We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moorings

The Moorings
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moorings
Ranked #110 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Myself and two friends stayed for one night as attending a colleagues retirement party - found many places would only take a two night booking so were pleased The Moorings are more flexible than most! Rooms very clean, fully equipped and beds comfortable. Breakfast was very good quality and owners friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NUFCCo_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
notts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

stayed here for one night. great B&B in perfect location. lovely clean room and wonderful choice of food at breakfast. would not hesitate to recommend this place. situated in north bay near to the seafront and a short walk to a lovely park. easy to get to south beach on open top bus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed a Saturday night, hadn't booked before hand but were fortunate there was a room available. Bright clean and fresh smelling room. On site parking, a nice walk to main beach area of Scarborough. A good nights sleep followed by a good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JueHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

A one night stay in Scarborough in July is sometimes difficult. I only booked two rooms a couple of days before. I also need off street parking. Pat & Derek were ever so helpful and friendly in meeting my needs. The Moorings is clean bright friendly and comfortable. We were taking part in a "Coast to Coast" Classic car run leaving Morecambe at 0830. Arriving at the Moorings 10 hours later we were made welcome, shown straight to our comfortable rooms and were able to park the cars off road behind the hotel. Breakfast was hearty affair with plenty of everything so we were set up for the next day!
Definitely will return to the Moorings

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We wanted three rooms for just a Saturday night which we found nearly impossible to book in Scarborough. We were fortunate in being able to stay at The Moorings. We arrived during the evening after a trip on the North Yorks railway. We received a friendly welcome, nice clean rooms and thankfully somewhere to park the car. The beds were comfortable, fresh smelling linen and towels, plenty of tea and coffee in the rooms, followed by a hearty breakfast to set us on our way the next morning. Ideal. We shall return.

Room Tip: If you want a large room pay the little extra otherwise the smaller rooms are ideal for an overnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My two daughters and I needed a one night stay in Scarborough as we were watching a concert at Scarborough's Open Air Theatre. After reading reviews we booked The Moorings which was directly over the road from the theatre. We received a very friendly welcome. The room was lovely and clean with extremely comfortable beds! Breakfast was great with a huge choice and lovely food. Cereals, yogurts, fruits, fresh juice, full English cooked breakfast so we had a great breakfast which saw us through our long journey home. Fantastic value for money and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amme987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had a wedding to go to bank holiday Saturday this August at The Spa Complex and I was intending to travel from Cheshire to Scarborough and back home again in one night, mainly due to the fact I couldn't find anywhere without paying over the odds or having to stay 2+ nights. I booked The Moorings with a few days to spare and I rang them immediately after booking to ask if I could have my room for midday, even though check-in wasn't until 3pm (The wedding started at 2pm!). The owners were brilliant and informed me that I was more than welcome to drop my stuff off, even if the room wasn't ready. When I turned up just after 12pm, a warm and friendly face greeted me and told me my room was all ready for me. How much better can it get? The owners are really lovely, asking me where I was off to etc (as I stood in their hall in a red floor length dress! Don't think they often see that!) my room was clean, my en-suite was lovely and spacious and my bed and bedding was lovely, clean and comfortable. They had even put toiletries in the bathroom, had fresh towels on the bed, and also had decent coffee's and tea's and a pack of cookies in my room, so when I came in late from the wedding, I just had to flick the switch, make a brew and snuggle up in bed! The only slight downfall, and I mean really slight, was my room must have been near the main road, and because it was a warm evening I left my window open and there was a little traffic noise but nothing too major. I didn't stop for breakfast so I can't comment on that, but other than that I was very happy with my stay and really glad I chose to stop over!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissSJC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#63 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#54 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#104 of 182 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: 3 Burniston Road, Scarborough YO12 6PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings stands in attractive gardens just a short walk from Scarborough's North Bay close to Peasholm Park. We offer twelve immaculate rooms, one of which is completely accessible with no steps. We have up to five family rooms and rooms with the luxury of their own private lounge. Excellent breakfasts are served and home cooked evening meals are available. Ample free parking. Guests return frequently once they have found us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing