We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
'Puffins'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Puffins'
Lounge Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
'Puffins'
Lounge
Master Bedroom
Dining Room
Second Bedroom
'The Byes'
Kitchen/Dining Room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Courtyard Garden
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alison H
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A lovely house equipped with everything you would need. Perfect location for a walk to the town and seafront. Would definately stay again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
Lovely to hear Alison, thankyou. Looking forward to hearing from you again. Best Wishes Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Thankyou. I'm so glad it added a positive experience to your stay in Sidmouth for Folk week. Also a big thankyou to you and so many of my Guests who look after Puffins so well.It really is appreciated.
Best wishes Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
viv d
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Warning - I shall be over using the word 'excellent'!
From initial enquiry to time of departure, the whole experience has been faultless. Liz has provided an excellent service for an excellent property. Liz replied very promptly to the initial enquiry. The booking and payment process was very easy, receiving regular updates throughout. Communication regarding arrival/departure times and key location were excellent and was received in a timely fashion.
Arriving at this lovely cottage we were met with personalised welcome messages from Liz along with delicious scones, clotted cream and jam, gluten free cake for our daughter and lovely iced biscuits for our granddaughter.
Accommodation, furnishings and equipment were all excellent including information and instructions regarding use if required.
Parking outside the property was never a problem. Its location was a short walk into Sidmouth and Liz provided lots of information about the town, its environs and facilities.
So much thought had gone into the property and the comfort of the guests that I cannot recommend Liz and Puffins highly enough.
Liz and Puffins provided 4 people of varying ages with a wonderful 4 night break. The only negative was that it was only 4 nights!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2017
Well what more can I say other than, thankyou Viv for that ' excellent ' review!
To not only take the time to write a review but to put so much thought into it is just lovely to receive and really appreciated. I always aim to give all my Guests an excellent experience so it's great to hear when that happens.
I look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Very best wishes to you all.
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathryn B
1 review
“A lovely cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A lovely cottage in a great location. Beautifully decorated, well equipped and so much thought has gone into every detail. Liz the owner was great, she kindly let us arrive early which was much appreciated. Also, Liz had thoughtfully left delicious gluten free buns with the jam and cream which we enjoyed on our arrival - I had asked about gluten free cafes/ restaurants as I'm Coeliac. Just to mention- had a very nice veg biryani from Cinnamon in Sidmouth and the Cobb Arms in Lyme Regis has a good selection of gluten free fare. We had such a relaxing time, would definitely stay again. Thankyou very much LIz.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Thankyou so much for taking the time to post your lovely review. It's great to hear you both enjoyed yourselves and I hope it won't be long before I can welcome you back to ' Puffins'.
Best wishes
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah1234...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely cottage with wonderful views.
Fully equipped with everything we needed.
The fresh scones and clotted cream were a welcome surprise.

The cottage is in a great location to walk to the town or the Byes.

Thank you Liz.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay. Weren't you lucky with the weather.It must have been lovely for the Wedding!
Thankyou so much for your review. Look forward to hearing from you again one day.
Best wishes Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E
1 review
“Ideal cosy cottage for weekend break”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We really enjoyed a very comfortable weekend stay at this lovely house in a good location for local amenities. Brilliantly clean and everything we needed - comfy beds and good shower! The scones on arrival were really delicious. Late morning check out time much appreciated and parking was always easy. Thank you.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Thankyou so much for your comments. It's really satisfying to hear that you all had such a positive experience as that is what I always hope to achieve. I hope that perhaps you will choose 'Puffins' again one day.
Best Wishes
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
So pleased your stay went well and you all enjoyed Puffins. I look forward to hearing from you again one day. Any more Weddings?! Thankyou for your review.
Best wishes
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing