We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Friendly Service”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #79 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lovely quirky hotel with very friendly owners. Peasholm Park opposite makes it ideal for dog owners and you can park cars off road by the side of the house. Good location close to the seafront and within walking ddstance f the city centre. Good breakfast with a choice of cereals. We paid £60 for a double room which was comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Make sure the showers work - ours was a bit slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 101 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

my wife and i spent four days at the russell its not the first time and it wont be the last ,i put three pounds on eating glens home made food which was some of the best food i`ve had for a long while we cant wait to go back .
irving and ann.

Room Tip: we stayed in both room 1, and room 6 both were light and airy with a view of peasholm park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irving p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the Russel Hotel for one night as we were there for the Gold cup racing at Olivers Mount. We were in room 7 which had a lovely view of the sea, and lots of greenery. Very clean and comfortable and would recommend to anyone visiting the area as it is off the beaten track, but not too much, we managed to walk back after an evening in the Newcastle Packet Pub, which is on the seafront. The breakfast was second to none, arrived piping hot, and very tasty. All in all a lovely place to stay. The owners are very friendly and lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Spent three night at Russell, great stay, very relaxed and comfortable. Glen and Lyn lovely people very helpful, hotel and bedroom were spotlessly clean breakfast very nice.

Hotel has lovely cosy bar with good selection of drinks ( Also had Brian in for few nights local comedienne was very funny)

Hotel situated in nice quiet location not to far to walk to seafront and good view from room into park area (no I did'nt need the binoculars to see the sea Glen)

Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at The Russell having stayed previously. Hosts friendly and good company. Very clean and comfortable and would recommend to anyone visiting the area. The room was large, clean with all that you need. Glen and Lyn are good hosts and we would recommend anyone to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eileen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic location to spend the first couple of days as a married couple. Glenn and Lyn are fantastic hosts, and run a fantastic hotel. The rooms are immaculate, the walk-in shower large and lovely and warm. The decor superb and breakfast was very nice and filling. The location is very peaceful. Even though we live in Scarborough we would visit this hotel again and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone.

A thoroughly fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crispy220278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent our holiday 2 years ago at this lovely hotel and when we decided a few weeks ago that we would like to go to Scarborough again this year it was'nt difficult to decide which hotel we would like to go to !! We were again made very welcome by Glenn & Lyn and were allocated a lovely room overlooking Peasholm Glen, it was lovely to open the curtains every morning to this peaceful view. Once again the food was of a very high standard, great choice at breakfast and also dinner in the evening,which is optional ( you just book at breakfast time for that evening ) The Russell is a perfect Hotel to spend your holiday I highly recommend it and hope to return for another holiday in the future, thank you once again Glenn and Lyn for you hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juneo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
4.3 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
6 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
51 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough South Bay Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,007 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Address: 22 Ryndleside, Scarborough YO12 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $109 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing