We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at Wharncliffe”
Review of Wharncliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wharncliffe Hotel
Ranked #79 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel 4th and 5th August. Room was well equipped and clean, sea view as requested. Public rooms including bar were excellent. Breakfast choice and quality compares well with 4 and 5 star hotels. Derek, the owner is friendly, helpful but not intrusive. Parking was a little difficult because the area was busy, but with a little patience was not a big problem. My wife and I would certainly go back and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review, we do look forward to a further visit from you in the future.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Wharncliffe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 109 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

second time we stayed at warncliffe hotel had a fantastic time nothing was to much trouble for derek and anne
fantastic hosts in every way
one of the best breakfasts wev'e ever had you certainly wont need to eat dinner
we will be going back next year and staying at the same hotel
thanks again to derek and anne

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will be here cooking breakfast when you visit next year! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

stayed at this hotel 26th july2013 we thought it was a lovely place to stay, close to everthing amazing breakfast but parking can be a little bit of a pain. the hotel is very clean we will recommend to anyone who is visiting scarborough

Room Tip: room 5 has no shower
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your review and for your recommendation. We do appreciate all your comments.
Room Tip: Room 5 has an en-suite with a bath.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I love coming here and we cant wait to go back again. The food is always perfect and the rooms are so comfortable. The views from the rooms are always so spectacular. All the information for the surrounding area a nice touch, and the people who run are so nice, friendly and informative.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

lovely hotel.great location,fab sea veiws.Derek the owner couldnt do enough for us.even down to getting special gluten free food in for me.. biscuits in the room a very thoughtfull touch.nice fluffy towels .good quality breakfast an all round welcoming place to stay .would go again

Room Tip: would recommend sea veiw ..and this is also adult only
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank housleym10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A lovely stay in this hotel. Ok we were on the top floor which might be difficult for less mobile clientele, but the views out of our seaview window were well worth it. Everything was spotless and comfortable. Loads of tea bags , coffee and milk. Biscuits, chocolate and sweets greeted us on arrival. As well as the usual soap, shampoo etc in the bathroom there was a sewing kit, nail file and flannels. There was even a tea towel provided for use when washing the cups. I've never seen that before. And breakfast, well, I have to say it was superb. I must mention in particular the sausages which were among the finest I have ever tasted. Derek, the owner, was very accommodating and a pleasure to talk to. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: seaview rooms 4,8 and 12 (top floor) are worth the extra.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review, and thank you also for your many compliments about your recent stay at The Wharncliffe.
Following previous feedback from guests we now include a tea towel for use by people who like to wash their cups, after each drink, between the daily room service.
Thank you again for your review we really do appreciate your comments.
Derek and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Greated by a wonderful man who informed us of breakfast time etc. Took us up to the room which to be honest was on the top floor, not good if you're not fit. The room was fabulous! Looked like a superking bed and everything was absolutely spotless. Tea, coffee (galore), chocolates and sweets were ready for us and after travelling were welcomed. Everything was thought of from cotton buds, nail file, shoe shine and toiletries. The host couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The breakfast was wonderful with enough to keep you going for a week. Plenty of choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals and toast and jam followed by the Wharncliffe breakfast. Superb. Couldn't fault it at all. Would certainly stay again if in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#13 of 184 in Scarborough
448 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,908 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharncliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharncliffe Hotel

Address: 26 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $81 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wharncliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation, situated overlooking the North Bay in Scarborough with fantastic sea views. Within a few minutes walk of the castle, town and harbour, and an ideal location for the Bowls Club or Cricket Ground.All guest rooms have en-suite facilities, flat screen tv, and a well stocked beverage tray. Breakfast is cooked to order; guests may help themselves from buffet whilst they wait. Ideal for couples to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wharncliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing