We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that a little hotel should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Ranked #91 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All that a little hotel should be”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Very friendly family-run hotel with perfectionist tendencies! Very clean, breakfasts excellent. Obliging and helpful with our needs. Very good value and highly recommended. We will certainly return next time we are in Scarborough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    34
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
26
32
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Esplanade Gardens Hotel....where do I start! Well we have just came back this afternoon (after telephoning the bus company to collect our party (14 adults and children) 3 hours earlier than planned, due to us wanting/needing to get out of B&B). We arrived on Friday lunch time, and did not get the "warm and friendly welcome" mentioned in their brochure/leaflet. Never mind ,this wasn't going to spoil our first day. We had to find our rooms ourselves, owner did not offer to help with any bags etc up several flights of stairs, despite single women with small children/babies etc, and barely spoke three sentences to us all. Our room was ok for the price but my auntys room was dirty looking and shabby looking. I didn't like the extractor fans coming out of cupboard type bathroom straight into bedroom - but guess that is only option if impossible to have bathroom window. We went into the bar and felt like Derek was the built in CCTV, he stood over us and made us feel soooo uncomfortable to the point we all sat in silence. He was following the kids (aged 3 and 1) like a hawk as if they were going to destory the place or something. Tea and coffee facilities in the room was a pure joke - only 4 sachets of milk, 3 tea bags (and sugar which we don't use) and when we asked for more milk we were handed 4 more sachets with a tutt!! If we asked for milk/tea etc we were greeted with tutts and eye rolling etc. Breakfast time was horrible - we had to wait over half an hour for our preordered breakfast with the kids getting impatient, Jenny never spoke as she served...oh sorry she did "tea or coffee?" and that was it!!! The breakfast service was slow and with an atmosphere or should I say lack of atmosphere but the food itself was nice. This B&B was meant to be family friendly yet those in our group with kids felt like we had to keep kids locked away in our room and silent - Derek and Jenny weren't friendly to the adult guests never mind the kids. My husband tried to make conversation with Derek (apart from breakfast we never saw Jenny) but we were either ignored or got very little response. Everything we asked for, from more milk or to use a toilet (after handing our keys in earlier today) we felt like we were just an nuisance to them. This is just a few of my negatives and could still go on but I won't. It cost us £650 for 2 nights and we feel like we were robbed. Had great time in Scarborough but the whole experience of B&B was appauling. It was £30 pppn in our eyes £29 pppn too much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jemma1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here with 4 other couples for a night in June. The rooms were clean and recently decorated with freeview, flat screen tv's in. The beds were comfortable and the breakfasts tasty and hearty with a choice of 6 items for the cooked breakfast, along with toast and cereals....although it was a bit early for us (8am-9am).
We each received our own keys to the hotel, as we weren't returning
till after midnight, which was good, and they also booked taxis for us.
On the whole, the stay was enjoyable, and we will be stopping there again next year.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollylolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We (myself, partner and mum) stayed for 2 nights in a twin and single room. Both roooms were a good size and clean, with toiletries provided in the en-suite.
The breakfast was delicious - lovely fresh fruit and cereals, plus a very good choice of local produce (and the source is quoted on their breakfast menu) which is always appreciated and something we actively look for when booking somewhere to stay.
We would recommend to family and friends, and would stay again if we're back in the Scarborough area. The free parking permit we were given for our stay was also a nice touch. We paid £29.00 pppn (including breakfast) which was good value for August, and no single room supplement which is great! The location is excellent for visiting Scarborough - nice and quiet but a short walk to the centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We arrived on a Friday night to be greeted by an owner (after having had to ring the bell to get in at 8.30pm) who handed us a registration form and breakfast form to fill in. There was no reception so we were expected to fill them in in our room. There was not enough room for two people to be stood up at the same time in the room it was so small.
The service at breakfast was awful, which we let go, but when we returned after a day out, it appeared that the room had not been serviced as the used cups had not been cleaned, nor had the bed been made. However someone had been in the room to retrieve the glasses we had used from the bar, and to give us another packet of biscuits.
This all topped off by the fact that we were requested to pay an extra £2.50 to pay by credit card and 50p by debit card means we will definitely not be stopping there again.
Would also agree that the visitors' book comments must have been written by the proprietor's family as this hotel is rotten! Don't be tempted by the price!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandd_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekquy, Owner at Esplanade Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2009
In response to this review. The inside door of the B & B is always kept locked for Safety and security reasons. We often have families staying and this prevents young children from wandering out of the guest house without parents knowledge and also its prevents just anyone from coming onto the premises. Guests will always have keys which gives them no restrictions on what time they come in. All guests are asked to fill a registration form in by law and the breakfast menu ensures that our guests receive a cooked breakfast with the items on that they like (this prevents waste). Does it really matter that you have to fill these in on the hallway desk or in your room ? We have no rooms available where 2 people carn't stand up in. All the rooms you can stand up in. The rooms are serviced daily. The bins are emptied, teas & coffees topped up (and biscuits) and beds are normally made as long as there are no personal items left all over the bed ie clothes,bags, money etc (we won't touch your personal items). We are sorry that we forgot to rinse your cups out for you. We do charge for using credit/debit cards to pay for your room however, the charges are £1 for credit/50p for debit cards and not £2.50 for credit as stated in this review. You can of course pay by cash or cheque(with your guarentee card) without charge. We have had our annual inspection by Visit England this year (mystery inspector) for which we received a 3 star rating. The inspector particularly commented on the cleanliness of the Guest house and the qaulity of the breakfast for which we use all local produce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We would recommend a stay at this hotel. Nice rooms, nicely decorated bar and dining room.
Resonably priced. Quiet and close to hill cliff tram to espanade

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Scunny
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Have just returned from a weekend break in Scarborough, we stayed 2 nights at the Esplanade Gardens Hotel. We were met on arrival by the host who was friendly and explained how everything worked before showing us to our room, which was spacious, light and airy but also warm and inviting with some beautiful original victorian ceiling mouldings. The ensuite was larger than your average B&B ensuite and very clean. The cooked breakfast is pre-ordered each evening, and was good with most of the ingredients being sourced locally, along with the usual cereal and a lovely fresh fruit salad type thing. It has a nice bar with comfy sofas as well as some tables and chairs and is reasonably priced. The parking is on street via parking permit supplied by the hotel. The hotel is situated about 200 yards from the clift lift at the spa and from there its about a 10 minute walk around the south bay and into the harbour, so ideally placed if you are visiting the spa itself or south bay's attractions. Note though that the clift lift closes about 6.00pm so its a much a longer walk back to the hotel if its not operating, although that said it is open late if there is a function on in the spa, it was open til 1.30pm the second night we were there. All in all value for money and I would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv-the-lights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Powys Lodge
Powys Lodge
#34 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Oakwheel Inn
The Oakwheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Burniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Gables Hotel
Green Gables Hotel
#98 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#50 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Town House
Riviera Town House
#87 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#32 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Gardens Hotel

Property: Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Address: 24 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Gardens is a family run, non-smoking guesthouse built in the Victorian era; a Scarborough guesthouse of great charm and warm hospitality, in an outstanding location. We are open all year round and provide attractively decorated, clean, comfortable rooms, a hearty breakfast and a friendly lounge bar serving bar snacks for our guests. The Esplanade Gardens is situated just 200 yards from the cliff lift down to the Spa Complex and just a 15-minute walk from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Esplanade Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing