We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

After reading a review of this hotel i feel i have to write one of my own! This hotel has beautiful views overlooking the sea, The staff were all very friendly and couldnt do enough for us, the rooms were very clean and lovely and warm we had radiators and we had to turn them off and it was freezing outside, the food was lovely plenty to choose from and served piping hot we honestly couldnt fault it and for the price we paid i really dont know how they do it, some people just want to moan about everything you see them on t.v looking behind the bed for dust all i can say is stop moaning about every little thing and start enjoying whats there to be enjoyed. we had a day out in York an enjoyable day it was too ty shearings lovely cheap and friendly what more can anyone ask for!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanetteGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    166
    74
    36
    28
See reviews for
33
239
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is a Shearings hotel which can be booked online as a self-drive. Prices vary throughout the year.

Excellent room, average food, free drinks in the evening!

Bridlington and Whitby within easy reach and well worth a visit

Room Tip: Online booking gikves you several options e.g. close to lift, bath, quiet room etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Feb 2012 the hotel needs a commplete refurb.rooms cold dreary, food was of a poor standard
when you got it, waited 45 mins for breakfast, dinning room a disgrace cold full of condensation dirty poorly run by the staff.Rooms of a very poor standard heating not working, draughty single glazed windows, Management found it difficult to sort problems.
First holiday with shearings and the last. But the coach driver (Roger was first class )
Not a pleasant exsperiance.

Room Tip: look before you buy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ken l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Wigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

First and foremost I must say how friendly and helpful all the staff were.The rooms were all a decent size and clean. The food was very good as was the entertainment. Must say it was excellent value for money.Also the position of the hotel was out of this world with views to die for. I think I am correct in saying that every room has a sea view,either south or north bay.
I must add, you must pay a price for this position, it is not really suitable for people who are not very mobile, unless you are prepared to use taxis. The all inclusive option has now ceased to be, replaced by a 4drinks per guest voucher system, commencing 21/02/2012

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FRANKOWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

an excelent four day break a little cold in the bedroom at night but an aditional electric
heater was provided so it was ok. food was very good with choice of menu, the inclusive
bar in the evening was very good did not take long to get served,entertainment was
excelent. trip to york on sunday very good ( andy the driver ) & £5 extra for the guide.
unbeatable value for money.

Room Tip: sea view best but good views all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Just got back from our 5 day trip to freezing cold Scarborough!! Nothing freezing about our hotel though, it did drop cold in the night but it was about -8 outside, extra blankets were provided in case you needed them.
First of all a great thank you to out drivers on the trip,especially Kevin for his and 2 other drivers leaving Whitby on a very snowy thursday afternoon,for their very safe driving on snowy roads.
The hotel was clean and bright, the staff were great, very polite,and very helpful,the rooms were spotless,only problem was a little bit of wallpaper that wanted sticking down.The water was piping hot and the bathrooms had been refurbished with what looked like new equipment,lovely white towels etc.
The food choice was excellent, could do with a few of the recipes myself,the staff in the dining room were very efficient and polite.
The evening entertainment was also excellent, ALL were very very good, and everyone enjoyed the shows that were put on.
Another great time with Shearings, many many thanks...

Room Tip: We had 3 single rooms and all were of a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jennielHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmnor, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Jennie Huddersfield, you certianly did pick a cold weekend to visit Scarborough! The hotel was kept nice and warm and welcome retreat from the harsh wnter weather. I'll pass your remarks on to Jamie the Head Chef who will be thrilled you enjoyed his meals, and am sure he'll be happy to pass them on to you on your next visit!
kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

My friend and I really enjoyed our 5 day break at this hotel. The menu for breakfast and for dinner was very good, more choice than I would have expected and the waiting staff very polite and helpful. Also the evening entertainment was excellent. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beruwela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmnor, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
A lovely review the kitchen and restuarant team will welcome your comments regarding the choice and variety of food.
Regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
421 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,617 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,303 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Property: Bay Norbreck Hotel
Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing