We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our preferred hotel”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #73 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Our preferred hotel”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We go to this hotel most years for a few days stay. It is at the peasholm park end of Scarborough on a quiet road but within walking distance of the beach (up hill on the way back) or the town centre. There is good bus links to town if you prefer. We have always found Glyn and Lyn most welcoming and very knowledgeable of the local area. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We have always been able to park our car and on the road it is free of charge. The rooms at the front have views over the park and it is lovely and peaceful. The rooms have a TV and Tea/coffee making facilities. All rooms we have stayed in are clean and well decorated with comfy beds. Breakfast is well cooked and there is plenty of choice. (Can not comment on the evening meal as we stay B&B) Glyn is very happy to recommend good pubs/restaurants in the area. Great situation for visits to Whitby and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

we as a family and small dog stayed for two nights the room was dusty cob webs and the room was cold breakfast was served with the chap holding a tissue due to a flu bout he had got which put us off our small dog barked for short while while having breakfast and the lady owner said hes barking in the middle of us eating she was also highly opiniated and not pleasant towards our child in the end my husband put the dog in the car then finished breakfast which wasnt to good it cost 60 per night we have stayed in much better for cleanliness friendlyness and better produce for breakfast wouldnt recommend with children or dogs poor hygiene.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lovely quirky hotel with very friendly owners. Peasholm Park opposite makes it ideal for dog owners and you can park cars off road by the side of the house. Good location close to the seafront and within walking ddstance f the city centre. Good breakfast with a choice of cereals. We paid £60 for a double room which was comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Make sure the showers work - ours was a bit slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

my wife and i spent four days at the russell its not the first time and it wont be the last ,i put three pounds on eating glens home made food which was some of the best food i`ve had for a long while we cant wait to go back .
irving and ann.

Room Tip: we stayed in both room 1, and room 6 both were light and airy with a view of peasholm park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irving p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the Russel Hotel for one night as we were there for the Gold cup racing at Olivers Mount. We were in room 7 which had a lovely view of the sea, and lots of greenery. Very clean and comfortable and would recommend to anyone visiting the area as it is off the beaten track, but not too much, we managed to walk back after an evening in the Newcastle Packet Pub, which is on the seafront. The breakfast was second to none, arrived piping hot, and very tasty. All in all a lovely place to stay. The owners are very friendly and lovely hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Spent three night at Russell, great stay, very relaxed and comfortable. Glen and Lyn lovely people very helpful, hotel and bedroom were spotlessly clean breakfast very nice.

Hotel has lovely cosy bar with good selection of drinks ( Also had Brian in for few nights local comedienne was very funny)

Hotel situated in nice quiet location not to far to walk to seafront and good view from room into park area (no I did'nt need the binoculars to see the sea Glen)

Well worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at The Russell having stayed previously. Hosts friendly and good company. Very clean and comfortable and would recommend to anyone visiting the area. The room was large, clean with all that you need. Glen and Lyn are good hosts and we would recommend anyone to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ryndle Court Hotel
Ryndle Court Hotel
#84 of 183 in Scarborough
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#35 of 183 in Scarborough
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Outlook Hotel
The Outlook Hotel
#94 of 183 in Scarborough
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gordon Hotel
Gordon Hotel
#54 of 183 in Scarborough
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#28 of 183 in Scarborough
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: 22 Ryndleside, Scarborough YO12 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing