We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tudor House Hotel

Tudor House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tudor House Hotel
Ranked #109 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just returned from A 1 Night stay at this lovely hotel. The room we stayed in was a family room and was exceptionally clean and spacious. There was plenty of tea, coffee and sugar etc.
The welcome we received was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful a great start to our day.I can honestly say this is the best hotel we have stayed in and we will return. Our 2 daughters age 7 and 9 cannot wait to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craig l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here with a whole class from Norway(19 students and 4 adults).
All of us felt welcome. The rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was good and arrived minutes after we said what we'd like. We had continental breakfast.
The meals(breakfast and dinner) was arranged after our schedule. Good food, that was planned with the fact that it was mostly teenagers staying.
All in all: we loved staying there!!
We left at 5am, the got up for us and had made us a light lunch(juice, crisp and baps).
Thank you for making us feel so welcome!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LenaGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was a last minute booking for my family. Never stayed before, but liked the look of the hotel.Stayed in one of the family rooms, plenty of room, not like some so called "family rooms" that are like a shoe box. A good choice for breakfast and well cooked. Staff very pleasant and couldn't do enough. Will be stopping again and for longer. The Pearson family

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Ours was just a 1-night stay - we were warmly greeted, the proprietors are very friendly, and Benjy the lovely dog was well-behaved. Our room, was spotlessly clean, the bedroom compact but really cosy and the lovely shower room really spacious!
The breakfast was nicely cooked & presented. After the consumption of fish & chips, ice cream and sugary foods the previous day (which is the staple diet at the English seaside), I would have welcomed some fruit, ie grapefruit, orange or prunes for breakfast, but as also seems to be the case at traditional seaside b&b's, top priority is given to the hearty cooked breakfast! No doubt if I had asked it would have been made available.
As we were leaving, room servicing and cleaning downstairs (bearing in mind it was already spotless) was in full swing, and I was quite sorry I wasn't returning for another night or two!

Room Tip: Room 15, for 2 people only, note there are two and a half flights of stairs to get there though
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandbelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Looked like your average b+b on arrival. The owners seemed very nice but the whole place had a funny, musty kind of smell about it. Our room was right at the top of the house, as we had children with us, and I have to say it was probably one of the worst nights sleep I've ever had. The main double bed was brick hard as the mattress was about as thick as the seriously out of date bedding, and every time one of the kids turned over in bed, the bunks beds creaked like someone strangling a cat !!!!! We didnt use the kettle as it was manky inside, and the 'flat screen tv' was so small it was almost the same as the ones in my car!!!! Breakfast was good it was just a bit bizarre that it didn't start till 8.30am when you could smell them cooking from just after 7 ??

So in summary, staff and owner very nice, breakfast was good, room poor at best.... Would I stay here again ??.... No.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuldHoosePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Lovely, great family room, with the kid's seperate! nice and welcoming owners and a great breakfast, makes me proud to be from yorkshire.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Travelled with friends,we enjoyed our 4 night stay,thanks to the friendly Proprietors,(including your dog!)you made us feel welcome,your breakfast are excellent,your rooms are clean and tidy,the location is nice.i would recommend anyone to stay at this Hotel,and we are sure we will be backs.

Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maz1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arran in Scarborough
Arran in Scarborough
#102 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ainsley Court Guest House
Ainsley Court Guest House
#81 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boundary Hotel
Boundary Hotel
#118 of 182 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Sands Lodge
North Sands Lodge
#103 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House Hotel

Property: Tudor House Hotel
Address: 164-166 North Marine Road, Scarborough YO12 7HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tudor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing