We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely views”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Norbreck Hotel for a weekend on a trip with Shearings, the hotel is very nice and clean, and has lovely views of the bay from both sides of the hotel, The food was nice and the staff very friendly and helpfully, the entertainment was very good in the evening.The hotel is very high overlooking the bays any-one with walking problems would find getting anywhere difficult but inside the hotel would have.. no problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeffngrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Hi jeffngrace it’s lovely to read you enjoyed your weekend with us, we are very lucky to have the position we do with the spectacular views. I will pass all your comments onto the staff who will be very happy to receive them. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 416 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We had booked and paid extra for a sea view, what we got was a single room with a double bed squeeze into it. The bath side has a whole in it mended with tape. Staff not very helpful and do not respond to a complaint. We booked this holiday through Shearing's never again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Bernice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

I’m very sorry to hear you were not attended to as you should have been and I will investigate the matter with the front of house team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

first impressions not bad we paid for sea view up grade but turned out most rooms have sea view as its on top of the headland.the food was the worst badly prepared and unedible by times and service slow.entertainment ok for o a ps. not for me.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gwolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for making your comments. Our position does allow for the majority of rooms to have a good view and supplements are charged for the rooms with the unrestricted views of the north bay. We constantly monitor the food and service and the points you have made will be raised at our catering team meeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just spent four very enjoyable days at the Norbreck Hotel in Scarborough, The food, staff and fixtures were all very good as was the entertainment in the evening. We only had two small niggles:- One was the terrible dryer /washer noise every morning and the other was the car parking that we paid for was not accessible when the coaches pulled up to the front door. If we were in the car park we couldn't get out and if we were out we couldn't get in!!!

Room Tip: Try for the front with wonderfull sea views but not over the bar or near to the generator by the din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your review David O it’s good to hear you enjoyed your break with us. The staff and entertainments team are really happy to see your comments. Sorry you were disturbed by a noise each morning I will investigate this and the issue you had with the car park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A well placed hotel with marvelous seas views. The room was clean ,comfortable and had everything we needed. Food was good although service was slow on occasion. Enjoyed the entertainment in the evenings. All round a good break and good value for money. We would come back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

It’s great to read your comments Peter H and thanks for taking the time to write them. Apologies if you found service to be slow on occasion, it is a busy time and we do our best to keep delays to a minimum for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

dont know why this hotel would have a bad review, we realy enjoyed our stay, the room was very clean and i was impressed at how clean the bedding and bed linen was. we were origanily due to stay at another hotel and due to an over booking we were moved to the norbrek, and the staff were fantastic very very helpfull and polite, we arrived back from our concert very late and the staff went out of there way to order food for us from an outside source. the breakfast was lovely and to top it off the veiws are fantastic. disregard anything bad you have heard about this hotel and give it a try, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: i stayed in 304 and the veiw was amazing. you can see for miles and miles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hi Debbie, and thanks for taking the time to write your review! I’m so glad we managed to impress you in just one night. Our staff are great and will do all they can to help. I will pass your comments onto the Housekeeping Team who will be happy to hear you liked the cleanliness of your room as will chef, to know you enjoyed your breakfast. We all look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Booked on a National Holidays weekend and should have been in the Delmont Hotel but due to over-booking we were put in the Norbreck. A lovely, clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were very clean, comfortable & up-dated and the bathroom was very spacious. Lovely view.
We only had breakfast and it was adequate, the restaurant staff were attentive & friendly. Reception staff were helpful & chatty. We would be happy to recommend this hotel as it has all you need food, entertainment, location

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hi Jane1967, have you gotten over the excitement of seeing McFly yet?. It’s great that you enjoyed your night with us and lovely to read all your positive comments about the hotel and staff. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again and stay a bit longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
1.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $102 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing