We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“carvery”

The Hare and Hounds
Ranked #6 of 78 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
wotton fitzpaine
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Carne across this pub by accident.excellent carvers every day. Chose of four different meats lots of vegetables good roast potatoes and yorkies. Puddings looked good as well but we were to full to have one. This was a Tuesday night and the pub was packed always a good sign.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigal3961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    203
    90
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heard good stuff bout this ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Well, we came here for a birthday treat meal , all the food was bland , was close to a cheap greasy spoon restaurant
Always busy???? Well all I can say this must be a place where old people with no taste buds, come to die!

Water was ok ;)

Helpful?
3 Thank Jackjones92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a good carvery on a Sunday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Whenever we are around Sidmouth on a weekend, we attempt to get into the Hare and Hounds for their carvery. You have to book, and they 2 sittings. They always have all the meats-pork, turkey, beef, ham and tons of freshly cooked vegetables.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahors, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poor service or poor kitchen organisation??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We called in here recently with a friend for a late lunch. It was mid-week and it wasn't very busy fortunately - we have seen it heaving with people in the past, particularly at weekends. The food was the usual pub type food with the fish being quite good. But what amazed us was the incompetent service! We had our starters but, when the main dishes arrived, only two were put on the table and we waited, and waited, until eventually I had to draw the waitress's attention to the fact that we were missing one of our main courses. She didn't seem too worried by this and told us it took a bit longer to cook! Whilst I'm sure that this may be the case, why on earth didn't they start cooking that main before the other two or, do as most normal restaurants do, and keep them in the warm kitchen until all the table's food is ready to serve at the same time? Do they really think that their customers want to eat in relays rather than all together?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Franco4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious carvey and pie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here with my other half after a Sunday walk, very welcoming and great pub food! We ordered the turkey and ham pie and the carvery. The pie was nice and homemade looking with proper pub chips, and the carvery was very good too.

Helpful?
Thank Powow86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hare and Hounds also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing