We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much trouble”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #30 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Rob & his wife Jo put themselves out to comply with my request for Soya milk, as I am Lactose intolerant. They also provide a non dairy spread.
We were given room #5, which was at the front of the house, on the first landing. It was huge and had a spare single bed.
We decided to eat our evening meals in house as well and on Saturday evening, we were given an early meal, as we needed to get out promptly at 7pm as my husband was singing with the Colne Valley Male Voice Choir at Queen St Central Methodist Church, which was quite a distance away.
The meals were of superb quality, everyone who had one, agreed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upwarduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
83
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Four of us recently visited Scarborough for a rock and roll weekend and stayed 2 nights in this lovely hotel. The place is spotless, rooms are spacious, breakfast-very good, and the 'landlady' Jo cannot do enough for you. Comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curlysueEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

this guest house is nice and peaceful with a lounge available for guest use. + the breakfasts were Lovely and service was great.
With ommaculate rooms, this place is run efficiently and smoothly. Lots of personal touches.
There was even access to a mini fridge which is a nice little perk you dont often get in a BnB.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_2020_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We chose this hotel due to the trip advisor score. It was not in error. The owners are attentive, friendly and informative. The whole hotel is scrupulously clean and well equipped. The breakfast was as expected but brilliantly done, hot food was hot, cold was cold.

I noticed a glass shelf was insecure in our bathroom, reported it before breakfast and when we returned to our room just after lunch, it was secured - I wasn't surprised. They attend to detail.

I unhesitatingly recommend this hotel for a stay in Scarborough and would/will happily return. Thanks to Robert and Jo, scores like this don't just happen.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw would suffice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianwmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Joanne is a very friendly host and Robert an excellent chef and also very firendly(we only met him briefly!). The breakfast is very plentiful and prepared fresh to order, the dinner was lovely and reasonably priced.
The location (near the south cliff) is very good and Jo gives you a permit which allows you to park on the same street.

Room Tip: Anyone with difficulties getting up and down stairs should book by phoning directly and ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtriBit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Joanna & Rob are 2 of the nicest people you could meet, and made looking after you and your needs effortless. Their guest house is immaculately clean and my single room was very spacious and comfortable. The bed is one of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in, your complimentary drinks tray is well stocked with a variety of teas/coffees and the best bit is there is fridges with fresh milk based on the landing so no struggling with little tubs of sterilised milk. The most strenuous thing I had to do while I was there was to get Rob to do me a "small" breakfast which isn't in his vocabulary lol. I would highly recommend this beautiful guest house to all types of visitors to the area - I will definitely be visiting in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our first ever stay in this ideally located hotel owned by Jo and Rob who treat their guests like they have known you for years. As soon as you walk in you sense 'homely' and even though our room was on the top floor it was so light, airy and comfortable. Ironing facilities and a fridge on each floor and it was no trouble to supply us with Soya milk.
Their full English breakfast, exquisite and their knowledge of the resort and surrounding area/attractions is valuable. We said we would return without doubt and we've booked September again this year 2013 and looking forward to it very much and like going back to see old friends.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine any room unsuitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#29 of 183 in Scarborough
301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#25 of 183 in Scarborough
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 183 in Scarborough
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
79 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#10 of 183 in Scarborough
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#17 of 183 in Scarborough
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 53 Esplanade Road, Scarborough YO11 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish is an eight bed roomed 4* Self Assessed Guest house situated in the South Cliff Area of Scarborough. We are approximately 5 mins walk away from the Spa complex and the South Beach and a 15 minute leisurely walk into Scarborough town centre. The guest house has been owned and run since November 2011 by Robert and Joanna who pride themselves on their good food and hospitality. The Cavendish has a guest lounge, bar and dining room. All rooms are en-suite with showers and equipped with flat screen T.V, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryers and clock radio-alarms. Parking is on street and all parking permits required for the duration of your stay are provided free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing