We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average price- average holiday!”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed May 25, 2013

recently returned from a 4 day holiday at norbreck hotel. everything we found was average with occasional highlights such as pleasant staff, clean towels every day. food was adequate with choices. my only criticism was rooms could be cold and no wi-fi facilities which in this day and age i feel should be addressed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigcol111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your review bigcol. It’s nice to hear you appreciated our pleasant staff and that you found the food adequate, we have introduced a new menu this week with options to suit a variety of tastes. We did experience some extreme winds the week you stayed which caused some of the hotel to be colder than usual and this meant we struggled to keep all our guests comfortable and are sorry if this affected you. Wi-Fi is something that we are currently looking into. I hope you enjoy further holidays with the group in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 442 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

hotel cold stayed 4 nights room very cold no heating on in rooms,we asked about heating the staff said the manager had turned it off and no one had the key our room was not the only room as nearly all the coach party said the same the building needs an good update ,staff running around in a confused state the only up side the cleaning very good but rest poor management, also do not seem to care about guests just ignore and they may go away

Room Tip: not sea view in cold weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 319rogerbateson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I’m sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied with your break. Due to a number of guests reporting being hot the heating had been turned off to accommodate this, guests at the front of the building reporting that their rooms were cold due to the very high winds we experienced were offered electric heaters. I can only apologise if you felt we did not care about our guests as the team at the hotel always do their best to assist guests in any way they can. I do hope this experience does not put you off travelling with Shearings again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed at the Norbreck 13-17 May 2013.
Had a great time, All services were very good. I would like to say a special thank you to the chef, the food was excellent, really good choice, his chefs specials were great, food was always hot and nicely presented. Also a thank you to our waiter Marius he was extremely efficient and always had a smile, nothing was too much trouble,( thank you young man).

Eileen Goodwin
Purley

Room Tip: My husband and I had a great time once again at the Norbrek. I got to say a great big thank you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

It was lovely to read your review Eileen & we are so pleased you had a great time. I have passed your comments on to the chef and his kitchen team who were very happy you enjoyed the food during your stay. I have also passed your thanks onto your waiter as you asked. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at the norbreck hotel 10th-13th of May. We found the hotel very comfortable and most welcoming. The staff are very helpful ,and a special mention to Louise the manageress who nothing seemed to be too much of a bother. The hotel itself was a bit tired in places and could do with a bit of a sprucing up. Our room was ok yet again it needed a little TLC but for 3 nights it was not too bad. The downside to our accommodation was the size of the bathroom it was very small, shower only. We were in room 220 and the view was fabulous of the north bay we did not ask for a sea view so it was a bonus.
The bar staff are very helpful and cheerful and are very flexible when it comes to a late drink.
The only gripe we had was the strange policy of meals in the restaurant . You are allocated a table when you go in on the first evening and that is your table for the duration of your stay. We didn't know this and got a bit across with the people whose table we sat at. They accepted our excuse and let us remain for our meal. In our opinion a very bad policy as you don't know who you are sitting with or if you get on together. Why don't the hotel tell you about this when you arrive ?. The food was good apart from my wife asked for scrambled egg on toast and it was powdered egg they replaced it with no fuss.
Would we go back again a definite yes for £198 for 3 nights half board what a bargain.
Don't bother trying to book a car parking space as these are booked well in advance.Why pay £5 per day when they sell you a ticket for the duration of your stay for £1.60 to park anywhere on the street.

Room Tip: The hotel as lifts to all floors so mobility is not a problem. I am not sure but some rooms have a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conway s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your review ‘Conway S’ and for your special mention, myself and all the staff at the hotel do try our best to make everyone’s stay enjoyable. The hotel has refurbishment planned each year to update the decor and we are due to have another 8 rooms refurbished in a couple of weeks time. The views from our North Bay facing rooms are spectacular at all times of year. Our restaurant seating policy does not often get questioned as our customers find it assuring that they have a table booked for all of their meals & enjoy meeting new people, we welcome requests for tables of 2 if our guests prefer them.
Our car parking is limited so spaces do fill quickly as guests like to guarantee they will have a space for the duration of their stay. The on-street parking is very reasonably priced but cannot be guaranteed.
I hope you enjoy many more breaks with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Friday 26th April till Monday 29th April , had a fabulous stay at the Norbreck , 4 people in our party we all said that everything about the hotel was first class ,all the staff were very polite , helpful and very friendly , the rooms were spotless , excellent choice of meals , really good entertainment all weekend , Marie the bar manageress was a workaholic , never had to wait for bar service .
We will definately go back to the Norbreck and would highly reccomend it to everybody , many thanks to all the staff and management .
Mr. & Mrs oxley , from Burnley

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your review Alonski, it’s great to hear you and your friends enjoyed your week’s break with us. I will pass all your comments onto the staff who I’m sure will be very pleased to receive them. I look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel was clean but needs refurbishing and updating. Waiting staff need to go on customer service course. The food was not good and small amounts (I'm not a big eater and went to bed hungry). If you suffer with your back then this hotel is not for you, the lounge/bar area very uncomfortable also the bed. The entertainment was like the hotel a little tired. Not sure why singles have to pay £20 more than anyone else, as there are single rooms available. If this is the Shearings standard then I will not be booking with them again.

Room Tip: higher rooms and south side were quieter except for the seagulls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Jammydodger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback you have given and are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. As you can see from comments made below by our other recent guests the hotel is usually very popular and our staff are highly praised. We strive to upgrade a proportion of our rooms each year and will take all comments into consideration with regards to our food & entertainment that we receive. Our lounge has 3 different styles of seating to accommodate our guests needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I visited the hotel for 5 days with shearings coaches.The hotel overall was clean and comfortable,our shower had no hot weather,I reported it and it was dealt with very swiftly.We had a lovely sea view and the staff were very efficient and friendly,we even had a power cut but the staff managed it very well.
My only dissapointment was the meals I feel the soup and porridge had been waterd down,and portion size between two of us was not enough,dont get me wrong, choice was good,although the look of some was not very appertising in particular the fish pie.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babeUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and staff, they were all pleased to hear them. The power cut did cause a bit of a blip in service but as you say we managed it well and I believe everyone still got some cooked breakfast. I have taken onboard your comments about the food presentation and quality and will be reviewing these with the chef. We do try to cater for many different appetites and are sorry you felt you did not get large enough portions. I hope you enjoy further coaching holiday breaks with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#10 of 26 in Scarborough
470 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,003 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $69 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing