We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not value for money”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We went to this hotel on a self drive basis. We paid the full price and also paid for an upgraded room. The view was excellent but the room was very shabby i.e. old seats burst with foam showing. Bed base burst. Bathroom door with no lock but even so would not stay closed. Tile grouting around bath black with dampness. On several occasions we had no hot water due to hotel boiler breaking down. Hygiene in restaurant could have been better i.e. dirty crockery. The standard of food was average and with small portions. Breakfast buffet not replenished unless asked to do so. Reception area not very welcoming. Plus points - entertainment good and staff friendly. Been to this hotel a number of years ago but this time found that the standard has gone down hill. Old hotel in need of upgrade.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BruFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 418 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

This is a Shearings hotel well in need of refurbishment.
the food is all portion controlled , deserts were still frozen in the middle, Service is not bad and the hotel has good views if you pay more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank parksey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Hotel overlooking North Bay with lovely views but hilly location posed a problem to guests with limited mobility. Restaurant service very poor. Food quality varied and was sometimes cold. Paid extra for sea-view room but this was very small and one had to climb on to a step to see the view from the small window. Entertainment each evening was OK. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

On the positive side:

Excellent location with superb views. Friendly and helpful staff, clean and well maintained rooms. Very good value for money, as a Shearings 5 day break.

But...

The one and only lift was't working when we arrived, and remained that way for the whole of our stay. And - you guessed it - we were on the top floor. Perhaps we were just unlucky.

The room, though clean and presentable, was really quite small and cramped, and the bed not particularly comfortable. The (single glazed) window suffered from condensation problems, which also affected the dining room windows. Which is a shame, as the views from both the room and the dining area are lovely when clear!

In all honesty, I can't recommend the food. Wholesome and gnerally palatable, but rather unimaginative. If you are a hearty eater, you might also think the portions rather small. The dining room was completely full at dinner on most evenings, with the result that the service was agonisingly slow. No criticism of our charming waitress intended - she was just run off her feet trying to look after everyone.

In spite of all this, we did enjoy our stay. The boisterous winds, sounds of the sea, wheeling seagulls and cool but generally sunny weather all added to the charm of the place.

Travellers tip: If you have a couple of hours to spare, and it's a nice afternoon, walk from the hotel down the cliffside road and paths to the far end of the coast road (to the wide white building in the distance in my picture of the bay). There you can catch the open top bus which takes you along the coast road, around the headland, to the South Bay, and back again. It's well worth the trip, and if, like me, you have a bus pass, it's free! If you don't fancy the walk back uphill to the hotel, a taxi will cost only about £4.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chockyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Like most people we stayed at the Norbreck on a Shearings 4night/5 day coach holiday. We are not the typical target market as we are under 50 and don't go for the entertainment but we had a great time at the Norbreck. It is a 2 star hotel but the rooms were clean, we slept fine and plenty of choice on the menu. The staff in the restaurant (who are only paid around the minimum hourly rate) were very friendly and helpful and they work very hard serving everyone as dinner is only between 6.30-7.30. There was entertainment laid on every evening if you didn't want to go out after dinner. We had one totally free day and went by bus to Pickering where we joined the North Yorkshire Moors Railway and had a great day on the Steam Trains. Minor Downsides - they seem to use a hospital type disinfectant in the bathrooms the smell of which is noticeable. The dining times are also slightly restrictive with breakfast between 8-9 and dinner 6.30-7.30 but these did not really affect our break. Also for people with limited mobility it is uphill back from the town (15-20 min walk).
You get what you pay for and although the Norbreck is not a trendy boutique hotel was excellent value for money and we had a great introduction to this part of Yorkshire with days out to York & Whitby,

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluebirdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Shearings Norbreck Hotel in Scarborough with Caledonian Travel.
The hotel is situated on a hill top next to Scarborough Castle, overlooking the North/South bays. With fantastic views this hotel is ideal for a quiet stay. That is if you have a sea view room at the front, as their is a cabaret bar at the back ,which can be quite noisy.

The hotel is not as tired as i expected. Entertainment was average with bingo, quizzes, usual jokes and singers.
Staff are friendly and attentive.
The restaurant is nice and clean with a lovely view over the bay.
Food was very good with plenty of choices for the 3 courses each day.
Three floors/ 54 rooms, serviced by one lift, not a real problem.
Our room faced the sea and was small but what do you need? bed, 2 side tables,dressing table with TV and tea/coffee facilities.

My wife took her Mobility Scooter with her with no problems what so ever.
The staff accommodated the scooter with ease, and they have a ramp into the function area.
If there is any mobility issues, I would recommend a room next to the lift.

Overall we had a excellent time at the Norbreck and will return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmyshaw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Have just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings.
Hotel very clean.
Reception and staff, Kind, helpful, pleasant could not fault.
Room sea view, large spotless, towels and sheets changed, plentiful tea coffee lashings of hot water
Food Very good service superb
Entertainment first class Excellent compare,professional and entertaining, Cabaret good.
trips good.Please yourself.Driver Nigel very helpful and obliging.
How they do it for the price?
Chris

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12172013ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
1.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $102 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing