We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket for cricket!”
Review of Powys Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Powys Lodge
Ranked #34 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just the ticket for cricket!”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Ideally located B&B for an overnight stay after our cricket match at Oriel CC. Our room was available from 10-00 on the day we arrived, so we could leave our bags safely in our room through the day

All in all, we received a warm welcome with an impeccably clean room, a comfortable bed, friendly service & a good, hearty breakfast. Not a lot more to say really, apart from "Thank you".

Oh yes, we won our Cricket match!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roos_grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    12
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
53
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Just got back from scarborough, we stayed at the Powys Lodge, it was very clean and the rooms were very nice, the owner was very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Excellent breakfast as well, could not fault it, i would highly recommend it, we will be going back again. Scarborough is a lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marymanchester1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Myself and 13 friends of all ages have just spent a very enjoyable week at Powys Lodge (April 2012) Tina is an extremely sociable landlady and nothing is too much trouble for her. The accomodation is spotless and very comfortable with some really nice touches eg fresh bottles of water and biscuits each day as well as a well stocked tea tray. The breakfasts are excellent with plenty of choice. Tina's bar was well used each evening with a very jovial atmosphere. Tina was also ably assisted by husband Shaun , Anita and little Elsie. I have no hesitation in recommending. Jane Brown

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

you could not fault this b& b food excellent & the host tina & shaun are the nicest people you could wish to meet food great, spotlessly clean throughout would reccomend this place to any one

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philcro065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2011

we just stayed there 25th to 28th aug 2011 family room 8...tina shaun & baby elsie are outstanding honest & hardworking people who cater for your every need very very friendly nice clean comfey room excellent breafast excellent people thank you we will defo be back.........lee jayne & courtney

Room Tip: room 8 excellent family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leenjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have just got back from a weeks holiday at the Powys Lodge. Tina, Shaun and little Elsie are amazing people. They made us feel at home straight away. There are nice little touches like bottled water in the rooms, which are renewed daily. We will definitely be booking up again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneKnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We are a family of 6 that stayed at Powys Lodge with ages ranging from 11 to 80 years old. Tina is so friendly. The accommodation is exceptionally clean with everything you needed in the room. There were extra quilts, pillows and even a hot water bottle!! The breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. We had a family room for four (room 4) which had a separate bedroom with bunk beds for the kids which gave us a lot more space. Good value for money. The only negative comment I can make is that I could not open the bedroom window however I did not bring this to the attention of Tina who I am sure would have sorted the problem out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#40 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#13 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#48 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#47 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powys Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powys Lodge

Property: Powys Lodge
Address: 2 Westbourne Road | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Powys Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powys Lodge is a small privately owned Guest House located in the quiet area of South Cliff. 2015/16 has seen an extensive refurbishment across all rooms resulting in a 4 star status with Visit England. We are located within easy walking reach of the town and sea front amenities. All our rooms are en-suite (showers only)and equipped with a generous hospitality tray, hair dryer, towels and flat screen television. We guarantee the up most in cleanliness and our home cooked breakfast contains many locally sourced ingredients. We cater for many individual needs and welcome families, couples and single travelers. Unfortunately we do not admit dogs or single sex groups. Whilst on site parking is limited we do issue (free of charge) street parking permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Powys Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing