We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest and frankly insulting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location of the hotel and its views are superb. Plenty of places to walk and great amenities within yards. However, that's about its only USP. Our master bedroom was situated beside the stairwell. Ingenious planning which results in a night, and morning, of interrupted sleep as the door to the car park slams over, and over, and over again. This complemented by the poorly soundproofed windows overlooking the car park. Deposits for Wii controllers are puzzling. If one was going to borrow a controller and fail to return it, then one would naturally expect to have the cost charged to their debit card; somehow a deposit on top of the £200 per night is just one of The Sands' ways to question the integrity of customers. Another, from my personal experience, is when I returned home and noticed that I had left something in the room. I called immediately and was reassuringly told that the item had been recovered by housekeeping and that they had it there. After being told by reception that they would post it back and charge the postage to my debit card (first 5* place I've come across that charge to return lost property) I instead advised that a family member would pick up in two weeks' time (when they were visiting Scarborough) and was told that this is perfectly fine. Two weeks later, I was issued a letter advising that "no item was left in my apartment" and reminding me that they are not responsible for lost property. Granted, the culpability for losing the item is entirely my own, but to tell me that the item was recovered and then send me a letter telling me that they don't think I left the item in their apartment is disgusting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank mrKHaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
There are newer reviews for The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 815 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

All we can say as a family is that this property is superb in every way! We have been to some wonderful places over the past few years including Florida and Tenerife, and these apartments hold their own ,in comparison with the top resorts across the world. Thats all we will say ; the rest is up to you all to discover and enjoy! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a lovely long weekend in apartment 203 although it wasn't a sea view you can see the sea from the balcony, the apartment was lovely and had everything you need, they are a good size especially with 2 teenage sons, they were also more than happy as the apartment even had wifi, the apartment was lovely and clean well decorated and modern, the main bedroom had ensuite bathroom, and a second bathroom for the second room
we would definitely recommend them to anyone. The walk along marine drive is about 1 1/2 miles, so if the weather is ok this is a nice walk or you can catch the bus from outside the apartments and leave your car in the secure car park
we also went for a curry one evening to the Tandoori in the centre of town, would recommend it if you like a curry

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseeker2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

After enjoying a wet three nights in July in Kepwick Apartment 216 we are spending a foggy three nights in Lockton Apartment 404. It is now 15.30 and for the first time I can see the horizon! Having said that about the weather, apart from us not venturing out as much as we would have liked, our stay has not been spoiled. We have used the free wii to play Baseball, Tennis and Bowling. We did have to get help from a nice young lady to set it up but as there was something stuck in the box it was not surprising it didn't work for us. The offending box was immediately replaced. Having sat and thought about the two apartments, we both prefer 216. Although the bedroom in it is smaller, the lounge is bigger and being on the 2nd floor we can see the beach and the many dogs running about on the sands and into the sea, something that cannot be seen from the 4th floor lounge furniture.

We shall definitely return having found somewhere that although is not home, feels darn close! Although next time, please please let us have decent weather!!!

Room Tip: From the 2nd Floor Sea Front you can sit in the lounge and watch people/dogs on the beach as well as...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from 5 days staying in the Sands with our 3 grandchildren.
From arrival to departure, everything was perfect. The apartment had every conceivable device including wi-fi and Wii and was as new. We were even left a welcoming supply of bread butter milk jam etc to ensure we had something when we arrived. The rooms were large and spacious and the bathrooms large and well equipped. The whole set up is perfect and we would recommend to anyone travelling to Scarborough to try it out. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and supply DVD's and books if required. Also a mention for a restaurant called Florios on Aberdeen Walk in Scarborough which was excellent for family dining. Best to book

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a lovely 4 night stay in a two bed seaview. One issue did detract from my enjoyment.
On arrival we had to sign to accept a hundred pound fine, deductable from the card we used to pay our non refundable deposit, if we smoked anywhere on the premises. There were however cigarette ends in the garage.
I do not smoke inside anywhere. When I booked I did expect to smoke on the balcony as I thought technically I would be outside.
Just a warning to other smokers.
The website also states no pets, but dogs were staying in the building, it might be that they belonged to apartment owners.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coldhands58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Having checked the website and read all the positive reviews we booked a 2 bed sea view apartment. We were not disappointed; everything you could need is provided and as others have said, to a very high spec. We were also impressed with the security at the building (although the area seems quiet and safe) as there is key fob entry to all outer doors as well as the parking garage and even a security guard doing the rounds at night. The quieter North Bay is beautiful and just what we wanted. The Blue Crush Bar on site is great and the Nisa local store is very handy. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,907 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
913 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands - Sea Front Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands - Sea Front Apartments

Address: Kepwick House Peasholm Gap, Scarborough YO12 7TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: $159 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands - Sea Front Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, these 5-star luxury apartments have a magnificent location on Scarborough’s North Bay, on Yorkshire's rugged and beautiful East Coast. The Sands are luxurious, award-winning apartments and have been given a 5-star rating by VisitBritain. All apartments have modern 5-star furnishings, flat-screen TVs, DVD players and designer kitchens and bathrooms. The bathrooms come complete with luxurious toiletries and bathroom products from Elemis. Each sea-view Apartment has a grand balcony, where you can look out to Scarborough Castle and admire the stunning sea views. Every apartment is allocated a free parking space in the secure car park. There is a state-of-the-art gym for the exclusive use of guests, as well as a rooftop sun terrace with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Sands - Sea Front Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing