We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year break - superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Leeway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leeway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New Year break - superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned home from a superb break at the Leeway. This hotel is a must for anyone looking for a break in Scarborough, the hosts Alan and Jud, make you very welcome to their very clean and cosy hotel.

There were 6 of us and from the minute we arrived and collected our parking permits, we got both cars parked directly cross the road from the hotel, until we left we could not have asked for anything more to make our stay very comfortable.

Of the 3 rooms we had, 2 had sea views, with ours overlooking the road to the rear of the hotel. View was okay and the room was very spacious, having originally been 2 rooms, so whilst no sea view we certainly had plenty of space.

Breakfasts are a regular comment by previous guests and they are correct. Unfortunately after some serious New Year Eve and Day drinking we did not do it justice. The breakfasts are very good.

The hotel is well positioned for the North Bay with the South Bay a great 20 min stroll with the town centre bars and restaurants all being a 10 min walk away.

We would definitely use the Leeway again, a great hotel with great hosts and of ourselves these great breakfasts.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive review, Alan & myself look forward to seeing you all soon.

Jude & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
241
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just to say, my friends and i, have had another brilliant stay at the Leeway.

We decided to spend a weekend, instead of the usual bank holiday, but enjoyed it just as much.

The rooms are spotless and the breakfast varied.

Thanks again.

Chris, Andy, Daz and Dee.

Room Tip: Book early to get a sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

A great place to stay, Jude and Alan are so friendly and helpful, the room was excellent and with a sea view to boot. Breakfast was great. Not a regular visitor to Scarborough but will definately stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in October for two nights. It is ideally situated in the North Bay in Scarborough and is close to shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel provides free wi-fi.
We were able to park for free outside the hotel. Alan and Jude were very friendly and welcoming. The room had wonderful sea views with tea and coffee making facilities and scrumptious biscuits.
The bed was comfortable with lovely fresh white sheets. There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. We had a TV with Freeview in our room.
The bathroom was really nice and very clean with a lovely shower, toiletries and a sewing kit were also provided. The towels were plentiful and very good quality.
The hotel has a lounge and bar downstairs with Sky TV.
There was plenty to chose from for breakfast, a selection of cereals, fruit juice, yoghurts and fresh croissants along with a choice of tea or freshly ground coffee. I opted for a fresh fruit salad followed by a cooked vegetarian breakfast and my partner had the full English breakfast with toast, both were delicious. The second day I opted for scrambled egg – it was the best I have ever tasted.
I would thoroughly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angelwings66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just had four nights in Scarborough stayed at the Leeway Hotel, a most pleasant stay.
Excellent hosts in Jude and Alan very friendly and helpful. clean tidy and comfortable accommadation, the breakfasts were superb. The Hotel has a very good location for anywhere you want to be, we will most surely use this hotel again when in Scarborough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel was quite small but very clean, warm and welcoming. Hotel was of great value with the bed/sheets/pillows of 4 star standard. Breakfast was excellent and we had a view of the seafront (room 3) for no extra fees. Couple running the hotel have only been running this one for approx 1 year and are pushing hard to gain a good reputation which they already have and deserve.

Room Tip: If you want to, ask for a room at the front overlooking the sea, obviously you can't insist on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobhRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

A lovely place to stay. Everywhere was very clean, comfortable and newly decorated. Beds and pillows were very comfortable and with the sound of the sea sending me off to sleep each night I couldn't have asked for a better nights sleep ( something that doesn't come easy for me!!). Jude and Alan are excellent hosts - there was nothing that we could have asked for them to improve upon. Breakfast was freshly cooked and filled us up for the day. They suggested places to eat in the evenings and each one of their recommendations was superb. We will most definitely be coming back and spreading the word about how good our stay was. Thank you both!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeway Hotel

Property: Leeway Hotel
Address: 71 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing