We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Apartment, Friendly Staff, Great Sea Views, Poor Weather!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

There is not a lot more I can say that has not already been said by other reviewers. We stopped for three nights in 216 Kepwick House, a two bedroomed property overlooking the sea front. The apartment was extremely well furnished and clean. My only concern was that there was little room at the foot of the bed to walk due to a dresser. This small point did not spoil our stay in any way. The views from the balcony were exceptional, and we also had great views from the lounge. I do not think I have ever stayed in this country so close to the sea. With a view to returning later in the year for another break, the staff were more than willing to show us the Penthouse Suites and rooms in the other block Lockton. In the end we booked another three night stay in Lockton in October so that we can sit and watch the sea if the weather is too bad to venture out.
I cannot find any faults with this accomodation and we hope to return frequently in the future for short 'Recharge the Battery' Breaks.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are so relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 833 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Just had 3 days here in two bed apartment with my mum and 2yr old and couldn't fault it. Lovely modern apartments, all mod cons, immaculate. Great sea view balcony on the fourth floor and car parking space too. Staff were very good, excellent welcome and nothing too much trouble. We thought location was ideal, right by the beach and peasolm park etc. even though it isn't cheap you definitely get what you pay for, we most definitely return next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrolleyDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I went for a short break, and having read all the reviews felt the Sands just about fit the bill, somewhere to relax a bit of comfort in short chill out after what so far has been quite a traumatic year. Booking late we were unable to secure a seafront appartment, but we felt the view would still be ok after all these are luxioury appartments. Upon arrival we were shown to our allocated appartment located a block a little separate from the main block, this nessesited negotiating two flight of steps c/w luggage and supplies one needs for self catering holiday. No offer of assistance was given and as it wasn't raining we moved in without event. The appartment itself certainly lived upto all the reports, very comfortable everything one needed was there. Due to the steep banking of unkept garden located outside the front the rooms were without exception very dark and nessesitated the leaving on of all the lights irrespective of the time of day or if indeed the sun was shinning. The en-suit shower emitted a dreadful smell of sulpher when turned on, (cleared quite quickly) despite being reported to staff, feel sure nothing was done about it, because the problem remained throughout our stay. So would we return, probably not, the appartment was very nice, the location away from the main part of the town so nice and quite. I guess the main reason was the lack of natural light, this would hopefully be overcome if one booked early and secured a front facing accommodation. I hope this does not sound all to negative as we did have a lovely stay at No 3 and it was without the afomentioned issued very good value

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank seniortravleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very nice apartment with Sea view, well equiped kitchen, friendly service with a smile (Dave). We will book again if we return to Scarborough.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woolys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have just returned from spending 2 nights in The Sands apartments. We needed somewhere that was quiet and comfortable as we took our 3 grandchildren (7,4 and 15months). The accommodation was just right ~ clean, spacious, all mod cons and peaceful in the evenings when the little ones were asleep. Bernadette managed the booking, met us on arrival and was extremely helpful.She gave her mobile phone number so was able to be contacted should we have needed to. Located near Peasholm park with the beach directly in front, these apartments offer the luxury yet practical requirements for a super family break.I'd definitely return to these apartments.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6bestfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I plus four friends stayed in a three bedroomed appt. on the beach side of the building and all of us were really pleased with the high standard and quality in the appt. The besrooms are a decent size and the en-suite bedroom shares the same balcony as the sitting room.
The main living area is a kitchen/sitting room arrangement with modern appliances and fittings in the kitchen and a large screen TV, reclining sofas etc. in the sitting room.
Car parking is on site but restricted to one vehicle per appt. but others are available at 'quieter' times of the year. Security to the building is of a high standard with the bonus of a super market, bar etc available on the ground floor.
Access to the main part of Scarborough is quite a 'breezy' walk along the main sea front road or you can jump on the local bus which stops outside the front door and runs all day.
We had agreat time here and will certainly return next year.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are worth the extra because of the views from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have just returned from two days staying at this wonderful location. It was perfect. My sister and I went with my father (89) and he was thrilled with his room with the panoramic view of North bay. This morning, before we left, we sat on the balcony in the sunshine, having had the perfect two day break. We are already planning to return in September. A very big thank you to Bernadette of 'Sandcastles' who helped create the perfect break.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bazzer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
666 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands - Sea Front Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands - Sea Front Apartments

Address: Kepwick House Peasholm Gap, Scarborough YO12 7TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: $140 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands - Sea Front Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, these 5-star luxury apartments have a magnificent location on Scarborough’s North Bay, on Yorkshire's rugged and beautiful East Coast. The Sands are luxurious, award-winning apartments and have been given a 5-star rating by VisitBritain. All apartments have modern 5-star furnishings, flat-screen TVs, DVD players and designer kitchens and bathrooms. The bathrooms come complete with luxurious toiletries and bathroom products from Elemis. Each sea-view Apartment has a grand balcony, where you can look out to Scarborough Castle and admire the stunning sea views. Every apartment is allocated a free parking space in the secure car park. There is a state-of-the-art gym for the exclusive use of guests, as well as a rooftop sun terrace with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Sands - Sea Front Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing