We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

The Captain Hotel B & B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Captain Hotel B & B
Ranked #169 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2009

fantastic hotel and service! i stayed for 4 nights with my 2 year old son, my friend and her 3 year old daughter and 11 month old son. they made us feel very welcome, and were very understanding with us having 3 small children! we were shown a room on the second floor but there was a problem with the window, it wouldnt lock (which is not great for kids) but they offered to buy a lock or move us to another room (which was very kind) we chose the other room, which was lovely, spacious and very clean! breakfast was lovely, with a choice of cereals, toast and a full cooked breakfast. the location of the hotel was fantastic, just 2 minutes away from the train station and 10 minutes from the beach. the only problem we had were the noisy seagulls!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for The Captain Hotel B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2009

This hotel is lovely, the owners are very friendly and make you feel welcome. The hotel is about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the beach through the town. You can leave your car parked out side the hotel as you will be given a permit for the duration of your stay.
Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoweStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

I have been to Scarborough a number of times and stayed in quite a few places,i booked over the phone and was slightly dubious as the prices here were cheaper than i have usually paid for B&B,my mind was put at ease as soon as i arrived as we were greeted very warmly by the owners and the interior is of a very high standard and is remarkably clean.Our room was lovely decorated,with an ensuite shower room which was spotless,the rooms were well equipped with tea and coffee facilities,tv etc.The breakfast room was lovely and the breakfast was delicious! I was very impressed to find they use free range eggs and locally produced bacon and sausages.The location is perfect as nearby to everything,we went to the Stephen Joseph theatre which is two minutes around the corner,as were the shops [much to my husbands dismay!] and beaches 5-10 minutes walk. Had a great stay and would definately come again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We spent a weekend in Scarborough at this B&B and found it to be lovely. The breakfast was delicious and the couple who run it were very helpful and accomodating. The price was quite reasonable. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Found this place while searching for a B&B for the Scarborough Chess Congress and what a great place to stay, handy because it is right in the centre of scarborough and very near to the train station and bus stops, and not far from the Chess Congress also. It is a traditional family run business who make you feel very welcome, the rooms were very clean and bright and the breakfast was delicious, i will be staying there for future chess congresses or if i fancy a week break in SCarborough, a highly recommended no nonsense guesthouse!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank knightknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Just returned from an enjoyable holiday in Scarborough. At first it was somewhat difficult to find an accommodation, since we were late with our reservations - started making them just one week ahead of our tour. Called to a couple of B&B's, which turned out to be fully occupied. From one of them we were referred to a new B&B "The Captain Hotel". It's run by a nice young couple, who had just two months ago taken over the business after "The Capitol Hotel". They had done a complete renovation of the place, and at the same time they had renamed it. Everything there, both the rooms and the breakfast room were fresh and tidy. The room was decorated nicely, and the brand new beds in the room were just wonderful. The owners are really nice and hospitable.

It isn't easy to find this place on the internet, but here's their new website: http://www.thecaptainhotel.co.uk/

The B&B is located just 5 minutes walk from the Scarborough railway & bus station. That made it easy for us, since we used trains and buses for our excursions to other parts of Yorkshire. The Captain is just around the corner from the Scarborouhg's main pedestrian shopping street. It was only some 10-15 minutes walk to South Bay and North Bay beaches.

We are a couple in our early 50's and we were traveling with our youngest daughter who is 15. Stayed 6 nights at The Captain, and can very much recommend this B&B for people like us. Bringing fish and chips and other take-out food to the rooms is not allowed there - so therefore this may not be an ideal place for families with younger kids, or for other people who like to eat in the hotel room. On the other hand, this rule keeps the B&B rooms tidy and fresh. For most of our meals we found a very good pub with good food just in the corner "The Lord Roseberg". - There's a lot of space in two floors - we especially liked the upper floor.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aa_Finn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#20 of 26 in Scarborough
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#120 of 184 in Scarborough
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#34 of 184 in Scarborough
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#36 of 184 in Scarborough
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain Hotel B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain Hotel B & B

Address: 46 Albemarle Crescent, Scarborough YO11 1XX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $62 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain Hotel B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Captain Hotel B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Hotel Bed And Breakfast
The Captain Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing