We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious carvey and pie!”

The Hare and Hounds
Ranked #6 of 78 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious carvey and pie!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here with my other half after a Sunday walk, very welcoming and great pub food! We ordered the turkey and ham pie and the carvery. The pie was nice and homemade looking with proper pub chips, and the carvery was very good too.

Helpful?
Thank Powow86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    202
    90
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a miserable unwelcoming place to visit”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Called on a very quiet Saturday afternoon for late lunch, 4 adults. The older guy on the bar was surly and most unhappy about serving us drinks, plenty of staff about and not many customers. We ordered Nachos to share for starters, and 4 main meals with some sides. Nachos arrived with burnt cheese on and tasted like cardboard, and my main arrived at the same time, not a good start! I had ham salad, so just moved it aside whilst we ate the starter. When the other 3 mains arrived after starter cleared - I inquired after 5 mins where the potatoes were that were part of the salad according to the menu, and where the side order of chips for my hubbie was, I had to show the waitress my receipt to prove we had paid! She opened the door to kitchen and shrieked at top of her voice for the potatoes, they arrived within 5 mins, and I asked why my main arrived with the starter, she said, because it was ready?!! Other 3 meals were gammon and eggs, panini with ham, which were tasty, and scampi and chips - very overpriced for the amount of scampi on plate Overall we spent £80+ for really bad service and average food, wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, such a shame as the pub and menu look so inviting! Maybe they don't like customers, or have a bad employer and are deeply unhappy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very friendly country pub”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were recommended to try this pub and were glad we did. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming despite being extremely busy.
My husband decided to have a carvery meal and I chose the Chicken and Ham pie. We were informed, when we ordered the food at the bar ,that we would be told a couple of minutes before the food order was ready in order for my husband to go to the carvery for his meal. We were a little sceptical about this as it was so busy at lunch time .....but they were as good as their word and so both meals were ready at the same time.
There was a choice of four roast meats and a large selection of vegetables to chose from which my husband thoroughly enjoyed. I was impressed with my pie which came piping hot and with extra gravy in a gravy boat which was a welcome touch. The carvery (like all carveries) was not quite as hot as the individually ordered meal but was still extremely tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsG20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Carvery!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing carvery, but dont expect peace and quiet on a Sunday. Every visit this place has been packed. The food is outstanding and great value. The queue never seems to get shorter, but definitely worth the wait. A proper country pub.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emily4579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Carvery”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This pub without a doubt serves up the best carvery for miles around - the vegetables are always fresh and not overcooked and the roast potatoes crispy on the outside and fluffy inside - there is a choice of 4 meats and the servings are extremely generous - I have always found the staff to be helpful and friendly - Sunday is the busiest day and you need to reserve a table but during the week the carvery is just as good and they are not quite so busy - there is ample parking and plenty of outside seating for sunny days

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaritzaPiliotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hare and Hounds also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing