We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay at the Norbreck”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed 14th-18th Jan and were pleasantly surprised with everthing the hotel had to offer. Room 301 afforded good views of the north bay and the extra electric radiator was welcome as the outside temperature didn't rise much above freezing during our stay. The only downsides were the lack of water pressure to the shower and the old fashioned TV set with limited channels.
The meals were standard British fare - full english breakfast, with a decent sausage!, and a good choice of cereals, fruit juice, yoghurts and toast to finish.The evening meal was four courses, typically soup, meat, a chef's special,,followed by a sweet or biscuits and cheese, then coffee.The meals, though simple, were hot and tasty and of ample portions.

We were most impressed with the high standard of entertainment every night,a good mix of quizzes,bingo,comedy,singing and a drag act!
The bar could have been a bit bigger as the chap serving the drinks was rushed off his feet,that said we didn't have to wait long to be served.
Our coach driver Geoff was brilliant and kept us entertained on our journey there and back and also our two outings,one to York and one to Whitby.
To sum up a brilliant 5 day break,especially with the free drinks vouchers (four each per day) which can be used for branded beers,spirits, soft drinks or tea and coffee .
For sheer value for money(£99) each, this holiday cannot be beaten.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the third floor overlooking the bay.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CybilSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenTattersall, Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you Cybil for taking the time to post this review it is lovely to hear that you were pleased with everything we have to offer here at the hotel and as you say we do have lovely views of the North Bay here at The Norbreck.
The chef was pleased to know that you enjoyed your meals during your stay as was
Daniel and the entertainments team who were also thrilled to hear that you were impressed with the good mix of entertainment they provide.
The bar staff do work very hard serving people as quickly as they can and with the drinks vouchers it does indeed, at times get busy.
Geoff will also be pleased to hear your comments and that he also kept you entertained on your journeys and excursions out.
We look forward to welcoming you back here at the hotel and Scarborough at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Bay Norbreck Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 409 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable weekend. My last visit to this hotel was 5years ago was really pleased with the improvements since my last visit. Had a lovely seaview room which was very clean and comfortable The bathroom was big and had been refurbished since my last visit. The meals were good the service was very good. There was nightly enterrtainment which was very enjoyable which was very clean. Daniel the compere was excellent he went round every table to introduce his self and welcome everyone. Unfortunately we had to miss our last night of our break due to illness. We will be returning in the near future because we enjoyed our time there and can highly recommend this hotel for good value for money.

Room Tip: Excellent views from sea view rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob43cleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenTattersall, Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you Bob43cleethorpes for your lovely comments it is great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break with us.
I am glad to hear that you are pleased with the improvements since your last visit 5 years ago.
The kitchen and restaurant teams were also pleased with your comments as was
Daniel who does make everyone feel welcome.
I am sorry that you had to miss your last night and we look forward to welcoming you back here at the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My sister & I had our second Christmas at the Norbreck & I have to say,we had a great time again.Rooms were warm & clean,with everything you need in them,Staff were always friendly & happy to help.Flora our waitress although always busy,really looked after us.The food maybe wasn't quite as good as last year,but still had a good choice & enjoyable.To us the best part of our stay & everyone else agreed, is the entertainment.Daniel was his usual brilliant self.He gets everybody joining in,whether it's playing bingo,singing along with him,or reindeer racing (Christmas day).The Norbreck just wouldn't be as good without him.Also just got to mention,a really great comedian,who had everyone in stitches & we ached with laughing so much.So thank you Joey Howard & the Norbreck for another great Christmas.Hope to see you all again in December.If not before.

Room Tip: Twice we have had room 204.We paid extra for a sea view,but well worth it.Away from the lift ,so not...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenTattersall, Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you Kath for your lovely comments and is great to hear that you enjoyed your second Christmas break with us.
I have passed on your comments to all the team and they were thrilled with your comments as was Flora in the restaurant knowing that you appreciated all her hard work.
Daniel our entertainment host was also thrilled that you enjoyed the entertainment program. Joey Howard is indeed a great comedian and always has everyone in stitches.
Thank you again for your great comments and we do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our second Christmas stay at the Norbreck.
Impressed with the refurbished bedroom.
Staff were friendly and as attentive as usual.
Great entertainment and Daniel is a star performer and puts the smile into Christmas.
Poor quality of the food was very disappointing and bore no comparison to last years festive delicacies. Bit of a dining disaster.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenTattersall, Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments Bryan D, its great to hear that you enjoyed your second Christmas stay with us and that you were impressed with the refurbished bedroom.
We do have a great team here and they were all pleased with your comments, as was Daniel who is a star performer as you state.
I can only apologise that you were unhappy with the food during your stay and your comments have been discussed with our chef.
We do look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had a weekend break here with National holidays,had a lovely time, hotel was great with
friendly staff. We were lucky to have some great entertainment [Dave Ferry& Daniel] at nighttime,The bedroom and the bathroom were kept nip and clean by Sheila,the food was fantastic,did not expect that after reading some reviews so they must have got their act together,The dining staff were the best;Young David & Stacey were great, so proficient in there work, nothing troubled them,made you feel special My friend needed a room with a walk in shower and the duty mnager Trish furnished one for him no problem.the niceness of the staff added to some of the nicest guests Well worth a look. Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank gjr1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments gjr1952, it's great to hear you enjoyed your weekend break with us. I have passed your comments onto Sheila, Stacey, David, Trish & the entertainments team who were all thrilled to know you mentioned them. I hope you enjoy many more breaks with us in the future. Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

stayed here with my partner the food was terrible extremley small portions and poorly cooked when i questioned this i was told it was because mostly elderly used the hotel and they didnt eat much! had no hot water for 2 days and no shower! the couple in the next table went home after 2 days due to the poor service. met some nice people in the hotel but if it wasnt for the fact we found a nice restaurant to eat we would have been very hungry! wont be useing shearings again i didnt expect al la carte but i did expect good basic service this we didnt get

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bpoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for posting your comments. I am sorry you did not enjoy your weekend with us. We do our best to accommodate the requirements of all our customers and can only apologise if our service and standards were not to your tastes. We have taken into consideration all your comments and have reviewed these with our Head of Departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Had a weekend break here with 5 friends the hotel needs a refurb especially the bedrooms,the bathroom was clean with a good shower ,towels were changed each day.The evening entertainment was very good.The food dreadful the worst poorly cooked tasteless food we have ever tasted,most people were talking about it,even people who were returning guests, if you don't want to go hungry avoid this, we ate out at lunch.the breakfasts were ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank minnieDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. I can only apologise that you were unhappy with the food during your stay and your comments have been discussed with our chef. The entertainments team were pleased to hear you enjoyed the program that week. We carry out a program of periodic refurbishment to our bedrooms and bathrooms which is due to continue in the new year, having had some bedrooms and the outside of the hotel decorated just a few months ago. I do hope you enjoy any further breaks with Bay Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $101 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing