We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location and Lovely Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Lovely Apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed in a two bed sea view apartment and could not fault it. There was major work in progress at the front of the apartments but construction was halted for the Bank Holiday weekend so did not disturb us at all. The views are great and the sound of sea was very relaxing. I would recommend paying extra for the sea view. I think the works will be finished soon so worth checking of you think this will disturb you,

The rooms at the back overlook the car park and a nice wooded area so not bad if you prefer to pay less.

The apartment was modern , clean and has everything you need for self-catering. It is located on North Beach area with a nice beach and promenade. There are a few restaurants and a NISA shop for essentials. You can walk the promenade to the Sea-Life Centre and so Peasholme park, outdoor theatre and minature railway.

The no 109 bus stops outside and you can buy a day ticket to the South Beach area where most of the restaurants and attractions are. This area is typical sea-side resort e.g. arcades ,fish and chips, fun fair, boat trips etc. Take care which bus company you buy your all -day tkt from because one stops approx 7pm while the other runs until 10pm so you can use it in the evening too for transport down town. This is good value.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely but cheaper rooms at the back are equally good and probably quieter and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    75
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
435
178
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our 4th visit and as always it was great, from the staff to the apartments themselves. They are perfectly situated right on the beach at North Bay (the best beach in Scarborough). We stayed in a 3 bed non seaview, which I was a bit concerned about before we arrived as we'd always had a sea view before, but when we arrived I was'nt disapointed. There are building works going on at the front of the building which can be a bit noisy, however the non sea view rooms, were very quiet and the balcony was a sun trap from about 3pm onwards, until the sun set. I did miss the sea views of the sea but this was more than made up for by the peace & quiet and sitting in the sun afternoon sun with a glass of wine. Will definatley be back again next year.

Room Tip: Non sea view rooms are quieter and get the afternoon sun. There are some building works going on at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

And we'll be back for more!

Simply love coming here, great apartments, stunning views, beach on the doorstep' secure private parking and very helpful staff!

Stayed in various apartments but sea view penthouse is an experience you'll find hard to beat anywhere in the UK.

We'll be back in 2014

Room Tip: The sea view apartments are icing on the cake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Just love coming here. Apartments just perfect for us. Feel very relaxed when sitting on balcony sipping a drink, watching the world go by. Bliss. :))))))) oh and we don't wanna go home at the end of the holiday which seems to come round far too fast!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tidskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed in 2 bed non sea view apartment. It was spotless with everything you need with a good WiFi connection . Enjoyed the afternoon and evening sun on the quieter balconies round the back. Secure car park and literally a few yards from the North Bay beach.
Would highly recommend and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Sands and treat ourselves to 3 nights in the Sea View Penthouse which was not a disappointment. The views from the wrap around balcony were breath taking and the sound of the waves crashing against the shore both at night and in the morning were so relaxing. There were a couple of niggles with the apartment itself like speakers being disconnected to the sound systems, corroded batteries in the remote and curtain poles loose which we didn't expect for a 5 star establishment but this would not stop us returning and didn't ruin the experience. We will definitely go back and will save again to stay in one of the penthouses, the treat is well worth it.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the penthouses, but if can't afford one then go for the sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Fantastic, stayed in the penthouse sea view, wanted for nothing, we even had sunshine. Took my elderly parents and there was a lift right to the top floor and we never had to more than a minute for it. Having a car parking space was fantastic. We will defo be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrington7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#10 of 35 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands - Sea Front Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands - Sea Front Apartments

Property: The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Address: Kepwick House Peasholm Gap, Scarborough YO12 7TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands - Sea Front Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, these 5-star luxury apartments have a magnificent location on Scarborough’s North Bay, on Yorkshire's rugged and beautiful East Coast. The Sands are luxurious, award-winning apartments and have been given a 5-star rating by VisitBritain. All apartments have modern 5-star furnishings, flat-screen TVs, DVD players and designer kitchens and bathrooms. The bathrooms come complete with luxurious toiletries and bathroom products from Elemis. Each sea-view Apartment has a grand balcony, where you can look out to Scarborough Castle and admire the stunning sea views. Every apartment is allocated a free parking space in the secure car park. There is a state-of-the-art gym for the exclusive use of guests, as well as a rooftop sun terrace with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Sands - Sea Front Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing