We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #74 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Doncaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Just have just had a 3 night stay at The Russell. We arrived to a warm welcome. The rooms were clean and warm. The beds were very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast, great service, nothing was too much trouble. We called into the bar each evening, chatting to Glenn and trying the local ales. We had a really enjoyable stay and will be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Beautiful modernised rooms and excellent food make The Russell our place to stay in Scarborough. Easy parking, quiet area and overlooking Peasholm Park. Nothing is too much trouble for Lyn and Glenn. When we bring our grandchildren with us they are made very welcome

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 6 have bay windows and overlook the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Room was great for us, family of 5. Breakfast was poor. The menu stated that under 10s could only choose 6 out of the 8 items if they had cereal. Even though I told the lady that 2 of my children were 11 and 12 she just blanked me out. The portions were small too. OK for one night if nothing available elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 night stay the The Russell, Scarborough. The room was clean and very comfortable and "mine hosts" could not have done any more for us, The bar was very hospitable and the conversation was excellent. The breakfast was second to none !!! and he homemade porridge was to die for !! we will definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Settled down to a lovely evening meal, complete with birthday cake, candles and card. After dinner enjoyed a glass of single malt in front of a roaring log fire. So; good company, good food and drink, good conversation, who could ask for more?
The hotel has recently been re-decorated and was as immaculate as ever, the welcome and the service as warm as usual.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any body, at any time. It's a gem.
We have re-booked for May and will probably return later in the year as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay overnight with two children and our bikes when we came across the Russell while searching online.
After staying in some dubious places in Scarborough previously we were absolutely delighted with what we had discovered here.
The rooms were excellent, amazingly comfy beds, huge white towels and plenty of them for a family of 4! The family room offered plenty of space along with a very modern bathroom.
Nice touch stocking local beers too!
The hosts could not have been more helpful and it was an absolute pleasure staying here, we will definately be back and would recommend in an instant!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrattm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

we stayed at the Russell hotel on Saturday 9th November 2013 we were made very welcome the room was very clean and comfortable the breakfast was very good and filling always asked if we were ok we will recommend this hotel to anybody worth every penny and was nice to find out its ok to take dogs so on our next visit we will be taking our dog too thank you for a lovely stay phil and Amanda essex

Room Tip: excellent front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kingsway Hotel
The Kingsway Hotel
#60 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose Dene
Rose Dene
#32 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gordon Hotel
Gordon Hotel
#52 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Outlook Hotel
The Outlook Hotel
#98 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunningdale Guest House
Sunningdale Guest House
#13 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: 22 Ryndleside, Scarborough YO12 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing