We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Leeway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leeway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed at the Leeway Hotel for two nights, 19th and 20th August, to celebrate my birthday. The Leeway hotel is first class. Fantastic location and we were lucky enough to be able to book a room with a sea view (room 3). The room was absolutely spotless, with nice little touches, chocolate, biscuits, bottled water, tissues etc. The linen was lovely and fresh and of good quality. The breakfast served at the Leeway was very good. All cooked fresh to order and with a good choice. There is a very welcoming bar should you wish to have a night cap, which we did. The hosts are very nice and nothing appears too much trouble for them, they even supplied us with an extra parking permit (free of charge) so we could stay until later in the day on the day of our departure. All the other hotels we have stayed in in Scarborough charge you for these.

We always come to Scarborough at this time of year and have stayed in various hotels over the years but the Leeway is one of the top ones we have stayed in and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
244
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the Leeway Hotel for one night. It is in a lovely location overlooking the sea. The room was beautiful and modern. The additional room extras such as shower gel and bottled water were very nice and well appreciated. Breakfast was perfect and the owners were friendly and helpful in answering a question we had regarding parking in Scarborough. Our stay at the Leeway Hotel was brilliant. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for posting your review and your positive comments ( Room 9 ), we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you visiting us at The Leeway again soon.

Alan & Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a very pleasant week at The Leeway from 13th to 20th August. Alan and Jude were perfect hosts and could not have done more to make our stay memorable. Our room was spotless and well-appointed, the breakfasts excellent and we particularly enjoyed our evening chats in the bar over a couple of drinks.

The hotel is ideally situated overlooking the sea and only a short walk from the beach, town centre and amenities. We would not hesitate in recommending The Leeway to anyone intending to visit Scarborough and indeed have already done so.

Thanks again and look forward to the next time.

Jamie & Joyce

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for you kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us ( Room 1 ) and that it was so memorable. Thank you also for the recomendations and we look forward to seeing you and Joyce again next year.

Jud & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Situated on the cliff top drive The Leeway is as good a traditional bed and breakfast hotel as we have ever stayed in. Easy parking onsite, or on the drive with supplied permit, 10 minute walk from a bustling town centre and the buzzing seafront harbour. The room was spotlessly clean, comfy bed with quality pillows, and the very rarely seen these days bedside clock. The provision of 2 chairs to sit on was most welcome. Nice powerful shower with individual heating( no loss of hot water if other rooms are showering) and the cooked to order breakfast in the delightful breakfast room was superb. The hosts were warm and welcoming and we cannot recommend The Leeway highly enough

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank what_horizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for such a glowing review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jude & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at The Leeway from the 7/8 to the 10/08 2012 and can find no faults with this perfectly situated B&B. We were met with a cup of tea on arrival by Alan & Jude and then shown to our room at the top of the building. A recent reviewer complained that they did not get a sea view, with all due respect that's why they invented front doors, get out there!
The views from the front of the property are beautiful, and there are benches positioned to best enjoy them. The sound of the sea on the beach is one of my favourite sounds. Breakfast was fresh, plentiful and well cooked. Room was clean and well presented.

It's a B&B, if you expect nothing more then you wont be disappointed. If were to visit Scarborough again then this is where I would stay.

Room Tip: If you can get a sea view then do as it's a great sight when you first wake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, it's always nice to get such positive feed back and hope to see you again.

Jude & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Leeway Hotel on the 27th July 2012 for one night. Lovely greeting on arrival, very friendly hosts who made us feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble and breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice. However, we had a room at the back of the bed and breakfast which was tired and in need of a revamp, with a very poor shower, which was easy to work but very very weak. The room overlooked a busy main road with an empty shop up for rent and various tired and dilapidated properties. We were on the lower floor (the first room you come to as you climb the stairs), therefore there was not a view over the other buildings for us to look at. If you do book the hotel make sure you get a room with a sea view, this is purely a tip and why Tripadvisor exits, the view from the front of the hotel is far superior and would make for a far more pleasant stay.
Later on in the afternoon when we returned to the hotel, all of the parking spaces in front of the hotel were taken, 4 cars were parked, we could not park behind any of them as we would have been obstructing the pavement. The roads around are Disc Zone and of course we did not have a disc, therefore we went in to the hotel happy to use a disc for the zone, however there was a note to say the owners had left the premises and would not return until 5pm. We searched thouroghly through the 2 book cases in the lobby that contain the tourish information brochures hoping that discs for the zone would be provided, sadly not. We then got back in to the car to try and find a shop or whatever that would have the discs available, eventually we found a newsagents that had a stock of discs for the zone. Hopefully The Leeway will now obtain some discs for the use of hotel residents. The hotel has 9 rooms and was full whilst we stayed, obviously there is potential for 9 cars to be present, the off street parking cannot accommodate this and as such guests should be pre warned and discs made available. To add the Disc Zone is not a problem, we felt perfectly safe leaving our car on the road outside, we were just presented with an inconvenience having not been aware.
Whilst we did not use the single bed in the room, it was broken and the owners must be aware of this. We found this out whilst sitting on the bed to make tea and coffee from a wooden folding TV Tray.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View on a upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richy2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your second review after retracting your first regarding your 1 night stay with us, as with the first none of this was mentioned to us on your departure and your comments then certainly don't tie in with your post.

On arrival you where offered a parking permit, which you declined. You whe also advised that parking to the frontage could not be garanteed as guests arrive daily and are all offered either to park on the frontage or permits as you were. It was very unfortunate that we had to leave the premisis for personnal reasons. Were out for 1 hour and fifteen minutes, on our return you made several purchases from the bar and failed to mention anything.

Your comments regarding the room are totally unfounded, the water pressure to tha standard require ( 80PSI ) and is inspected annually. therfore the shower pressure caanot be a problem.
Comments regarging the single bed and decor are again totally unfounded.

I think that you comments to us regarding you not liking Scarborough have lead the negative points in your review. Thanks all the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here last weekedn, picking it on the basis of tripadvisor reviews because we couldn't get into the B&B where we usually stay. The place lived up to our expectations from the previous reviews though the shower was on the weak side. The bed was very comfortable, the room spacious and the breakfast was good. It also has the advantage of off-street parking and I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeway1, Manager at Leeway Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for posting your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#10 of 183 in Scarborough
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeway Hotel

Property: Leeway Hotel
Address: 71 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Leeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing