We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Christmas at the Norbreck”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
east yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another great Christmas at the Norbreck”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My sister & I had our second Christmas at the Norbreck & I have to say,we had a great time again.Rooms were warm & clean,with everything you need in them,Staff were always friendly & happy to help.Flora our waitress although always busy,really looked after us.The food maybe wasn't quite as good as last year,but still had a good choice & enjoyable.To us the best part of our stay & everyone else agreed, is the entertainment.Daniel was his usual brilliant self.He gets everybody joining in,whether it's playing bingo,singing along with him,or reindeer racing (Christmas day).The Norbreck just wouldn't be as good without him.Also just got to mention,a really great comedian,who had everyone in stitches & we ached with laughing so much.So thank you Joey Howard & the Norbreck for another great Christmas.Hope to see you all again in December.If not before.

Room Tip: Twice we have had room 204.We paid extra for a sea view,but well worth it.Away from the lift ,so not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenTattersall, Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you Kath for your lovely comments and is great to hear that you enjoyed your second Christmas break with us.
I have passed on your comments to all the team and they were thrilled with your comments as was Flora in the restaurant knowing that you appreciated all her hard work.
Daniel our entertainment host was also thrilled that you enjoyed the entertainment program. Joey Howard is indeed a great comedian and always has everyone in stitches.
Thank you again for your great comments and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    170
    78
    38
    29
See reviews for
34
246
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our second Christmas stay at the Norbreck.
Impressed with the refurbished bedroom.
Staff were friendly and as attentive as usual.
Great entertainment and Daniel is a star performer and puts the smile into Christmas.
Poor quality of the food was very disappointing and bore no comparison to last years festive delicacies. Bit of a dining disaster.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenTattersall, Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments Bryan D, its great to hear that you enjoyed your second Christmas stay with us and that you were impressed with the refurbished bedroom.
We do have a great team here and they were all pleased with your comments, as was Daniel who is a star performer as you state.
I can only apologise that you were unhappy with the food during your stay and your comments have been discussed with our chef.
We do look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had a weekend break here with National holidays,had a lovely time, hotel was great with
friendly staff. We were lucky to have some great entertainment [Dave Ferry& Daniel] at nighttime,The bedroom and the bathroom were kept nip and clean by Sheila,the food was fantastic,did not expect that after reading some reviews so they must have got their act together,The dining staff were the best;Young David & Stacey were great, so proficient in there work, nothing troubled them,made you feel special My friend needed a room with a walk in shower and the duty mnager Trish furnished one for him no problem.the niceness of the staff added to some of the nicest guests Well worth a look. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank gjr1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments gjr1952, it's great to hear you enjoyed your weekend break with us. I have passed your comments onto Sheila, Stacey, David, Trish & the entertainments team who were all thrilled to know you mentioned them. I hope you enjoy many more breaks with us in the future. Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

stayed here with my partner the food was terrible extremley small portions and poorly cooked when i questioned this i was told it was because mostly elderly used the hotel and they didnt eat much! had no hot water for 2 days and no shower! the couple in the next table went home after 2 days due to the poor service. met some nice people in the hotel but if it wasnt for the fact we found a nice restaurant to eat we would have been very hungry! wont be useing shearings again i didnt expect al la carte but i did expect good basic service this we didnt get

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bpoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments. I am sorry you did not enjoy your weekend with us. We do our best to accommodate the requirements of all our customers and can only apologise if our service and standards were not to your tastes. We have taken into consideration all your comments and have reviewed these with our Head of Departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Had a weekend break here with 5 friends the hotel needs a refurb especially the bedrooms,the bathroom was clean with a good shower ,towels were changed each day.The evening entertainment was very good.The food dreadful the worst poorly cooked tasteless food we have ever tasted,most people were talking about it,even people who were returning guests, if you don't want to go hungry avoid this, we ate out at lunch.the breakfasts were ok.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank minnieDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. I can only apologise that you were unhappy with the food during your stay and your comments have been discussed with our chef. The entertainments team were pleased to hear you enjoyed the program that week. We carry out a program of periodic refurbishment to our bedrooms and bathrooms which is due to continue in the new year, having had some bedrooms and the outside of the hotel decorated just a few months ago. I do hope you enjoy any further breaks with Bay Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the Norbreck with Shearings. We had a lovely time, hotel was warm, very warm! clean and lovely friendly staff. We were unable to upgrade to a room with a seaview, however, we had a view of the church and partial sea view, all be it through the iron fire escape! Our room was only cleaned once during our stay but it wasn't a problem. Also met some really lovely people, very happy and jolly! Especially Valentine and Colin whom we shared our meal table with. Would most certainly do this trip and any other with Shearings again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fussyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments fussyanna, it's lovely to hear you enjoyed your short break with us. We are very appreciative of the views which we have from the hotel over the gorgeous North Bay and accross St Mary's Church to the South Bay. Our housekeeping staff do work everyday and i can only apologise if they did not service your room each day as they should have. We look forward to welcoming you at the hotel again and hope you enjoy any further holidays that are featured in our brochures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Norbreck Hotel on a Shearings self drive for 4 nights in November. We received a warm and friendly welcome on arrival from the reception staff. The room was clean and met all our requirements with tv, drink making facilities and a lovely sea view. The food was good, and staff were very accomodating when finding alternative choices to menu items. We had entertainment every night (some good, some not so good). All the staff were very friendly and helpfull. We had a waitress called Jenna who was brilliant and really looked after us. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff through out the hotel. Hotel was clean and very warm through out which was welcomed as it was cold outside. Would recommend and revisit. Keep up the good work.
Thanks again for your hospitality. Ana & John (Maple Lodge Skeggy)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you Ana and John for taking the time to send in your review. We do try to give all our customers a warm welcome, especially in the cold weather as November is turning out to be. Jenna was very pleased to see what you wrote about her and her service in the restaurant as were the rest of the staff when i passed on your comments. Our entertainments do vary night to night to cater for all tastes so there is almost always something to suit everyone during the week. I hope to see you back in Scarborough in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Property: Bay Norbreck Hotel
Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing