We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely few days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Guesthouse
Ranked #41 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liversedge,W.Yorks
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely few days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from a lovely few days at the Dolphin. Our room was at the back with our own separate bathroon next door. We had plenty of hanging space lots of drawers and everything was clean and well kept. Breakfast was yummy and Gary served it with a smile and a genuine interest in what we were going to do with our day. The guest house is in quiet location but within walking distance to everything would reccomend to anyone. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
53
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited the dolphin in September 13 with my husband and ten month daughter. We stayed in the family room. Travel cot and bed linen for cot provided. Room cleaned daily absolutely spotless. Breakfast lovely. The owner, Gary was very welcoming and friendly with nothing being too much trouble even refrigerating our daughters baby food and bottles. The guesthouse is located in a quieter area of Scarborough but within easy walking distance to the main attractions, restaurants etc, even with a pushchair. A couple of minutes to the beautiful peasholm park. There is an award winning fish and chip shop and restaurants very close for those that don't wish to walk into the main area. Would highly recommend this guesthouse for welcoming, comfortable, clean value for money accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUN83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stay here two nights , and book two days before , the room was pretty and the breakfast was fantastique !
Easy to park the car on the front on the street .
For sure I will be back next time
Christopher

Room Tip: Room 3 on the second floor , very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

just came back from staying at the dolphin hotel, scarborough. Stayed for three nights (1st of august onwards )with my mum and young son. The hotel was nicely situated to everything, and this made our break even more enjoyable. Gary the owner was wonderful, as was his hospitality and his cooked breakfasts!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theyoung111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdeck5
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having been to Scarborough many times there was a few things we have never done or seen before. The History of Scarborough is fascinating and interesting, from the giant metal sculptor of Freddie Gilroy to the historic Keep which is Scarborough castle. Dolphin Guesthouse although not 5 star was a warm friendly place with a very nice breakfast that set you in good stead for the start of your day.Gary offered a parking permit for a spot outside the guesthouse. Peasholme park was just down the road about 5 mins walk if that, the Chinese style gate house was the start of the entire theme of the park of which it was based its pleasant gardens and lake that meandered around an island with its impressive pagoda that stood on the top. Wildlife was in abundance from Canada geese, mallards, swans. and resident grey squirrels ran around . The sea-life center was also within walking distance or you could catch a steam train from peasholme park to the sea-life center at Scalby Mill. The sea-life center offers a rescue hospital for stranded and injured sea lions and breeding programs for some species . The impressive aquariums offer a sea-life paradise with impressive lighting made this a wonderful experience. The price was reasonable and was £19.44 for 2 people including a 40% discount from Gary at the Dolphin guesthouse.If you feel energetic then a testing walk to the Keep which is Scarborough castle is worth a visit if not you can drive up there but in doing so you miss the fantastic views.This is well worth the £4.50 entrance just to see the views from this impressive vantage point that overlooks Scarborough, the history of this place goes way back to the bronze age, medieval up to world war 1. and the varying uses of this truly historic site that takes you through the ages. before heading back to the guest house Fish and chips is a must. The town is full of shops catering for all budgets, and numerous charity shops around town are worth popping in. all in all a very nice break and can highly recommend this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topdeck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a really nice guesthouse, the owner, Gary is very helpful. Even before we went to stay his information and help was tremendous, and he is very quick in replying (in my case by e-mail)
So, we had a comfortable room, with comfortable bed and a wonderful bathroom.
Breakfast was good. The guesthouse is within walking distance of the centre of town, very doable and good for the waistline. Parking was good with a pass from Gary, and he helped with the cases in and out of the guesthouse.
All in all a good experience, and if we go to Scarborough again for a few days, this is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: if you have special requests, I'm sure that Gary will take them into account when allotting room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I managed to park right outside with a pass from the very pleasant owner, Gary. The room was clean and a good size and had a large bay window. The breakfast was good and the coffee was the best. Internet access was good as one would expect in this digital age. The bed was hard and consequently I did not sleep too well. The toilet had an electronic waste system that was really noisy and the smallest amount of water would start it. Not good if you got up during the night. I would have given an overall 4 "very good" if it hadn't have been for the plumbing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianthebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Rose Dene
Rose Dene
#35 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Robyn's Guest House
Robyn's Guest House
#22 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Guesthouse

Property: Dolphin Guesthouse
Address: 151 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Dolphin Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing