We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very convenient, well equipped, value for money”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden party!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
49 reviews
garden party!
The neighbours
Jurassic coast
Local pub
Views from Stoneleigh
Neighbours
Well behaved dogs welcome!
Views from Stoneleigh
Views from Stoneleigh
Stoneleigh grounds
Sidmouth beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JanJangle...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very convenient, well equipped, value for money”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just the two of us spent a couple of nights here. The cottage was in a great location for us being so close to the Donkey Sanctuary and main road allocated parking was great. Cottage is comfortable and well equipped. We arrived when the weather was cold so glad we were well prepared with a stock of one pound coins for the electricity meter. Once the place was warmed up, it was fine. Value for money, this cottage meet our needs for a short break, walking distance to the sanctuary for coffee, breakfast, a meal if required and of course to visit the donkeys. Easy access main roads and lovely walks direct from the cottage.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
Thanks for your kind words. I hope we can welcome you again. Kind regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After initial setback, our stay was exactly what we wanted”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Unfortunately, when we arrived, the cleaners had not carried out their duties, so the cottage was not ready for new guests. This is the reason for the 3 rating.
We contacted the owner and the situation was "fixed" to our satisfaction very quickly. We then really enjoyed our stay there. We wanted to visit the Donkey Sanctuary and being able to walk there from our accommodation was great for us. We would definitely stay there again

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
I am pleased that despite the initial issues, you were able to enjoy your stay. Again I can only apologise and we have taken steps to ensure this doesn't happen again. Hopefully we can welcome you back another time. Regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan R
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Donkey Neighbours”
Reviewed March 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is a lovely well maintained clean holiday chalet/cottage with all required amenities .We came to visit our adopted donkey and the sanctuary is minutes away. It was ideal for us for a short break. There are lovely walks from the cottage around the Donkey Sanctuary and we can recommend the food in their restaurant.

Unfortunately it has to be said our rating is for the accommodation only. It would be much less if the holiday park was to be considered .I acknowledge that our visit was off peak and admittedly the weather was not good but the whole site appeared run down and poorly maintained amongst other things the (very) overflowing bins next to the cottage remained that way throughout our stay.

We would recommend this holiday rental if you like donkeys,and possibly if it is in the holiday season

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2017
Thank you Susan for taking the time to write a review. All comments are appreciated! I am pleased you enjoyed the cottage. We do aim to make it as comfortable as possible. I am sorry you felt the grounds were lacking. There have been works on the facilities over the winter, which may explain bins but I will pass comments to the caretakers for their review, and hopefully action. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evertonia...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

First thing you notice is the quiet.And lots of it! The cottage itself was clean and had home touches to it.You get your own allocated parking space,always good.The lounge was hard to heat but we weren't there to sit about watching tv.Comfy beds,shower had low pressure but did the job,hairdryer in the draw and the kitchen had everything you could need.I think I put £6 in the meter over the course of the weekend but it was a cold one.I'd recommend this site to anyone looking for a break from hustle and bustle

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2016
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make it as homely as we can. Our price does reflect the need to pay into the electricity meter. I hope we can welcome you again. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitkat8rz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely short break at seagull cottage. The cottage is basic but has everything needed for a comfortable stay especially for how much it costs per night. Great that it's such a short walk to see the donkeys, our 2yr old loved it! We found we had to put quite a few £1's into the electric meter but it was the end of October so was quite chilly. If you stay in cooler months just make sure you have a few pound coins to keep you going.
Overall an enjoyable stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2016
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our cottage so all comments appreciated! Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
Thanks Gary for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
carolanne...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a lovely holiday in the Devon countryside”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here for a week and we had a great time the cottage was comfortable and well equipped the site was peaceful and in lovely surroundings we definitely had breakfast with donkeys sidmouth was nearby and there was lots to see and do in the area we would definitely come again

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2016
Thank you Carol for your lovely review. I am glad you found the standard of the facilities of our cottage to be good! We endeavour to make it as comfortable as possible. The area does have a lot it offer- and hidden gems. I hope we can welcome you again! Kind regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing