We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Brindley(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boston Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Delmont Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Bay Norbreck Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveler rating
744
81
16
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
744
81
16
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome packsea view apartmentblue crushbed apartmentlockton housenorth bayloaf of breadsecure car parkbar dinerwii gamessmall supermarketallocated parking spacedishwasher tabletsmaster bedroomlovely apartmentthe penthousemain bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
610 - 615 of 850 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed in peasholm penthouse for 4days, amazing views and location, great weather and apartment was lovely including friendly helpful staff! Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryhana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife & I have just returned home from a fantastic 3 night stay at the Sands with our two and a half year old daughter & nine month old son.

The location is fantastic it's situated on the North bay, where the corner cafe used to be - right next to the beach. We stayed in the Kepwick House block and you walk out of the front door and all that stands between you & the beach is a pavement, could not be in a better location!

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who came out to the car park to greet us and walk us into reception. Check in was easy and the staff member provided us with relevant information and top tips one of which was to get Sea Life Centre tickets from them as they were cheaper, which we did. She then took us up to our apartment which was 313 a park view.

Apartment was spotless, great layout, ours was a two bedroom. They have an open plan kitchen & livingroom with a balcony off the livingroom a main bathroom and an ensuite in the master bedroom. All rooms were of a good size and nicely done out. Our request of two highchairs & one travel cot was honoured and were ready & waiting in the apartment. There was also a welcome pack containing a loaf of bread, tea, coffee, butter, jam, marmalade, sugar & two sticks of rock, a lovely and useful touch.

We found our apartment to be quiet with no outside noise late at night or early in the mornings.

All staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. There is a bar restaurant, coffee shop, gift shop & small supermarket located on the ground floor of the block all very handy.

Access to the apartments and car parking is by a key fob so it all feels very secure.

Our two and a half year old loved staying there and being so close to the beach.

We all can't wait to go back!!

Thank you The Sands.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed in an apartment for 3 nights. The break was all about getting my 86 year old mother back to some of her favourite places. The view here was fabulous. The very clean beach and the castle from the sitting room window and balcony. You could spend your time people and dog watching from there. There is a supermarket below the apartments plus a beach cafe. A short walk along the prom brings you to a cafe that does great cooked breakfast including a vegetarian option. There are two ways of booking; firstly the main web and telephone contact or as we did ,purely by accident, a small company who appear to be working for private owners of apartments. They were very good and the rooms were excellent. However don't expect the normal paperwork or anything posted out to you. It was all more relaxed and adhoc. It seemed unusual but everything worked out well. Scarborough is a real mix - the tacky seaside shops and game halls to the busy centre and a few museums in the mix too. Should we go back to Scarborough we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

3 night stay in 501, peasholme penthouse which has a view at the back of the wooded area and peasholme park and a partial view of the sea from the huge wrap around balcony. each bedroom has sliding doors to the balcony which must be wonderful in the summer, but the weather was grim during our stay. the furnishings are all top quality as is the kitchen, with marble top breakfast bar and spotless white china and glasses + all the usual cooking utensils/pans etc.

fantastic 5 star accommodation, spotlessly clean and modern with thick cream carpets. cannot fault anything. we were left a welcome pack with tea,butter, bread, jam and milk, plus cleaning essentials. wii was available and free DVDs if required.

the staff are very helpful and friendly as was everyone we met on our first trip to yorkshire.

the heating was on, which we really needed and was controllable. we were never cold. the bathrooms were as good as any top hotels with free toiletries. there was a large hall cupboard with ironing board, iron, wind break, high chair, travel cot, safe and clothes airer, with loads of storage space for cases etc.

downstairs was a gym looking out to the sea, accessible with our electronic room key. this security extended to the underground carpark and front door, the whole site is exceptionally secure. the apartments are virtually on the beach, seperated only by a wall.

in the next block there is a large modern supermarket , with a bar /restaurant next door. buses, taxis stop at the roundabout. along the front there are a couple of beachfront cafes which are first class. peasholme park is across the road as is the mini railway to the sea life centre. there are a few highly commended restaurants within walking distance ie glasshouse, jeremys and north beach fish restaurant.

because everythng was so good it seems hard to criticise, but one disappointment was that although there were deckchairs on the huge balcony there was no table or chairs which would be a shame when the weather imp;roves.

definitely 10/10 and we were all sad to leave such a beautiful apartment.

Room Tip: the peasholme penthouse does not have a seaview unless you look from the corner of the balcony. some in the other building look over the carpark. the sun is at the back of the buildings for most of the day.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEV333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Have just got back from a weekend away at the sands an wow wow wow is all i can say. The apartment was just breath taking just like the views out to sea from the balcony. Inside the apartment was just wonderful everything you could want was there crisp white towels dressin gowns the bedrooms where a lovely size more so the master i couldnt pick a fault with it at all. Even if you take children there was a playstation wii an even some games an dvds which i thought was a nice touch. The managment an staff was really helpful an would give them 10/10 for there help. I will be recomending the sands to all my family an friends an i WILL definetly be going back this year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews