We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked the Beach View penthouse for my wife’s birthday treat, my title says it all, we knew it was going to be special as it was on the top floor, so the views would be good, but not only was the apartment 1st class and the views, but the weather shone on us it was the hottest weekend this year, we were sat out in shorts till after 10pm drinking cold wine and beer as were 100's of people on the beach below it was like being abroad without the flight and the airport hassle, the staff in the whole complex shop, bar, reception were all extremely helpful, even unloading our car and delivering our bags to the apartment, I cannot speak highly enough of this whole set up,you only had to ask and if it were possible they sorted it, the welcome pack was a loaf, butter milk and preserves,we will be going back, there was a shortage of photo's for this apartment I hope I have now resolved this!

Room Tip: Lockton House is farthest from the road so the quietest. We neede an extra car parking space for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank videostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 829 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a great holiday at The Sands - fabulous weather and fabulous accommodation. Previous reviews gave us a good idea of what to expect and The Sands certainly lived up to our high expectations. As many reviewers have said, the accommodation is luxurious and the staff are exceptionally helpful. We requested an apartment in Lockton House on the recommendation of other reviewers and it was a good move - further away from the road and with a fabulous sea view all the way up the north bay. The welcome pack is a nice touch and it is also very convenient to have an allocated parking space although ours was next to a pillar and a little tight to get into in a large car.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth paying the extra for a sea view and I'd recommend asking for a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahbarnes52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Sands is truly fabulous. These holiday flats cannot be faulted in any way. Spacious living area (living/dining/kitchen), comfortable king size bed, large on-suite. Welcome pack awaits with everyday essentials (bread, milk, tea/coffee). The balcony is an added bonus - especially if you are lucky enough to get an apartment with a sea view! Each apartment has its own designated car parking space - so need to spend ages looking ( & paying) for a place to park. Myself & my hubby will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just come back from our stay in Lockton House for 4 nights (originally booked 3 and liked it so much we stayed another night). I still wanted to stay there but had to come home unfortunately! Definitely worth paying extra for a sea view.

Everything from the check in to the apartment was superb and it is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in.

Staff very friendly, welcome pack really good. Furnishing was of a high standard and very tasteful.

When I had breakfast on the balcony every morning I felt that I was sitting amidst the waves - it was so close. I slept with the windows open listening to the relaxing sound of the waves and watched the sunrise every morning. I really miss this now I am home!

Will definitely be back and for longer next year.

Lovely beach and walks nearby - plenty to do and the cafes next to the beach do wonderful bacon baps!

All in all one of the best holidays I have had made even better by armed forces day on the Saturday with the wonderful air displays.

Room Tip: Lockton House with a sea view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have recently come back from a weeks stay at the one of the 3 bedroom apartments at The Sands. The apartment was very clean and spacious and the standard of fixtures and fittings is very high. You are provided with everything that you need for your stay and were even provided with a welcome pack which is great until you have time to go to the shop - which is just under the apartments. We came by car and you are allocated a secured parking space on arrival and as everything is on your doorstep we didn't need to use the car for a week. Peasholm Park is just across the road and round the corner is Northbay Railway which takes you to the Sealife Centre. You can also walk to the Sealife Centre which is very close by and can be seen from the apartments but the kids loved the mini train. It is only less than 2 miles to South Bay which took no time at all on foot and is a very pleasant walk. The highlight of our boys stay was a visit to the Military Adventure Park which is just next to the apartments where you can play Laser Battle and drive a small tank plus other activities. We can also recommend the Blue Crush Bar and Diner for a bite to eat. A great stay which we all enjoyed and the staff at the apartments are very pleasant and helpful and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013 and thought the apartments are fantastic!
They're lovely and clean and come with everything you need and we thought the bread and jam and the stick of rock we received a nice touch.
It's very handy location for the beach and the Sealife centre (which is well worth a visit) and there's a bus stop literally outside the entrance to the apartments that takes you to South Bay! And for people who like Italian food we highly recommend cogonis which is just 10 mins walk from the apartments. The food is beautiful!

We will certainly be returning to the apartments we thought they were fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in Lockton House with a sea view
Amazing place, very good facilities with all mod cons. Having some essentials there on arrival (bread, milk, tea, coffee, butter and sticks of Scarborough rock) was an excellent touch.
Very nice rooms, balcony got sun in the morning and late afternoon.
Expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Sea view worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valwal355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,987 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,958 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,287 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
602 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands - Sea Front Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands - Sea Front Apartments

Address: Kepwick House Peasholm Gap, Scarborough YO12 7TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: $132 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands - Sea Front Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, these 5-star luxury apartments have a magnificent location on Scarborough’s North Bay, on Yorkshire's rugged and beautiful East Coast. The Sands are luxurious, award-winning apartments and have been given a 5-star rating by VisitBritain. All apartments have modern 5-star furnishings, flat-screen TVs, DVD players and designer kitchens and bathrooms. The bathrooms come complete with luxurious toiletries and bathroom products from Elemis. Each sea-view Apartment has a grand balcony, where you can look out to Scarborough Castle and admire the stunning sea views. Every apartment is allocated a free parking space in the secure car park. There is a state-of-the-art gym for the exclusive use of guests, as well as a rooftop sun terrace with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sands - Sea Front Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing