We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip up North” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Ranked #89 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Trip up North”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Derek was very friendly and cooked us a brilliant breakfast, the quality of the food was beautiful. Room was clean and had all amenities, bit of a walk to the seafront and to the local attractions but good quality for money. The bar was nice too, good to chill out in after being out in the cold!! Thanks for a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AimzAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    34
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
26
31
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

only stayed here for one night but was very impressed, Derek showed us our room which was very nice, and very clean tea/coffee and biscuits, the little touches make a difference,breakfast was delicious all freshly cooked, would certainly pay a return visit, thankyou.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mags9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

First visit to Scarborough, the location is great, Derek and Jen are super friendly and helpful, they can't do enough for you! Our room was really warm and clean and the breakfast was amazing! Would definitely stay again, it was a fantastic way to bring in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieButtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here as my daughter had an interview at the University early on the Saturday morning. We arrive straight from work on the Friday night and were met by the owner who showed us to our rooms and checked our requirements for breakfast. The owner advised that he did bar meals which we had not expected. He served us drinks from the bar and then cooked us our food. Chips were homemade and the meal great value for money. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and breakfast was a great start to the day. This break was very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Booked this B&B just for one night & it was a great spot on the South Bay. Perfect for the gardens, lifts & views if harbour & castle.
We arrived before the 2pm check-in time & could park outside at a little cost of £2 for a ticket.
Room was comfy & spacious. Tea making facilities, yummy biscuits & tv with all the options.
Only slight moan, sorry, was that it was full fat UHT milk on the tea tray & because we arrived earlier at 12pm & not 2pm I got the feeling that we had put out the owner, even though our room was ready. Not the warm welcome I was hoping... But very minor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We return every july and always have a good stay the rooms are clean the breakfast is the best ever and the bar is nice to relax in with bar food if you fancy also nice . The only problem some people may struggle with is the steps are steep and no loo in bar when had a few due to old building . Derek is one amazing man x x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynbretton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Good to find a B&B that was happy to take a booking for a Friday night only. The location was convenient, parking outside was no problem with a parking disc provided by the owners. A friendly welcome on arrival and a helpful introduction to the facilities in the room. The room was compact but clean and comfortable with everything needed for an overnight stay. Breakfast was freshly cooked with friendly, efficient service. Would stay again if visiting Scarborough in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 149Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.6 mi away
Green Gables Hotel
Green Gables Hotel
#107 of 184 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#44 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Oakwheel Inn
The Oakwheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Burniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#46 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Gardens Hotel

Property: Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Address: 24 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Gardens is a family run, non-smoking guesthouse built in the Victorian era; a Scarborough guesthouse of great charm and warm hospitality, in an outstanding location. We are open all year round and provide attractively decorated, clean, comfortable rooms, a hearty breakfast and a friendly lounge bar serving bar snacks for our guests. The Esplanade Gardens is situated just 200 yards from the cliff lift down to the Spa Complex and just a 15-minute walk from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Esplanade Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing