We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Host and Great Little B. and B.”

Jadellas Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jadellas Guest House
Ranked #115 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Thank you for a great stay.
Lovely big breakfast.
Gorgeous rooms and lovely big bath.
See you in July.

Room Tip: Room 4had a huge bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 111 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights in january, would highly recommend to anyone! The couple who run the place are super-friendly and helpful, me and my partner were spoilt silly. The building is small but cosy and well furnished with a lovely front garden. The breakfast was huge and kept us going well until tea time. The lady who cooks made us a lovely chicken risotto at a reasonable price. The bar is well stocked and they'll open it for you pretty much whenever you want.
Our new favourite place in scarborough!
Thanks, we'll be seeing you again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

spent 3 days at the Jadellas Guest House 2 weeks ago,a warm and friendly welcome,the room was homely and warm,all facilities and amenities clean and working fine.This guest house certainly still captures the proper ambience of the perfect B&B,and i found the location perfect for my buiness,Jill and the staff were so friendly and nice i didnt want to leave,fair priced and the breakfast was fantastic,when ya start the day with such warm smiles and an even warmer meal ,the day doesnt seem so bad ...love the personal touches and being a beer enthusiast,they serve great beer for a guest house...already booked for a long weekend later in the year,will be a great base from which to explore the area..10/10 and recommend to anyone ......thanks again for a brilliant stay and see you soon .

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank xbowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Very strange place and hosts to say the very least.

Quite clean but the whole place smelled of wet dog, and I'm sure they allow their pets in the guest rooms (god knows why?). My eyes were sore all the time when in room, possibly due to cats and dogs having been in there!

Although we were initially made welcome we were made to feel very uncomfortable when we asked for anything, and when we complained that our shower wasn't working our reply by the guy was 'it's not broke its always been very slow and doesn't get very hot, I really don't know what to suggest'. We suggested he let us use a shower in one of his various empty rooms to which he replied "well, I suppose that would be ok!" and seemed very put out by this! Shocking!

The room - number 4 had a large bath (which took ages to fill) but the shower didn't work. The room was spacious clean and warm. The carpet needed changing as it was getting tatty.
View from rooms is on to a street or the back yard.

On the day we left there was no hot water till 9.30 and they expect you to be out by 10, even though they were empty apart from the four of us. They seemed okay that we checked out abut 15 minutes late. When I explained the water situation to them they all but called me a liar! Disgusting!

The breakfast was pretty much all under cooked and not particularly special. 1 bacon, 1 sausage, 1 egg, 1 tomato, 1 hash brown, beans. Award winning it aint! I get much better in my local cafe. They put 1 yogurt each on the table, no choice! First morning there was fruit but not on the second. Reasonable choice of cereals and toast.

Whilst we were eating brekky on last day we were told a new set of guests were going to be arriving in about an hour and felt it was a hint for us to get a move on so they could clean up!

Felt like we were being watched by the owners and did not appreciate being called 'sugar' by the male owner. The pair of them need lessons in people skills!

When we left we complained about the shower and were told it was not broken but that they were gong to replace it! What a bizarre answer! Made to feel like liars again!

I'm quite shocked that this place gets 4 out of five and would not be surprised if the reviews are not genuine!

It is close to town center, about a 10 minute walk.

We will not be returning! Ever! And do not recommend this place to anyone!

This is the first bad review I have ever felt the need to write.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bobo_sparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popeyeScarborough, Owner at Jadellas Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your stay at Jadellas. We do take our guests comments seriously and have noted your grievances and concerns. We recognise that one of your main disappointments is with the warm water. We always seek to mitigate any of our customers concerns and we were happy for you to use another room for a shower. One of the reasons as to why the water was not as hot as you are perhaps used to is because there are regulations to prevent scolding water being used on the premises to protect our guests from injury. We have not had a complaint about the water not being hot enough before and we will monitor the situation closely.
We did inform you that we were having a plumber visit our premises, not to do with hot water but to look at putting in a smaller bath, because we agree that it is on the large size and we are looking to have a smaller bath installed there.
We are internationally recognized for having an award winning breakfast. We always like to check with our guests how much breakfast they are likely to eat so that we can prepare this accordingly. We are happy to serve up a large breakfast if this has been asked for, but we seek to avoid being wasteful in food consumption by preparing and cooking too much food if this has not been asked for.
We do have a very great reputation as is illustrated by the high number of genuine reviews that we have and the awards that we have won. We are sorry that your experience with us was not as enjoyable as you would have expected or in accordance with the great reputation that we have and we did seek to rectify your woes during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Nice place to stay. The room was fine but the bathroom was very small. We had a great nights sleep and the breakfast was excellent. Probably slightly over priced for Scarborough at £60 a night but we would stay there again. Thanks :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nickh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

stayed for one night in September got a warm welcome and very happy with big room very clean! the breakfast was lovely! try the homemade bread delicious! the hosts were great with my 7month old daughter she loved the cat on the bar! unfortunately couldn't stay the second night due to a family berevement but will be back in the summer! thanks for a lovely stay see you soon

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dankirstlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed for one night in a single on 17th Sept. This is a very nice guest house with very freindly owners. I needed an early breakfast on the Sunday (07:00) and this was no problem. the breakfast was of very good quality.
My only -ve comment is parking on the road can be difficult especially when the Gold Cup bike meeting is on.
That apart highly recommended and excellent vlue

Room Tip: Make time for the breakfast is of high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank zxr1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
3.7 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,936 reviews
1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#56 of 183 in Scarborough
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jadellas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jadellas Guest House

Address: 72 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jadellas Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Jadellas Guest House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing