We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Ranked #87 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Spent bank holiday weekend at this guest house,late booking and room was on top floor in the aticc somewhat small but still fine for 2 adults and child.Very clean room and bathroom,tea and coffee facilities in room.Breakfast very good ,cooked fresh also a nice selection of cereals and a very nice fresh fruit salad (unusual for a small guest house).
Only probelm was the seagulls but thats not the guest houses fault.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevep1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 101 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wonderful breakfasts and the owners are helpful and accommodating. A great place for anyone on their own as there is no single room supplement and to have a clean and bright single room with all one needs for a great holiday for just £32 per night is amazing value. The flight of stairs was no problem to this almost fit visitor! The location is excellent, near to all amenities with good flat access to the cliff lift to the sea front. Great to be able to get a selection of bar meals too if one doesn't wish to go out in the evening. This place is well worth a visit and you'll find yourself going back again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Diana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Yes, the room was very small, but it was spotlessly clean. The proprietors were friendly and the breakfast superb. At £32 per person, our stay was excellent value.

As for the seagulls, they were noisy, but that's hardly the fault of the proprietors. I wore earplugs, which solved the problem. Alternatively, you could spend a small fortune on a hotel room that has air con so you can keep the windows shut!

Car parking wasn't a problem, even on a bank holiday weekend; it may not be possible to park right outside the B and B, but you'll be able to find a space on the next street. A parking permit is available from Derek, the proprietor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have stayed in this bed and breakfast for a few times. The service has always been excellent and the breakfast has always been amazing. They have unbeatable fruit salad and cooked breakfast! I like the owners as they are genuine and honest people.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked this b&b for the location -half way between Olivers Mount and Scarborough and for that reason it was great. However, I wouldn't suggest staying here if you want to be able to move around the room, it was tiny! I think that we had the smallest room in the building, but it shouldn't have been classed as a double. Just because you can fit a double bed in it, doesn't mean there should be one there! it's definitely more suited to being a single.The wardrobe doesn't open properly because it hits the corner of the bed and it's a squeeze if both of you are standing up on the same side of the bed.
No fan provided in the middle of a heatwave, so we had to leave our window open all day and night -not very secure. The mattress was ok, but because we had to keep the window open, we were woken up regularly by seagulls!

In the bathroom / cupboard, there are about 3 inches between your knees and the shower door when you're sitting down and the basin is in the bedroom. The door to the bathroom really belongs on a room that needs less privacy. The main issue with the shower was the lack of space and the water temperature was fine, then presumably someone in the building turned on a tap and it was scalding/freezing. This wouldn't be an issue, but due to the lack of space, there was no-where to escape to when you wanted to get away from being scalded!

The decor of the room was dated, the wallpaper was beginning to peel and the carpet was fraying and dirty in places. Also, my towel had a yellow stain on it. This b&b needs a real overhaul and by a professional - it had a real 'botched job' feel to it.

The breakfast was good - fruit salad, cereals and a choice of 6 locally produced items from a cooked breakfast menu. Nice coffee and the lady serving was friendly and polite.

Parking was on street with a permit given to us by the proprietor, once we found a space, we stayed in it and walked everywhere (nothing was far away, and it's a nice walk into Scarborough).

I'm not sure what the other rooms are like, so I don't want to put anyone off as it is a cheaply priced b&b in a good location, but avoid room 2 and take your own fan if it's hot!

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone, room 2 will be ok, but it is not good for 2 people, it's very pokey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds and excellent breakfast. Derrick (proprietor) was very nice and accomodating, ringing for our taxi and taking our photos. The breakfast was excellent, fresh fruit salad, cereal and full english. Menu cards had to be filled in the night before, no problem for us. Would highly recommend this hotel, the only down side was that we only stayed one night, we will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been a regular visitor to Scarborough over many years in summer and have stayed a quite a few guest houses etc in that time with varied experiences.

I booked a single room directly by telephone with the owner 3 days prior to going for an overnight stay this last weekend as I was going to a music festival in Whitby on the Saturday night. (There was a credit card charge incurred and it seems that full payment was going to be drawn from the card immediately by the proprietor).

On arrivalI was able to leave my bags there on Saturday morning, was given got a parking zone docket for £2 from the hotel.

I didnt particularly find the proprietors very welcoming, the property is typically dated, location is on the south side of town cliff top overlooking the spa theatre area, which I thought was fine.

The single room was ok, but has a modern shower unit fitted into it which made it even smaller

The toilet is on the same landing with its own key.

I would say breakfast was pretty much as a norm, and guests are asked to complete a menu card to order. I did particularly like the fresh fruit salad bowl that was included with the breakfast.

I makes you wonder though, that for a now typical charge £32 pppn for B&B, in dated buildings, with the bare basic facilities, from my own experience you would get a reasonable 3 star hotel with B&B in many parts of the Med, with swimming pool, etc, and of course something we cant control in the UK, there would be the climate advantage.

I did feel that there just wasn't a welcoming feel to the place, maybe that was just something personal, or they may have thought I was a mystery shopper. :o))

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank velocity50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powys Lodge
Powys Lodge
#29 of 184 in Scarborough
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#63 of 184 in Scarborough
216 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Oakwheel Inn
The Oakwheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Burniston
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#27 of 184 in Scarborough
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Gardens Hotel

Address: 24 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $76 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Gardens is a family run, non-smoking guesthouse built in the Victorian era; a Scarborough guesthouse of great charm and warm hospitality, in an outstanding location. We are open all year round and provide attractively decorated, clean, comfortable rooms, a hearty breakfast and a friendly lounge bar serving bar snacks for our guests. The Esplanade Gardens is situated just 200 yards from the cliff lift down to the Spa Complex and just a 15-minute walk from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Esplanade Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing