We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay in Scarborough with family.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Lantern

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PBORRELL
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect stay in Scarborough with family.”
Reviewed July 15, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The property was excellent and ideal for our needs; my wife and I, with daughter, husband and our grandson had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in Scarborough, in no small measure due to the quality and location of The Lantern.
Facilities were all that you could ask for in a holiday property and its location could not be bettered. Situated very close to Peasholm Park, it made access to the Sea Life Centre, the North Shore Railway, the North Bay and even the South Bay very easy. Equally, within 5 minutes you were on the road to Whitby, and the North Yorkshire Moors. In addition at the end of the road could be found an excellent restaurant, a coffee house, an excellent fish and chip shop, an excellent sandwich shop and a very useful corner shops selling most things that you may run short of on holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2018
Thank you so much for the informative review, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola D
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Perfect House in Perfect Situation”
Reviewed March 15, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We visited as a family of five adults and 3 children for 3 nights in March. There is off road parking for 1 car right next to the back door and on street parking for additional cars (parking discs and permits were left for us in the house) The Lantern is a fabulous place to stay, lovely, modern décor and furnishings. There is great attention to detail. I particularly liked the light fittings!

The long hallway is particularly useful for leaving shoes (and we had a lot of shoes between us) and hopefully sand and general muck as it was quite wet when we stayed! The beds are comfortable with nice linen and the towels were all good quality. There was a good selection of toys for our children, a high chair and a travel cot. The lovely kitchen is well equipped, tea, coffee and sugar and some milk provided, and even a packet of biscuits which was really thoughtful!

There is a lovely family bathroom with bath and shower, and an en-suite shower room (although the very hot water could not be easily regulated).

The house is perfectly situated, close to the local corner shop, fish and chip shop, Peasholm Park (though unfortunately closed for a re-vamp at the time of our visit), North Bay Railway (to Scalby Mills and the Sea Life Centre), open air theatre and the North Bay beach.

I would definitely recommend The Lantern and hope to stay again at some time in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2018
Hi Nicola thank you for sharing your experience, we are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for letting us know about the hot water we will have this checked as were not aware. We would love to host you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charis200...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday House”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed at The Lantern for 3 nights for New Year We were 2 family's of 4. We all absolutely loved the house and the location couldn't have been better. The house was spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated through out. We used the Chinese take away the first night and the other 2 evenings my Husband cooked, there was everything You needed. We would definitely love to stay again in this superb house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2018
Hi Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
1 review
“The lantern”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Fantastic house - beautifully decorated and lots of thought given to making it a welcome stay. Milk in the fridge and biscuits in the cupboard - little extras count! Great location - would defo recommend and would stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We love to hear you enjoyed your break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ames6583
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab sunny weekend in Scarborough ”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our party of 4 adults and 3 children have just returned from our weekend away in Scarborough, and at The Lantern.

The house offered everything that we needed and was immaculately clean and well kept. The decor is modern and neutral and the location was perfect, a great base for the beach and Peasholme Park. There was a 'One Stop' shop at the bottom of the road as well as couple of cafes and a fish and chip shop.

We would definitely recommend The Lantern, and wouldn't hesitate in booking it again if we go back to Scarborough.

Thank you to Paula and Mark for their hospitality :)

Amy, Mark & Megan
Louise, Simon, George & William xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
Thank you very much for this lovely review, we have only just seen it for some reason. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpacke...
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“By far the nicest holiday home I've ever rented.”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What an impressive home away from home set up.

With a fabulous location, a lovely interior feel and a wonderful and friendly host, The Lantern really does deliver an exceptional experience.

I/we loved it so much that I've booked back in for another visit in 10 days time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Practically perfect in every way!”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Lantern is one of the nicest houses we have stayed in. Great size for our family, everything you could possibly want from a holiday rental. The house is finished to a very high standard and has everything you could need for a relaxing break. We would certainly look at staying here again next time in Scarborough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your time at the Lantern. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing