We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with very friendly people”
Review of Boundary Hotel

Boundary Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boundary Hotel
Ranked #122 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with very friendly people”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel has a lot going for it:

If you're Into cricket you'll find the view of the pitch from the verranda is unbeatable. And if you like to treat yourself to the most important meal of the day on holiday, you'll be delighted with the mouthwatering breakfasts served here. Enjoy a bevvie? you'll find the bar a real haven. And most important of all, if you prefer to stay with people that make a huge effort to make your break a success, you'll love Maria and David, the hotel's dedicated owners.


  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveB12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    8
    3
    12
See reviews for
32
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Thankyou David and Maria, you made us very welcome and I can't fault anything. Your hotel is spotless and a pleasure to stay in, breakfast well what can I say YUMMY perfect. Once again I thankyou and we will most deffinately be stopping with you again.
Ms. Bernadette Pickles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

After checking in, we were "told" what we would be having for breakfast the next day, one caeliac member of our party was told he could have a gluten free sausage, another who asked for tomatoes instead of beans, was told, after some debate that that would be OK.
Room 6 was adequate, bathroom tiny, sink so low as to be nearly unusable, shower was "temperamental". Windows offered nothing in the way of noise reduction from the traffic outside, and the builders working on a large project directly across the road. Only one window opened in the room, all the others were painted shut. Our friends in another room described the twin beds as uncomfortable and noisy. On returning to the hotel after an evening out, the bar area was shut up and in darkness, so no chance of a nightcap! Breakfast was ok, never offered any more tea or coffee, asked for more orange juice only to be asked how any wanted more, so as not to waste a full jug. Landlady began moving furniture around in the dining room whilst we were chatting after eating, very curt and rude, did not even stop to ask if we had enjoyed our stay when we were leaving.
Overall impression - accommodation adequate at best, Landlady needs some lessons on customer service and friendliness. Would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david s, Owner at Boundary Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Ouch, but get some facts right please. You were all advised what was on offer for breakfast when you arrived, just incase there are special dietary requirements such as caeliac's or vegetarians! Tomato's are fresh,and served as well as beans however you asked for tinned (which we provided), everything we offer for the cooked breakfast is available, we tell you what there is, and if you don't want anything, you tell us. It does work, because you got your caeliac sausage!

Yes there is some building going on opposite, nothing much we can do about that. However, they don't start work until breakfast time and are finished by 5 at the latest! We are in a conservation area and would dearly love to replace the windows with more efficient double glazing but we are not permitted too.

As for breakfast you were always the last down and just sat at your table after everybody else had gone, even though you had finished. So when you asked the waitress for more orange juice rather than fill a jug, she refilled your glass as only 1 of you wanted it. Everybody is asked at breakfast if everything is ok and if they would like more drinks or toast, infact you did ask for more toast so why didnt you ask for tea? As for moving furniture, we simple moved two tables together for a large family that was arriving that day.

We finish serving in the bar at 11pm. However if the bar is empty then we close it at 10:45.

We didn't get chance to speak to you on departure as you just dropped the keys off at reception!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have just returned from a four night break. The family room was excellent, clean and with plenty of space. Breakfast was filling and well cooked plus the owner was happy to make a bacon gutty to order every morning for our daughter who declared it the best bacon ever!!!

Friendly staff and very helpful, would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who has a small family and would like a couple of days in Scarborough. Brilliant value for money.

Thank you

Room Tip: If you have up to three children ask for the Glenn room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

we stayed at the boundary for 2 nights, and couldnt find anything wrong with the place, we were in room 2 which had the 4 poster and was so comfy.
the en-suite again very clean with nice hot shower. the owners david and maria were very helpful, got parking permit straight away, were told where the good resturants were and if we had any problems just ring the bell.
the breakfast was fantastic and the waitress very good, i would recommend this place to anyone i know going to visit scarborough i loved it thanks.
darren mcqueen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights at The Boundary in a family room, which is two rooms with an adjoining door. There's no way my little boy would have slept if he'd been in the same room as us so this was fantastic. There were three beds in his room so this would be great for a bigger family too. The place was clean and nice, Maria and David were really helpful and informative and we had a really lovely weekend in Scarborough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed for one night in room 5 which overlooked the cricket grounds. Good sized room and ensuite. Very clean. Breakfast for lovely, overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molleypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Marina Guest House
Marina Guest House
#119 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arran in Scarborough
Arran in Scarborough
#116 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#105 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ainsley Court Guest House
Ainsley Court Guest House
#84 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boundary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boundary Hotel

Property: Boundary Hotel
Address: 124-126 North Marine Road, Scarborough, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boundary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing