We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wharncliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wharncliffe Hotel
Ranked #81 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Just Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The whole stay was perfect. Couldn't have asked for a better stay.
Great breakfast, great rooms and perfect location.
No kids aloud, and I love that.
Very friendly owners.
We had a sea view on the top floor and it was lovely.

Would recommend this hotel and will be staying again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write an online review. Thank you for your lovely comments about your room and the breakfast. We will be delighted to welcome you again in the future. Thank you, Derek and Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
87
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great 2nd visit just as good as last time. Friendly and welcoming really felt our holiday had started when we arrived. De-stressed as soon as we looked out of our view from room 4. Breakfast was superb, especially the sausages. Will certainly return and recommend to our friends and family. Derek and Ann do all they can to make your stay a restful and happy one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sambo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review. We really do appreciate your comments.
Thank you.
Derek and Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

A lovely welcome to the Wharncliffe on the evening of our arrival and Derek remembered us from several years ago! What a genuine friendly couple!
The breakfast was excellent and set us both up for the day.
If you are going to stay anywhere in Scarborough then make it the Wharncliffe, there is no where better!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and well turned out, if you want a view of the sea then try for the rooms with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgcwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review. It was a pleasure to see you both again, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for your review; we do appreciate your comments.
Derek and Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on valentines weekend and loved it. amazing sea view from the large bay window. Owners were really friendly and breakfast selection extensive. I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which is great for a b & b. Rooms need a bit of updating but really can't fault the place for the location

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your lovely comments about the breakfast. It was a pleasure for us to meet you both when you stayed for your St Valentines weekend break. Thank you again, we do appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great place to stay. Friendly owner, lovely clean, warm and comfortable room with everything you could possibly want. Amazing views of the North bay and the castle, and parking permit from the owner. Breakfast was superb, freshly cooked and delicious.
Even if I tried really hard, I could not possibly find any fault with the Wharncliffe and we have booked again for august within hours of getting home!!!!

Room Tip: Sea views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tutorsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your short break at The Wharncliffe. We do appreciate your lovely comments about your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to see that you have booked again for August and we will look forward to welcoming you both again in the summer. Thank you again for your lovely review.
Derek and Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Wharncliffe last weekend and it was such a lovely hotel. Derek greeted us when we arrived and was so welcoming and friendly, as it was our first trip to Scarborough he offered advice and was always pleasent. The hotel was very clean and well looked after and felt very homey.

Breakfast was delicious and there was a huge range of fresh fruit including some more exotic fruits that you wouldn't normally get in other hotels. The sausages were fantastic and you could tell no expense was spared in ensuring the best quality food was served.

The room had amazing views of the sea as well as the castle and was very clean, tidy and well looked after. The bathroom was clean and there was a nice sized modern TV with freeview which was great for when we were lazing around. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was lovely and warm.

Derek is a real good foodie and I am sure would be able to give great advice on nice places to eat.

We are already planning our next trip to Scarborough and I will be sending my parents to the Wharncliffe next year as they would also love it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which had an amazing bay window with view of the sea and the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NP523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed her on 20th Septemper 2013 till 22nd September 2013,the reason was it was our daughters wedding weekend in Scraborough,our daughter Sharon and Boyfriend Stuart (now husband)always stay in this hotel evey time they stay in Scarborough,they love staying there and makes there hoilday complete,so we was recomended to stay there aswell,also her auntie and uncle stayed aswell taking the last room,also staying was here was her best friend Claire.Derek was a warm and friendly and nothing too much trouble,we was in room 3 overlooking the sea in the beautiful North Bay,a warm friendly clean hotel to stay and you wont be disappointed,breakfasts was very filling and tasted good,we wasted a bit of food as we was too full!!! Thanks for a lovely stay and if we stay in Scarborough again we will be booking again.Our daughter and son in law will be booking soon for next year.Thanks Vicky and Jim.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view you wont be dissapointed so book early.We was in room 3 a lovely room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review. It was a pleasure to offer you all hospitality at The Wharncliffe for the occasion of your daughter's wedding. Thank you for all your lovely comments.
Derek and Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#54 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selomar Hotel
Selomar Hotel
#25 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Cordelia
The Cordelia
#18 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#45 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharncliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharncliffe Hotel

Property: Wharncliffe Hotel
Address: 26 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wharncliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation, situated overlooking the North Bay in Scarborough with fantastic sea views. Within a few minutes walk of the castle, town and harbour, and an ideal location for the Bowls Club or Cricket Ground.All guest rooms have en-suite facilities, flat screen tv, and a well stocked beverage tray. Breakfast is cooked to order; guests may help themselves from buffet whilst they wait. Ideal for couples to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wharncliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing