We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to this Hotel with Shearings on a 5 day break,we didn't pay extra for a sea view.But the room that we had was facing the south bay (very nice)
and it was a good size and bathroom ok, but the bath panel was broken.
We spoke to other people in the hotel and our room was by far the best,although they had Duvets on there beds and we had a blanket
we were not impressed with the food,the 1st morning the cooked Breakfast was a disaster Bacon sausage & Hash Brown had all been cooked in a deep fat fryer,and they were rock hard.So after that it was just Cereal or Ham & Poached eggs,the ham was just boiled ham rolled up.
The evening meal was nearly always cold.
Bar prices were way to high,when you could find anyone to serve you at the bar.
One of the reviews said it was the best food they have ever had,!!! It must have been a different chef that was on when we went,as everyone was saying the Food was rubbish

Room Tip: Room 314 right next to lift,but it was a good size room,and bathroom
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments Harry C. We have had some mixed reviews regarding the food at the hotel recently and we are working on this. The Bar is open throughout the day for customers who will be served by the reception staff and a dedicated bar staff member comes on duty during the evenings. I have passed your comment regarding the broken bath panel to my maintenance man who will attend to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Bay Norbreck Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 409 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

had a family weekend at this hotel have to say the hotel is a little tired and some facilities are not up to standard, food not so good. the reception staff were very friendly and helpful and made the stay pleasant. good location and lovely views of the bay .

Room Tip: lift very unreliable so request a lower floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your review Janey2013. The reception staff were very pleased to read your positive comments and they are so glad they helped make your stay pleasant. We have a rolling programme of refurbishment with a number bedrooms being updated each year. WiFi will soon be available and our new TV’s, which are installed at refurbishment, offer freeview for our guests as does the TV in the lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

we went here to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we paid extra for a room with a sea view and for hotel parking. The room was small and dirty with layers of dust around the old fashioned furniture, stains on the wall and a filthy radiator. In the bathroom the bath panel was broken with sharp edges a health and safety issue. We asked for a fan due to the hot weather and were given a filthy dirty thing.The small car park was littered with dog mess and no effort made to clean it up. Food was bland and tasteless. Its the worst hotel i have stayed in. Its a shame as it is in a good location

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I’m sorry to read you were unhappy with your stay. I will show your photos to the heads of departments so they can take action. We do have a programme of refurbishment in place and carry out general maintenance when issues are reported to us and I can only apologise that the items in your room were not rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we returned here for our 4th vist (as we keep introducing other couples to this area)
as usual a friendly greeting on arrival,we paid extra for a sea view (worth it lovely views over north bay)our room was abit cramped ----room202,our friends was a lot bigger.but it was clean and you could open the windows (which is something a lot of shearings hotels do not do )
entertainment very good ,food was not up to the usual standard of shearings Very bland vegetables and puddings not to die for

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hewitt737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

It is lovely to see a returning customer and I appreciate you writing your review. I know our entertainments team will be pleased to know you enjoyed their shows. We will keep working to improve our food for our guests and your comments are helpful for us to address specific areas. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

3 of us have just returned from a shearings 4 day break at this hotel and whilst the hotel itself was clean,warm and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, the food was inedible.
The food was bland,warm or cold.The evening meal when we had chicken breast I will not forget so easily, it was cold,tasteless with texture of cardboard,it was very difficult to swallow.We attempted breakfast and another evening meal then gave up and had our meals out.
The bar prices were expensive(when there was someone to serve you).
Luckily the bar that backs on to the hotel 'The Albion' had decent prices and good entertainment.

Room Tip: our room was overlooking the graveyard and was relatively quiet except for the seagulls.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Collette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

I am very upset to hear our chicken dish has made such a negative impact on you and that you were disappointed with the food in general. These comments will be discussed with our kitchen team so they can be resolved. It is good to see you were happy with the rest of the hotel and found the staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for five days in July. We immediately felt at home and comfortable in this hotel. The staff are extremely helpful and cannot do enough for you. Our room was a little small, but we had a gorgeous sea view (which we had paid extra for), and the room had everything we needed. The bathroom was roomy with an excellent shower. The best of all though is the food; this was the best food we have had in any Bay hotel, every meal was superb, and the waiters/waitresses were so quick and polite.I would advise anyone to paid the £5 a day for parking, as parking in the area is at a premium. We cannot fault this hotel in any way. Will definitely stay again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granLynn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

It’s great to read your wonderful review granLynn3, I am so pleased you enjoyed your week with us. Our team of staff as you say do their best for all of our guests and it is so nice to see that this was appreciated. I am most pleased to see you enjoyed the food during your stay, this is an area that we have been paying particular attention to and chef will be so happy to see your comments. I will pass all you have said on to my members of staff.
I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Recently spent a weekend at this hotel. Parking is at a premium so we opted to pay the £5.00 per night as my brother- in-law is disabled and not able to walk too far. The reception (check-in area) is quite small and there were a lot of people trying to get booked in at the same time so it was a bit of a squeeze. We had booked a room with a walk in shower for my sister and brother-in-law because of his disability and it was a really nice room, recently refurbished I would say, lovely large bath towels, walk in shower, modern bedding, flat screen T.V. and a lovely view of the beach. Our room had not been refurbished but it was nice and clean with a good sized bathroom. The bedding was a bit old fashioned but our visit was during the really hot weather so we only used the sheet as cover. There was an old style BIG T.V. but that didn't bother us as we were hardly in our rooms except to sleep. The rooms were kept nice and clean and we got clean towels every day.
The food was good with lots of choices for breakfast and evening meal and the staff in the restaurant were very polite but not overfriendly. That is probably because they were really busy all the time we were there. Most of the Bay hotels we have been to have longer meal times but this hotel had breakfast from 8.00 - 9.00 and evening meal from 6.30 - 7.30.
There was evening entertainment on the Friday and Saturday night and we enjoyed this very much. The lounge and bar area is really nice with lovely views over the North Beach All in all we had a really good weekend in a nice hotel and enjoyed great weather. The only down side was when we were leaving on the Monday morning we had an early breakfast as we had a long journey ahead of us and a coach was parked at the front door so we couldn't get our car out. We sat in the lounge for 10 minutes and then I went and asked the driver when he was leaving. He said at 9 o clock (this was 8.45 and we had already been waiting 10 minutes) and he wasn't very pleasant. He actually left at 8.55 as several people were complaining. .

Room Tip: We had room 314 and we had a magnificent view of the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeniffer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you Jennifer001 for taking the time to write your review, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your weekend break with us. The rooms we have refurbished this year do look smart and we hope to get more done next year. We are in the process of changing all the bedding to duvets as more and more of our guests now prefer this option, although we still have some who like their sheets and bedspreads. I’m glad to see you enjoyed your meals with us and found our team of staff friendly, they are really pleased when they get a mention. I can only apologise that the coach held you up on your departure morning.
I look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $101 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing