We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”
Review of Phoenix Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phoenix Court
Ranked #46 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just got back from a two night stay at the Phoenix Court, absolutely fantastic! Myself and my husband went for a short break (away from the kids) and we absolutely loved this place. Perfect location, room spotless, food lovely, staff really friendly and the sea views from our room were amazing! We have stayed in a few places in Scarborough over the years but this is by far the best. We will definitely be going back. Thank u for such a lovely break Phoenix Court!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 131 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We first stayed at Phoenix Court in about 2003, and we went back this weekend for a budget 10th anniversary away.
The hotel is nothing special, but it is comfortable, clean and tidy.
The only grumbles were mostly in the bathroom - there was a slight musty smell, and the shower cubicle had seen better days.
In the bedroom there was plenty of space with a nice table & chairs overlooking most of the North Bay, which was very pleasant in the evenings.
Breakfast was fine, if a little basic and simple, but overall it was fine.
Be aware that pillows are feather though.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room, a little more, but great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjkyorkshire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My partner and I have stayed everywhere all over Scarborough but never quite liked where we chose.Here,we loved it and didn't want to leave.I booked a sea view room,room 15.It was big,roomy,lots of storage,great view with a table and chair from which to admire it.This guesthouse has free parking on the side of the building (off road) and it has a bar,spacious breakfast room with a detailed menu at breakfast and the en suite had a shower with hot water,storage and big mirrors throughout the room.The only niggle I would have is there's not enough milk in the room,no biscuits and no spoon to make a drink.I had to buy some plastic spoons as I didn't want to ask late at night.Ok,the place is alittle dated but there's room and it's clean.Nothing broken or shabby.The super king size bed was very soft like the pillows but I still slept well.As I checked out we booked next years stay too.My advice,go for a sea view room,it's worth it.Better than looking at the bins on the back yard.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room.They are bigger and better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunnygirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have just had a lovely stay in Scarborough and were so lucky to select Phoenix Court from the many guest houses. The room was lovely, staff were friendly and breakfast was one of the best we have had in hotel or guest house stays. We didn't get a sea view room, but it was still nicely decorated, with a new shower room. The sea is very close so the back view didn't matter. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This typical seaside guest house is situated in a lovely location near the castle. Car parking facility was an extra bonus on our weekend away. Our room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. It is an old property with dated decor and could perhaps benefit from a bit of a make over. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and well presented, although the individual teapots were a little shabby. Staff were friendly and very helpful. All in all, it's not a bad place to spend a few nights.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook North Bay and sea, rooms at the back overlook a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathrine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

location was lovely with views over north bay, hotel was not modern really old fashion but clean ,breakfast was nice but disappointed with room ,light switches above bed were loose/dangerous,light in shower room was at other end of room ,blocked shower stood in 4inch of water while showering ,shower door and bedroom door banged against each other , towels grubby ,owner was not happy when asked for more tea etc as only 2 teabags in room unable to have cup of tea in morning( no milk ) as did not like asking again ,old sash windows that would not stay open .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Doreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

when we first got to the hotel,we were allowed to park in the car park even though we were very early which we did nit expect.
When we checked in we had booked a family room. we were not offered any help upstairs with all our bags and travel cot even though my husband was struggling and i was carrying our daughter and helping my eldest child up the stairs.this dissapointed me.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and had not been modernised like the photos on the internet. what bothered me most was the layout of the room. it was a family room for 4.the large very comfortable double bed was in the first room,then there was a door to the second room where there were 2 single beds but no room for a cot.the hotel knew we were bringing a cot as they had told us we needed to bring our own as they do not supply cots.it took me and my husband ages trying to re arrange the furniture to fit the cot in.then there was a tiny bathroom which led off the kids room. it only had a shower which was tiny.it was so difficult to try and shower my children as there just wasnt enough room.it was near impossible to have them in the shower and get my arms in to shower them and the shower hose just wasnt long enough. after a day on the beach,this was not ideal. i belive if you are charging for a family room you need to make sure the bathroom is practical for the use of a family with young children. also if the kids door was open and someone opened the bathroom door the doors stopped each other from opening as they were so close together and opened onto each other.
Even though we were very dissapointed with our room, the hotel was extremely clean in every area. The breakfast that was served was outstanding and there was a very good choice. Staff were very friendly and the location was fantastic. We would not return to this hotel as we were so dissapointed with our room. We did not ask to be moved as i believe they only had one family room and they were fully booked. I would however mention this hotel to people especially for couples or families with older children as apart from our room the hotel overall was pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsjohnson486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
5.1 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
51 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough South Bay Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Court

Address: 8-9 Rutland Terrace | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England (Formerly Phoenix Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $50 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix Court is a 4 star guest house in Scarborough, with 12 en suite rooms, guest lounge and breakfast room. It is unique in that it has it's own car park for the exclusive use of guests in an area where on street parking is problematic in high season. Six of our rooms have views of the beautiful North Bay. We offer a wide range of cereals, fruit, and juices along with the popular Full English cooked breakfast. Wensleydale Cheese and Fruit bread or Kippers are popular breakfast choices too. Phoenix Court is an excellent base for a stay in Scarborough. Both Bay's, the Town centre, Peasholm park, The county cricket ground and the Castle are all in walking distance. The wider area of the North Yorkshire coast and moors are near by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Phoenix Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Court Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing