We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rivelyn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
$152
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
$187
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
$126
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
$181
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumberland Hotel(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
83
113
56
28
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
113
56
28
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastreal aleshower and toiletbudget roombeds were comfortableparking discthree nightsfull englishdouble roomtown centredog friendly hotelbar pricesenjoyed our stayflat screen tvtea coffeeweekend breakstreet parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 304 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the Riverlyn recently for the weekend, and all though some of the rooms are a little bit dated & in need of a make over we were told the owners had only had it since July & were in the process of up grading it, we did see a few rooms that had been done & they were lovely. It depends what you want if its a clean friendly hotel thats reasonably priced this is it. Great location, comfy clean bed & Mel on reception was lovely, would go back

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is a 5 minute walk across the bridge to the town centre, parking cost us £1 for 2 nights buying a parking permit off the hotel.
The hotel is very big and has a dance floor, bar, lounge and breakfast area.
The hotel is a little outdated and could do with a major update as cracks are on the walls, mould on the shower ceiling due to no window or vent but for the price we paid we thought that it was fine
The hotel had free wi-fi, all rooms en suite and all of them have flatscreen tvs.
The people who are running the hotel only took over in July 2013 and can see it being good in a years time if all the odd jobs get done

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlcox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Oh dear! I really wanted to be more positive as the owner and staff were so friendly but the place just needs so much work, which the owner does acknowledge. Breakfast was ok but when the dirty laundry cart was wheeled through, it summed up our experience- trying hard but really a long, long way to go. I wish them all the best but we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekykkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Rivelyn is by far the best hotel I have stayed in in Scarborough by far. The location is perfect with a 10 minute walk over the bridge to the harbour. The staff give you a very warm welcome and are always willing to have a nice friendly conversation which makes your stay a much better holiday experience, also the hotel is very clean and has lovely décor with a good size bar and restaurant for your continental breakfast. This hotel is great value for money and I will be sure that this is the only hotel I will use from now on without a doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulietteHowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

As we wanted to stay for one night in Scarborough before heading for Whitby, we chose this hotel after looking around and reading T.A. reviews. We were not disappointed! If you want a cosy, smart hotel, well located and very well priced in Scarborough, you can't go wrong with this. The decor was very smart - better than expected and the bed comfortable. Ok breakfast was continental, but still good quality produce. Friendly staff and parking either in the street or a little car park 20 metres away - so excellent.

Room Tip: The only thing I would avoid is the rooms near the staircase and lift - ours was Room 101 and we were awoken twice by the usual inconsiderate people who don't think they need to lower their voices when coming back in the early hours!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowRose54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews