We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly with fab breakfasts”
Review of The Croft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Croft
Ranked #91 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly with fab breakfasts”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stay at The Croft regularly when we go to the bike racing at Oliver's Mount.
Ged and Barbara always make us really welcome (despite the bike boots!) and try their best to stuff us with their fabulous full breakfasts - proper tasty bacon and sausages and fresh free range eggs all sourced locally, plus Barbara's home made bread and reserves. More tea and toast? No problem.
The rooms are en suite, clean and comfy with enough storage space for even helmets and hard panniers. There's a lounge with stunning views of the Castle and North Bay, but we prefer the dining room which becomes the bar by night.
No lift for folk who can't manage stairs, but that apart perfect for a weekend by the sea.

Room Tip: Sea views are good, but probably less seagull noise at the back. Within easy walking distance of pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ged W, Manager at The Croft, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and your breakfasts. Always happy to provide extra tea and toast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

After looking at many Guest houses when deciding to visit Scarborough, we opted for this guest house and we are so pleased we did! On arrival we were greeted with a warmth and friendliness that extended into each day and made us feel very welcome. We couldn't have been more pleased with our clean and comfortable room and the view of North Bay from our bedroom window was stunning. The central location is perfect for walking into Scarborough and along the coastal paths or the shorter routes. It was nice and quiet. The food can only be described as absolutely delicious and home-made, better than many over priced and over rated restaurant meals. We would highly recommend this jewel of a guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ged W, Owner at The Croft, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
A jewel of a guesthouse, we like that. Thank you very much. We're pleased you had a good time and we hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull east yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hosts were superb, the home made jam & marmalade was a pleasure to have on freshly buttered toast after a superb full English breakfast. The veiw from our bedroom of the South Bay first thing in the morning at sunrise was stunning. We were so pleased with the our stay we have booked another three days with them this year. I would recommend the Croft to any of our friends.We are both in our 60's.We were acommodated well with our Goldwing motor bike as room on the car park was made so we din't have to park on the road.

Room Tip: Room 8 has stunning veiws of the South Bay early morning an night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ged W, Manager at The Croft, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We're always happy to welcome bikers and we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Croft lived up to, & surpassed, expectations as pictured on their website. Great VFM, breakfast outstanding, do try the home made Jams, we even brought some home.Lovely sea view from our room. Ideally situated,we enjoyed scenic walk from North to South shore, & could take the short cut as well. Close to Peasome Park, well worth a stroll & the Castle was interesting. Will definitely visit again & recommend you try it, you won't be disappointed.

Geoff & Sheryl - Peterborough

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ged W, Owner at The Croft, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Croft is a typical well run B/B. Comfortable, and clean accomodation. Conveniently placed and in easy walking distance for the town. Staff most helpful and provided a good breakfast. The Croft came recommended and I wasn't disappointed. Would definitely recommend it.

Gordon L

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mostintrepid_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ged W, Owner at The Croft, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we may see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Croft was a lovely place to stay the welcome from Ged was great, breakfast as you like it and evening meals if wished all well worth the stay and the view of the north beach was out standing.
Loved the stay so much now friends on Facebook and will be going back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johnwright17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ged W, Owner at The Croft, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

stayed for two nights 15th and 16th of feb wish we could have stayed all week family run b&b with a great atmosphere very welcoming.
fantastic breakfast nice clean rooms
very well run b&b should be a 5 star lokking forward to next time
i could go on an on about how good it is
my advice stay yourself and see

Room Tip: go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ged W, Owner at The Croft, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We love having families to stay with us and we're pleased you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ainsley Court Guest House
Ainsley Court Guest House
#84 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#54 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Greno Guesthouse
Greno Guesthouse
#37 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howdale
Howdale
#40 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft

Property: The Croft
Address: 87 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Croft 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homely welcome is assured at The Croft. Our rooms are ensuite and some have magnificent seaviews over the North Bay and of the Scarorough Castle. Our award winning breakfast, included in the price, uses fresh locally sourced produce and home made jams and marmalade. We are conveniently located for the town and very close to the beach and North Bay amenities. Free WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Croft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing