent as Rob is an excellent chef.
I agree that sometimes the shower does run cool but this is a minor issue which all the other aspects make up for
Would definitely recommend and will stay again whenever is Scarborough

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just stayed for two nights. what a find. The rooms were very clean with extra special touches like toiletries in bathroom and an excellent hospitality tray. The room was warm, bedding excellent quality, towels nice and fluffy. Breakfast was scrumptious. Ate in hotel one night forget going to a 4* restaurant this was better. The hosts made you feel welcome and at ease and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would recommend this to anyone. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed there in late August/early September towards the end of the season, and the hosts were the most genuine people I have ever seen in a place like this, even in a 5* luxury hotel I wouldn't expect to see such good service! The room was spacious, clean, warm and very comfortable. There was only one problem with the shower, going from cold to hot but it went back to normal of its own accord by the afternoon. As for the breakfast, I received a professional and tasty 'fry-up' but without the grease. I think this place is far too low-key, as it is just a short walk from the sea-front. Great value for money, and I will definitely return next time I go to Scarborough, the Las Vegas of the North Riding!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Spacious room, clean bedding, personal touches, great location for the town centre's shops, restaurants & bars, an excellent full English breakfast & a warm welcome from Robert & Jo made our stay at the Cavendish perfect! Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foodadventure29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Joanne and Robert were really nice people, cheerful and very helpful. I stayed just for B&B as a single traveler as I go regularly to Scarborough (a Wonderful impressive resort) on an annual basis for a festival.
Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean, spacious and very convenient for the south area near the Spa Theatre. Breakfast could not really be bettered.
For other single travelers you will be charged full rate but this now seems the norm in the UK for smaller hotels.
Apart from that I would go back again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: There are no sea facing rooms but you are only there to sleep and for me that is not important as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank King27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Jo and Rob gave us a very warm welcome, Our room was large and comfortable, and the food (breakfasts and evening meals) were way above the average. Fresh fruit salad for breakfast was a welcome and thoughtful touch. The hotel is away from the noise and bustle of the centre, but just off the main Filey Road where we caught buses into town. It is also a short walk to the Spa Centre and cliff lift. We stayed four nights and really enjoyed our time at the Cavendish, which we both felt very good value with gourmet food for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Top floor involves climbing a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#29 of 183 in Scarborough
301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#25 of 183 in Scarborough
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 183 in Scarborough
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
79 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#10 of 183 in Scarborough
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#17 of 183 in Scarborough
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 53 Esplanade Road, Scarborough YO11 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish is an eight bed roomed 4* Self Assessed Guest house situated in the South Cliff Area of Scarborough. We are approximately 5 mins walk away from the Spa complex and the South Beach and a 15 minute leisurely walk into Scarborough town centre. The guest house has been owned and run since November 2011 by Robert and Joanna who pride themselves on their good food and hospitality. The Cavendish has a guest lounge, bar and dining room. All rooms are en-suite with showers and equipped with flat screen T.V, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryers and clock radio-alarms. Parking is on street and all parking permits required for the duration of your stay are provided free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing