We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kingsway Hotel

The Kingsway Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kingsway Hotel
Ranked #63 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a fabulous time. Neil and Christine are so friendly and very welcoming. I would recommend this hotel as it is spotless and very good value. Very close and accessible for everything roundabout. Full English breakfast was fantastic and they have a great breakfast menu, very accomodating. Brillant hosts and Christines clearly the boss although Neil likes to be in control. We will be back for definate, thanks for a lovey time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lousy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
33
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Me ands girlfriend have just come back from a 2 night stay over this bank holiday weekend. The place and owners were great. Extremely friendly and warm atmosphere, brilliant hosts and top breakfast. Really clean room and COMFIEST BEDS EVER!!! We also didn't arrive until late Saturday night and Neil stayed up to greet us. Then gave us a map and took the time to explain Scarborough and give us directions. Very much a "come as a guest, leave as a friend" type of place.

Wouldn't hesitate to go back and would definitely recommend to others. Thank you Neil and Christine

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tombrown194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a fantastic Guest House run by Christine & Neil (its kim & aggie clean) In other words its spotless.Great choice on breakfast menu (full english a must)10/10.
The bed was better than we have at home,If you want the best value for money this is the place to be.
(Christines the boss and Neils a dab hand with the hoover)

Room Tip: An old house but no noisy plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B-RUBBLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here on a one-night visit to Whitby - prices in Scarborough are on average £10/night less than in Whitby! I'd lived in this house 40 years ago, and was fascinated to see how beautifully it had been updated. A warm welcome, delightful decor, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. Very definitely value for money. The single room might be a bit small for a prolonged stay - which mine (regretfully) wasn't. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My other half and I stayed in a double room for 2 nights 24th & 25th November 2012. Came across this place by accident as trawling the area looking for a place to stay when the guest house we originally booked (The Airedale - avoid at all costs!!) turned out to be a complete dump.

The hosts here could not have been friendlier and the hotel was ABSOLUTELY spotlessly clean. Bed very comfortable and bedding of good quality. The breakfasts were also 5* in quality and there was plenty to eat.
All in all this was a superb stay and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawbrassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had an excellent stay here in Scarborough during the cricket festival at the end of August. It was our first visit to Scarborough and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent and very filling. The hotel is convenient for the centre of the town and for the cricket ground.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Can't fault this hotel what so ever. Been there 3 times now and would be more than happy to go back again. The rooms are spotlessly clean and with good facilities, and which are attended to daily there is also a licensed bar and evening meals are available, which are cooked well and are very decently priced, also the breakfasts are lovely too. The location is perfect situated in the middle of the town and the park, just a five minute walk each way. Run by 2 lovely hosts who can't do enough for you. An excellent hotel which is well worth the money! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilesFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#28 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#50 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#21 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsway Hotel

Property: The Kingsway Hotel
Address: 58 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kingsway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly family run Hotel situated on the North Bay close to beach and town centre and within walking distance to Railway Station and main bus terminal. Visit Britain 4 STAR rated, fully licensed, guest lounge and lovely comfortable rooms. Open all year round including Christmas and New Year. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kingsway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing