We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Boundary Hotel

Boundary Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boundary Hotel
Ranked #127 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely stay and very helpful owners. The rooms we stayed in were 3 & 4 which were opposite each other, which was really useful. We had a family room and our 1 year old stayed in our travel cot in the little adjoining room in room 3. This was a great thing as we could watch TV without the little one being woken up. The only downside to the room is the curtains as they let in quite a lot of light in. Number 4 room seemed to have darker curtains which I think helped quite a bit lot. The bathroom is quite small too especially if you do have a capacity of 5 people which is what the family room seems to hold.
Would recommend if people were going to Scarborough as its only walking distance to the sea front and close to restaurants.

Room Tip: a back room over looking the Cricket pitch if you want a quieter room, that's if there isn't...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Boundary Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 92 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We are happy to recommend B&B-Hotel "The Boundary" in Scarborough. Spent two nights. Cosy atmosphere, nice large bed, good breakfast and most of all very helpful hosts.
We forgot an item in our room. The hosts sent it to our home address in France. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volkmar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

stayed here for one night in a family room on the first floor with my 2 grandchildren while my son and daughter in law had a kingsize room on the second floor both rooms were lovely and clean . the balcony overlooking the cricket pitch is very nice . the breakfast was very good . no complaints what so ever the bar was also very nice where we enjoyed a couple of drinks before retiring for the evening . will definately stay there again .

Room Tip: the family room had the main bedroom with a door seperating the children bedroom .
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel has a lot going for it:

If you're Into cricket you'll find the view of the pitch from the verranda is unbeatable. And if you like to treat yourself to the most important meal of the day on holiday, you'll be delighted with the mouthwatering breakfasts served here. Enjoy a bevvie? you'll find the bar a real haven. And most important of all, if you prefer to stay with people that make a huge effort to make your break a success, you'll love Maria and David, the hotel's dedicated owners.


  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveB12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Thankyou David and Maria, you made us very welcome and I can't fault anything. Your hotel is spotless and a pleasure to stay in, breakfast well what can I say YUMMY perfect. Once again I thankyou and we will most deffinately be stopping with you again.
Ms. Bernadette Pickles.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

After checking in, we were "told" what we would be having for breakfast the next day, one caeliac member of our party was told he could have a gluten free sausage, another who asked for tomatoes instead of beans, was told, after some debate that that would be OK.
Room 6 was adequate, bathroom tiny, sink so low as to be nearly unusable, shower was "temperamental". Windows offered nothing in the way of noise reduction from the traffic outside, and the builders working on a large project directly across the road. Only one window opened in the room, all the others were painted shut. Our friends in another room described the twin beds as uncomfortable and noisy. On returning to the hotel after an evening out, the bar area was shut up and in darkness, so no chance of a nightcap! Breakfast was ok, never offered any more tea or coffee, asked for more orange juice only to be asked how any wanted more, so as not to waste a full jug. Landlady began moving furniture around in the dining room whilst we were chatting after eating, very curt and rude, did not even stop to ask if we had enjoyed our stay when we were leaving.
Overall impression - accommodation adequate at best, Landlady needs some lessons on customer service and friendliness. Would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david s, Owner at Boundary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Ouch, but get some facts right please. You were all advised what was on offer for breakfast when you arrived, just incase there are special dietary requirements such as caeliac's or vegetarians! Tomato's are fresh,and served as well as beans however you asked for tinned (which we provided), everything we offer for the cooked breakfast is available, we tell you what there is, and if you don't want anything, you tell us. It does work, because you got your caeliac sausage!

Yes there is some building going on opposite, nothing much we can do about that. However, they don't start work until breakfast time and are finished by 5 at the latest! We are in a conservation area and would dearly love to replace the windows with more efficient double glazing but we are not permitted too.

As for breakfast you were always the last down and just sat at your table after everybody else had gone, even though you had finished. So when you asked the waitress for more orange juice rather than fill a jug, she refilled your glass as only 1 of you wanted it. Everybody is asked at breakfast if everything is ok and if they would like more drinks or toast, infact you did ask for more toast so why didnt you ask for tea? As for moving furniture, we simple moved two tables together for a large family that was arriving that day.

We finish serving in the bar at 11pm. However if the bar is empty then we close it at 10:45.

We didn't get chance to speak to you on departure as you just dropped the keys off at reception!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have just returned from a four night break. The family room was excellent, clean and with plenty of space. Breakfast was filling and well cooked plus the owner was happy to make a bacon gutty to order every morning for our daughter who declared it the best bacon ever!!!

Friendly staff and very helpful, would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who has a small family and would like a couple of days in Scarborough. Brilliant value for money.

Thank you

Room Tip: If you have up to three children ask for the Glenn room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Marina Guest House
Marina Guest House
#108 of 184 in Scarborough
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arran in Scarborough
Arran in Scarborough
#167 of 184 in Scarborough
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#36 of 184 in Scarborough
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#14 of 184 in Scarborough
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#57 of 184 in Scarborough
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boundary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boundary Hotel

Address: 124-126 North Marine Road, Scarborough, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $85 - $846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boundary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing