We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kingsway Hotel

The Kingsway Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kingsway Hotel
Ranked #60 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Nottm, England
1 review
“Lovely Guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely little guest house. The hosts are very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was lovely and very hot which in our experience is quite rare. Room was small but had everything we needed. Clean and tidy. Comfortable bed. Only down side was the shower was not very good (low water pressure i think).
On quite a busy street but traffic noise wasnt a problem. About 15min walk to centre of town. about 5 min walk to Peasholme Park. Where we brought an all day ticket for open top bus that took us to sea front.

Room Tip: We had room 6 (top floor) Water pressure wasnt very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0ther0f2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
33
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Kingsway is an execellent choice> we had our two grandsons with us and the room was prefect, clean meet our needs and was hosted by the best owners I have ever come across. Christine and Neil welcomed you and made you feel like old friends. Neil knew everyone's name and always had a warm welcome and smile for you. Christine prepared wonderful meals that I looked forward to every morning. It was a chance selection and it was worth every pence.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just got back from a short break staying at this lovely guest house lovely lovely hosts cannot fault the rooms or any of the stay- just wish we could have stayed longer!
We felt like we were staying with good friends rather than just hotel guests i cannot put into words how friendly and welcoming Neil and Christine are!
On our next trip to Scarborough we will definitely be staying here again I watch a lot of hotel inspector and was quite cautious on the way down despite other glowing reviews but we were pleasantly surprised and would definitely recommend to others!
Thank you Neil and Christine your warm hospitality contributed to our break as much as all the other attractions that Scarborough has to offer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have stayed at The Kingsway a number of times and it is always a pleasure. Rooms are spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are lovely and Christine and Neil are friendly and welcoming. Neil even gave me a lift to the train station when I was leaving. I'm hoping to go back for a couple of days in September. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — single rooms don't have ensuite facilities.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraN15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at the Kingsway with my partner for 5 nights in July 13 and after staying at other guest houses in the locality and Whitby this has to be by far the best AND CHEAPER !. Neil and Christine are the best hosts around and really go out of their way to make your stay as brilliant as possible whatever the weather. The rooms are spotless and the bed is really comfortable, tea & coffee on tap is a bonus (something you don't tend to get at other establishments). Advice on places to visit and leaflets about activities around the area is very welcome if you are new to this part of the country, the hosts can give you all this advice AND IT'S FREE !!!!. The breakfasts are really good and you may not need topping up till teatime. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear are quieter (cant help the seagulls)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a fabulous time. Neil and Christine are so friendly and very welcoming. I would recommend this hotel as it is spotless and very good value. Very close and accessible for everything roundabout. Full English breakfast was fantastic and they have a great breakfast menu, very accomodating. Brillant hosts and Christines clearly the boss although Neil likes to be in control. We will be back for definate, thanks for a lovey time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lousy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Me ands girlfriend have just come back from a 2 night stay over this bank holiday weekend. The place and owners were great. Extremely friendly and warm atmosphere, brilliant hosts and top breakfast. Really clean room and COMFIEST BEDS EVER!!! We also didn't arrive until late Saturday night and Neil stayed up to greet us. Then gave us a map and took the time to explain Scarborough and give us directions. Very much a "come as a guest, leave as a friend" type of place.

Wouldn't hesitate to go back and would definitely recommend to others. Thank you Neil and Christine

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tombrown194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#28 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#47 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#21 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsway Hotel

Property: The Kingsway Hotel
Address: 58 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kingsway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly family run Hotel situated on the North Bay close to beach and town centre and within walking distance to Railway Station and main bus terminal. Visit Britain 4 STAR rated, fully licensed, guest lounge and lovely comfortable rooms. Open all year round including Christmas and New Year. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Kingsway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing