We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“norbreck delight”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“norbreck delight”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just back from a Fri-Mon Shearings deal at the Norbreck what a great 4 days,first let me say how impressed we were by the interchange at Normanton a big improvement on Woodhall.The drinks and food there much cheaper than Woodhall and the interchange was very well organised for people and luggage toilets etc so well done Shearings.Had a great four days at the Norbreck the hotel was great we were in room 304 nice room large bathroom hot water all the time beds comfy room nice and warm tea coffee replaced daily cleaned to a great standard.Food breakfast and diner all very good 4 course Saturday night very good Gala diner trip to York driver Monica very good a credit to Shearings well done Monica.Entertainment good each night bar staff very polite and efficient a great crowd in at night made it all the better great singer Joel as good as we have ever seen but all other artiste very good.Clear weather while we were there views from hotel fantastic over bay and beyond.Food good choice each course, chef came out to have a word if required well done to him.Special thanks to Kristian our waiter what a great young man,Emma on reception very efficient and again all staff.

Room Tip: Room 304 very nice higher floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bladerunner45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Firstly can I say I will make sure your comments about the interchange get communicated to the staff there as I know they will be pleased to hear them and I will let Monica your driver know you enjoyed the service she gave. It was also lovely to read you enjoyed the service in the hotel including the food, room and entertainment. These comments will be given to the whole team at the hotel as well as the personal mentions you made. I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    168
    77
    37
    29
See reviews for
33
243
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a great 5 day break with shearing holidays, hotel is in a great position and you get a sea view from either side. Our room on the third floor was a little tired but had everything required except perhaps a flat screen modern TV, ours was ancient and only had 5 channels ( not that we watched much telly but would have been nice to have the choice ) Food was really good for a 2* always piping hot, good choice and served with a nice smile from the very hard working staff.
Entertainment was excellent. Bingo,quiz and a very funny comedian Dave Ferry, singing and dancing, so something for everyone.
Overall a good holiday and I would recommend this hotel

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NoreenandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Wild110, thank you for your review of The Norbreck Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the entertainment and the food. Our staff are very hard working and we are immensely proud of them. The views are spectacular from up on the Headland with the added benefit of being high enough up to see both bays. We are currently in the process of having the Hotel Rooms refurbished and are taking steps to improve the appearance of the Hotel and to give it a fresh feel. We hope to see you at The Norbreck again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A good winter break at affordable price. The food, entertainment , and trips ( this hotel belongs to Shearings) we're very good value and enjoyable. We liked it so much we have booked for Eastbourne next month.
. The menus gave a choice at each meal
. The hotel is a little dated but this did not detract from our enjoyment
. We made new friends in a very happy atmosphere
. The views from the hotel are spectacular as the hotel is above both bays.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear ValH, thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you have booked another stay at a Shearings Hotel. The views surrounding the hotel are wonderful and I fully agree with you regarding the wonderful atmosphere. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Very helpfull staff&very clean. Nothing was to much for them. Will defo be going back 5* Beautiful view over the bay. If you want a quiet holiday were nothing is to much trouble for the staff, then visit this hotel

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank furball1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear furball1970, Thank you for your review of The Norbreck Hotel. We are glad to hear that you will be returning to us and we are pleased that you found the staff good. We are very proud of the service that they deliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We recently visited this hotel on a Shearings holiday. The hotel is in an excellent location, being high up it has good views from both sides. Not suitable for folks with mobility issues though, as the walks down to the town are down steep streets.

Our room on the top floor was very small, but nicely decorated and had a view over the North Shore.
The major let down was the food......We have visited lots of Bay Hotels, and usually enjoy the food on offer, but the Norbreck is not one we would recommend. The food was invariable tepid....Ours had to go back and be warmed up. Twice we were told what we wanted was not available - even though we entered the dining room in plenty of time.....The Gala dinner was very poor, apart from being tepid, what we wanted was all gone...again! One course was truly awful - lumps of melon roughly hacked into some semblance of chunks and wallowing in something red! We usually have a great time with Shearings and are very easy going, but meal times here really tested our patience. It wasn't as if the place was full!

The staff were excellent throughout....Our waiter was very polite and apologetic, but it wasn't his fault!
The entertainment was first class.

Scarborough is a mixed bag, depending on what you want....
The South shore has Amusements by the score, fish 'n chip shops, charity shops, tacky pound shops, cafes....and donkey rides. Then walk up the old town narrow streets and over the top to.....

The North shore is quiet and just one long, empty curving promenade, great for taking a walk along and a nice big beach when the tide is out! There are a couple of shops and a cafe half way along and nice garden walks at the far end.

To sum up, an all round great hotel, coupled with excellent staff. Slightly let down by the dining experience.

I won't mention our driver's name, but he really was the limit....Rude, abrupt, aggressive. His motorway driving was dreadful. We were really on edge, and we were not alone in our condemnation of his general attitude.

Room Tip: The position of the hotel is such that almost all rooms should have a good view, but the North Beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Ron S, Thank you for your review of the Norbreck It is a wonderfully positioned Hotel with beautiful views of the North and South Bays. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food your comments have been passed to our chef and those who develop the menus. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and you found the staff are a credit to the hotel we have a great team here and I am very proud of the job they do for our customers. I have passed on your comments about the driver to our Transport Department and can only apologise whilst we look into this.
We hope to see you at The Norbreck again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Food good, entertainment good. Single room cold and in need of refurbishing, no bathroom toiletries, just one tiny bar of hotel soap, lift out of order for 3 days. Having said that, the staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Roger, our Shearings driver was also friendly and very knowledgeable and informative regarding the excursions to York and Whitby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pentangeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hi Pentangeli and thanks for your review. Sorry that the lift repairs spoiled your enjoyment of your break and you found your room too cold however extra heaters are available on request. It’s great to read that you found the staff excellent, friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the food & entertainment. I have a great team here who work their hardest to make our guests welcome. Our programme of refurbishment this year includes 3 single rooms being updated along with some more of our double and twin rooms. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

we have just come back from this hotel with shearings we went with two friends and must say what a great time we had the staff where very helpful and friendly the food was very good as was the service in the restuarant the rooms where clean and warm the entertainment was excellant and last but not least our driver throughout the break was roger who was great friendly funny helpful informative and i must say made our coach trips very entertaining thank you roger coach 306 throughout our break FAB U LOUS

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Stella C, Thank you so much for your positive trip advisor review. Our staff are certainly a credit to the Hotel, and Roger the coach driver is excellent at his job too. Our entertainers really make your trip special so I am very pleased that you enjoyed your evenings with us. I will pass all of your positive feedback onto the departments so that we can continue to perform to the best standards possible. Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we will see you at the Norbreck again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Property: Bay Norbreck Hotel
Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing